December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ballkeeper

by cappelnord - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one ball, so better don't lose it. You can rotate the field with your mouse after you allowed your Browser to hide the cursor. If you finish a ring a new ring will appear, helping you to keep your ball even longer.

Currently only runs in Chrome with WebGL. A bug in Dart prevents PointerLock to work cross-browser. I filed a bug, as soon as this is fixed I'll update the game. It also doesn't seem to run well on older integrated Intel graphic cards.

Please don't rate the game solely on the video. It's about PLAYING the game :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#9Fun4.02
#12Overall4.08
#53Audio3.60
#92Innovation3.67
#184Graphics3.64
#186Mood3.31
#396Theme3.09
#722Humor1.73

Comments

Shigor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

Very nice take on the old time classic!

capnramses says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:11am

really nicely done variation on the block-destructor type of games. also webgl was a nice choice!

DanielVF says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:44pm

The funnest game I've played in the competition yet. Easy to pick up, easy to keep playing, and a the gameplay gives a nice strategic goal in that you have to work on picking out the smallest ring pieces.

xgeovanni says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Had three tries at this, got 113 on my last. Lovely game, very aesthetically solid.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:29pm

Very nice, well done. You should work on getting this up and running on mobile - would be cool to see how a touch interface would feel. Smart choice to use WebGL!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:29am

Brilliant, I need this on my phone as soon as possible please ;)

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33am

Nicely done! Everything felt so smooth and fluid. Music is awesome too.
Got up to 173 then I killed myself, wanted to see the ending :)

xrm0 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:12pm

This is the best entry I've played so far

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Fantastic stuff -- great work.

First mouse-controlled game that works better with a touchpad IMO.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Gareth, I agree! It probably would work even better with a touchscreen device!

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:26pm

This is a lot of fun! Would be fun to hook up a Beatmania or DJ Hero turntable controller to this game and see how it plays with that. Very well polished.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Wow! Great game!
I first watched the gameplay video and thought this would be way too hard, but I got 193 on my first playthrough :)
The graphics and sound are really fitting and the control couldnt be better in my opinion.
I would love to see a mobile version of this. It would be a really great game for short breaks.
Awesome work!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Keept me longer playing :) . Very nice adaption!

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Its very relaxing, and its a cool spin on brick breaking games.

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Very nice!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:06pm

show

robhor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:03am

Awesome game! The others are right, a mobile version would be nice :)

Rixel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:49am

Got to 192 on my third try! :D great game (:

Lipedal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:03am

Easy to learn, easy to play, easy to like.
Awesome job! Really fluid game.

Raiyumi says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:49am

Great game, really fun! Would be perfect for mobile.

tcarter says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10am

Amazing!

nicotr014 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:48am

This is a really nice spin on Breakout ... got 221

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02am

FUN! everything just clicks and fits together here! the simple design, the sounds, the controls. Excellent work! (oh, and it worked perfectly fine on my Intel HD4000)

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:11am

Yeah, this is good stuff. I don't necessarily think its a great use of the theme, but its a lot of fun and well done.

Killswitch says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:28am

I got hi-score of 082. :)

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

I really like it!!!

angelk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:45am

I died at 137 every time :) I like the clean visual style and simple to learn, difficult to master gameplay. Good job!

CatskullTeam says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50am

Very funny and innovative game, kepp it up!

junt74 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:10am

Really awesome style , and gameplay is very addictive. Congrats!

Sylence says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:12am

Could play this for hours :)

acerunox says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33am

Great game! I got 281. :)

joe40001 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:14am

Well dang, you won. :P

Seriously though, make a few tweaks and put this on the google play store. It's the perfect kind of game like that. Good job.

Lizzip says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:31am

Very nicely made, feels polished and interesting

Diptoman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:31am

LOADS of fun, impressive stuff!

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:00am

wow! It stucked me playing and got 250 the last time :)
really good work!

raarlac says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:28am

298 on first try. online highscores would be a nice add

cappelnord says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:35am

@raarlac I agree! But it was out of scope for the 48h comp and it's hard to make it in a way you can't cheat.

peacegiverman says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59am

Very nice and well polished!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Very very cool game!
My highscore is currently 143 =P
It took me a while to figure out how to control the game. Using the mouse kinda sucks. Maybe the arrow keys would be better?
Also, why it doesn't work on other browsers? It should work on Opera, at least, as it uses the same rendering engine as Chrome and the same Javascript engine (V8).

cappelnord says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:50pm

@Thecoolestnerdguys V8 isn't the reason why it currently only works in Chrome, it's PointerLock. More specifically, that one of the external libraries I use only knows about the webkit prefixed version of PointerLock. As porting to other platforms is OK I might try to fix the library, then it should work great in Opera, and probably Firefox as well.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I actually filed a bug against Dart now. As soon as this gets fixed I'll see that I update the game.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42pm

Wow... 48 hours? This is excellent. Solid, all the way around. Thanks for the game!

xk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:43pm

Great gameplay! Got me hooked for half an hour!

occash says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I ike it!Very good graphics! Thanks for good mood)

JackBid says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:52pm

one of the best games in the competition that I have played so far! I love the graphics, audio and game play, well done!

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Nice and simplistic, great atmosphere too.

Ashedragon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Wow, I really enjoyed this! Great job.

polux says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Nice variation!

