December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Christmas Cookie Craze

by UndergroundPixel - Jam Entry

UNDERGROUND PIXEL IS BACK FOR THEIR FIFTH JAM IN A ROW!!

It's Christmas morning, and you've just returned from your long flight around the world. All of the presents have been delivered and you're enjoying the holiday party. You've just had one cookie, and you're reaching for a second. But wait! According to the elves, you can only have one.

Now you're upset, and you'll chase down any elf who dares to stand in your way of eating more cookies. Race around the workshop, level by level, and get your cookies from the forces that seek to take them from you!

Arrow keys to move. P to pause.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#37Humor(Jam)3.70
#43Graphics(Jam)4.31
#60Fun(Jam)3.58
#62Audio(Jam)3.65
#70Mood(Jam)3.57
#84Overall(Jam)3.59
#225Theme(Jam)2.88
#245Innovation(Jam)2.91
#1795Coolness0%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Loving this! xD

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

The whole setting was funny, the game is alright but is little rough around the edges, for example, it's very difficult to see the speed power ups and cookie crumbles. Also is it just me, but the music volume seems to be much lower than rest of the sounds.

Bonus points for the fireplace.

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:49am

Hahaha, yeah there's quite a bit of humor here-- and I agree with @AdventureIslands about the fireplace! Amazingly intricate art too. A real polished piece!

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:07am

Fun game as always! I started getting some input lag tho and I get alittle bummed out.

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:15am

Santa sure does love him some Christmas cookies! :D

bugninja says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:19am

Great overall game. Awesome concept, killer graphics, solid platforming... and seasonal :)

madmaw says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29am

Love the feel. It's like an old-school platformer

jprogman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

This has a nice arcade-feel to it. Nice work!

ploogle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:02am

Yes! I'm always a sucker for "Santa's Revenge" games.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Slick!

soy_yuma says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:36pm

Nice game! Good graphics and audio. It settles a good mood and I like its humour :-) On the downside I thought it was complicated to catch the guys. Probably because their AI is better than mine...

Coblynau says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:54pm

A great Christmas game, but no sound for me? :(

Y0lk says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:01pm

@Coblynau Try pressing "M". It should unmute the sound (if it's muted for some reason).

Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:11pm

Excellently done. Very polished, and I particularly loved the animations and work done on Santa.

Pyrofoux says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:00pm

As I said on Newgrounds : Hey ! That was nice ! Especially for a Ludum dare entry ! It's the type of games I can play with my brothers fors hours. :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Perfect game for the season, and you captured the retro arcade game feel perfectly. And yeah, nice fireplace!

metkis says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:13pm

I think it's a great entry with good looking pixel art and an interesting mechanic. The fireplace is a cool addition too. Bonus points! Didn't run into any hiccups playing, meaning it's solid and easy to play. Great!

Jacic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:26pm

I love the art! Great job on this.

ExtreLime says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:37pm

I apreciated graphic design! It's really neat.
Also it was pretty fun to play, it's a very well-done game :)
Good job!

eli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:38pm

You get an A+ for absurd elf slapstick.

angryfacing says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:39pm

I found this game extremely fun. It's very entertaining to be chasing down the elves to get your cookies back. I enjoyed it a lot and had my fair share of laughs doing so.

The graphics/art is great for this game. This is an excellent Ludum Jam entry. :)

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:07pm

Wow, really impressive! Did you guys do all the art and sound during the compo? Love the game!

Pixelbear says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great entry! Love the graphics, music and trying to guess where the elf is going to run to for me to cut them off. The only unfortunate thing is that I sucked at it. :P

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Beautiful art, sound, and presentation (I for one adored the CRT effect)! I had trouble seeing the dropped cookies until my third play-through, maybe some extra sparkle on those so players will know they can follow the crumb trail? The fireplace was an inspired addition, really sets the... mood! :)

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Nice music, amazing graphics, very interesting intro, nice mechanics. The learning curve is ok but getting cookie crumbs is HARD. Nice :D

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:01am

Awesome style, love the theme and festive setting! Chasing down those elves is incredibly satisfying (especially when you get a speed boost!)

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:33am

wicked fun :) gj!

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:41am

Graphics are really cool, although I think you could have polished some animations more. The pixel art style is detailed and sweet, one of the best in the competition.

The take on the theme is really original and interesting: although I didn't find it specially hilarious, it creates a setting that makes it possible to create a variety of maps and situations. Cool and innovative.

The only downsides for me are the audio aspects (I missed some balance between music and SFX) and the gameplay (for me, it lacked replay value; introduced some mechanics that weren't playtested enough, like the speed burst; or was confusing for the player, specially the arrows pointing the targets).

All in all, a good entry. Keep working hard!

Venks says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:24am

Really enjoyed the opening animation. Very silly. The art style was very inviting and the game itself was easy to pick up and play.

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:15am

Love the graphics and the sound, it's just perfect! The game itself is fun and simple to play. Without those little arrows I would have been lost. Very well polished!

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:44am

That was awesome XD Great idea, fits the theme. Wish the level was smaller.
My first impressions:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRXR_qnspMU

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:51am

I like this game. Really, it's a fun game! It's a casual feel good mood where you chase elves and you get to upgrade santa as you collect cookies. One of the most polished game in this Ludum dare. Controls feels great, art is beautiful the music and the sounds are perfect. Good job!

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:49am

Pretty funny game. Those speed powerups really help. Occasionally, the game would lag a little (playing online version).

Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:36am

Pretty good game. Love that you have a leaderboard, made me play it longer than I have any other game at the jam.

Hyde Wyvern says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:38am

Perfect Entry! I loved everything about this game, and just in time for the holidays hahahs Damn that Santa really wants those cookies. I couldn't make it to the top scorers but I had a lot of fun playing this game.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:16am

well done . It's complete game

Shivers says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:33am

Cool as always :D

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:37am

Some of the sweetest pixel graphics I've seen on this compo. Loved the old monitor effect. :) The sound effects volume was a bit high compared to the music, which led to some ear shattering moments. But overall the gameplay was simple and fun so I didn't let that bother me too much! :) Really solid game.

Red Mike says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Really fun! Fairly difficult, to the point where I was a bit concerned I might have made a level unwinnable, because two elves ran off in opposite directions, and I only barely managed to get both in the same round, but that's a really minor thing. I'll second, or third, or more, the bonus points for the fireplace!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Great setting. Perfect for the time of year.

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:21pm

The graphics are pretty neat, and the gameplay is cool. It would be nice to have cookies over the scenario that could be picked by both elves and santa. That would change the game a little bit but it would reforce a sense of urgency, to keep the player concentrated on the game. Nice entry. Did you made the graphics yourself?

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Very polished and accomplished entry! The graphics were superb and I loved the cartoon at the start - and Santa's crazed expression (hell - who would be a bit crazed after delivering 3 billion presents). I think it could have benefitted from a little more variety - perhaps different objects on different floors? Really nice presentation

Zener says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:14pm

The game is very good, eaasy to play, good gfx and very funny. Congrats for this entry!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Loved the theme, and catching hold of the elves was satisfying. The fireplace was a nice addition to relax after a bout of elf chasing.

rezoner says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:58pm

In my Amiga days - I didn't cared what the game was about - if it had shop - it was a good game already. Cheerful prod, especially pixels.

VAMflax says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Cool!
Although, audio wasn't working for me..?

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:29am

I feel like I would have enjoyed this game, but as soon as their were two elves on screen the game lagged too much to really be playable. Apart from that it was nice, although I didn't realize I could pick up crumbs for a while (couldn't see them, I just happened to run into a few).

Geti says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:54am

Fun, but not a heap of replay value, found myself being frustrated once the elves had split up. The biscuit pieces on the ground were pretty hellish to see, but overall the look was very cohesive, the music was functional, the controls were simple and there was a good bit of humour. Nice work.

capnramses says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:26am

great stuff, real arcade machine feel to the animations

deadlypear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:35pm

LOL funny from the beginning - nice work weaving humour through every aspect of the game. Cute soundtrack, great pixel art and animation. Gameplay is not original, but FUN in any case. Really polished. Kudos to the whole team. Big love for the bonus in-game log channel!

desmarkie says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Good fun. Really like your take on the theme

chardish says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:25am

Fun concept! I just wish the collision detection were better (many times I didn't understand why I died.)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Nice

caranha says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 3:27pm

That fireplace certainly adds a lot of "mood" for the game :-D

I liked the general idea a lot. It reminded me of the "keystone coppers" game on the Atari.

While I had fun, I feel the game got a bit frustrating if one of the elves starts going up or down too many levels, because it seems impossible to decide if I should climb this latter or just keep on going. Maybe that could be improved a bit by restricting the total number of floors in the level (right now it seems that there are infinite floors).

Cheers, and thanks for the game!

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Nice action game, simple, easy. and have a lot of fun time!

occash says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very nice game! I have so good mood after play it!) very atmosperic)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]