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:13pm

Super fun. It's got a breakout and super hexagon-type feel to it. Agree that it would be great on a touch device too. Well Done.

gamepopper says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Shame you couldn't make this game work on other web browsers. I've given up on Chrome as it keeps freezing on me on certain pages.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:45pm

262! Nice job, this might be really fun on a mobile device...

Tyu says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I like this one! A simple game yet nice looking and addictive.

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Ha, great game. Actually really playable and addictive!

Dynad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very cool game, graphics and sound are very well made ;)

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Such an awesome game ^_^ Love it!!!

garygreen says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Really liked this innovative twist on breakout, the simple but stylish graphics and the music.

FrozenCow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Such a nice concept. It gets harder as you go as a result of the concept. It also looks and sounds pretty awesome. With the simple controls this could be a good mobile game too.

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Simple, enjoyable and polished. Ball seemed to have some weird trajectories while rotating.

Sytech says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really interesting take on Break out and nice music!

Aaants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

Loved this one. Had a classroom full of students have a pop at it today too :)

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Impressive, i really like the game concept, nice job buddy !

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Very polished, minimalistic, sophisticated graphic style, and the game is simply addictive, you should make a Ios/Android version.

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:24pm

Brilliant variation on a classic. Great job :)

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Pretty solid and enjoyable. I felt reasonably challenged and it was easy to just pick up and play.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:00am

Please port this to mobile and make millions. Really addictive and came back for a few more goes!

Some velocity-based/combo based SFX modifiers might be nice? It felt like the rotation skewed the direction of the ball, although that may have been a visual trick?

cappelnord says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:24am

@OriginalBigDan yeah, it's just an illusion, I was confused myself several times about that :)

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very well done and very solid game. Great work! I hope you're planning on porting it to mobile.

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very neat this on an old idea! I like minimalist design (graphic and mechanic) and this game didn't disappoint. I enjoyed a lot playing. The only thing I didn't liked has been the slow difficulty curve. I would have preferred a more brutal game otherwise beginning feel like a farm.

TheSnide says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Well done Minimalism.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Very slick presentation, nice work. The twist of just having one ball worked well, this is a really good entry

_zulli says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Great game! Really really addictive! :O I' loved the way you can make different strategies!

If you have time, please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it :)

ResonantCraft says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Well done, this is a very pleasant, polished game.

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Wow

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Genius twist of the breakout formula! If you ever make a mobile version, I'd pay money for it!

natpat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:38pm

That was really good fun. I got a bit conufsed about when the ball was going up and when it was going down, but I got it figured out eventually.

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Wow, wow, wow, wow, super fun and ultra original

dinos says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:54pm

The best game I have played so far for Ludum Dare 28.

Mago says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Awesome game. great idea and very polished game.

Dixum says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Simplistic but great fun! Some more variation would have been nice but overall a polished game :)

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Amazing game!
It's a lot polished and fun, I'm really amazed!
You took an old game and made something really great and new out of it!

Congrats! =D

iiechapman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:22pm

Solid entry. Mouse is a little floaty but the music is great, gameplay is fun. title slide, and game over slide great. Even better if there where more colors, or if they changed while your score went up! Great Job!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Very nice and solid gameplay :D I think that it will be a great mobile title :D

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Great entry! My girlfriend would like a fully featured version of this if you develop it further :P

Symmeteer says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:15pm

Fun and polished! Well done. My only critique is that the mouse input was a bit unintuitive. It's not always clear when how much you need to move your mouse to keep the circle rotating in a certain direction.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:19am

This looks and feels as good as a number of commercial releases, the polish is excellent!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Great concept, just steal some breaktout powerup ideas and this will be even better! Would also be great on mobile devices I think!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Excellent game and very addicting. I expect this one will do well! nice one cappelnord

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Very awesome! I'm a huge sucker for minimalistic and simplistic graphics like that, combined with the soft ping of the ball and the very smooth control scheme this game makes for one of my LD favorites. Bookmarked!

Benjamin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Wow great gameplay... Sometime the ball get stuck into the bricks and behave strangely if you turn too fast but apart of that the collision engine works great.

oxysoft says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 12:22am

Very nice game, got 190!

van noctar says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:29am

Amazing!!!!

Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Love these kinds of games! Well done! I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/IHhkgdPuakc

Xaychru04 says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 10:12pm

Whoa, cool concept. The game is really dynamic, a bit hard to control at first, but I had a lot of fun, my best score is 117!

rxi says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:11pm

Really fun and simple concept -- the score text and the background did not show for me, but I think I got a good feel for what the game was going for and had a lot of fun playing it.

In a way it may be fortunate that the score was not visible on my computer. If it were I could easily see this game becoming a thief of my time; I imagine I'd sit down for a quick play of it and before I know it realise the room is dark and I've lost an entire evening. The pleasant music and "tap" sound of the ball hitting a block, and the satisfaction of trapping the ball between two rings and trying to keep it under control as it bounced in a crazed fit between them, happily destroying blocks at a furious pace made this a joy to play.

If this game were expanded on with things like powerups and combos, a few different songs, a main menu, and a highscore board, I could see it easily becoming a hit. This is definitely something that should be made into a post competition version if you have the time and the will!

Overall really nice work!

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Nice graphics! Got 192 on my second try. If you'll move the level fast enough you can get bigger scores. Well done!

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:47pm

Really neat idea. Rated highly. :)

Optimus6128 says ...
Jun 5, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Wow, really great idea!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]