December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Le Artilleur

by sanojian - Jam Entry

It is dark days for the Empire. The enemy is coming and we are down to our last cannonball. Can you save the glorious Empire from destruction? HTML5 game. Chrome recommended.

Programming and Sound - Sanojian
Artwork - JFeldt

Move - A + D or arrows
Aim and Fire - mouse
Mute Music - M

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#28Theme(Jam)3.79
#99Fun(Jam)3.38
#159Overall(Jam)3.34
#214Innovation(Jam)3.00
#226Humor(Jam)2.50
#252Mood(Jam)2.92
#277Graphics(Jam)3.18
#302Audio(Jam)2.75

Comments

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

I really liked this and rated it quite highly.

(I found a few bugs though: you can go off the sides of the screen, and when you do and you fire the cannon ball doesn't go anywhere on-screen and sometimes you cannot find where it landed off-screen to pick it up. Also, when the ships go to the top of the screen, you can't reach them with your cannon ball?)

john_conder9 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:22am

Simple game, at level 4 I ran off screen accidentally and shot the ball and it disappeared forever. Even if I died and respawned I did not have my ball back. :( But, fun little game. Maybe too slow, it was really repetitive having to use so many hits to kill things.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:28am

The game froze my browser :(

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31am

Loved it, great twist on an extremely simple concept.

evilseanbot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:33am

Engaging enough to play all the way through, and I haven't done that with too many entries yet.

Chinchilla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:52am

Oooooh.... This is almost perfectly playable on ipad! Any chance of patching in the ability to click around the cannon to move it? :)

I still managed to play for a fair while, getting lucky with rebounds! lol

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:49am

Really nice artwork and funny gameplay.

Poupi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Nice entry. The gameplay is arcad-ish and fun. It could be a pretty decent mobile game with some polishing and some powerups !

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Enjoyed this. Simple game concepts can be very fun when re-imagined.

Yngar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Played once without realizing I could move around. Needless to say it was a lot easier the second time. I like the cannonball physics. Its cool that you can get a breakout style combo if you aim it right.

vrld says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Very fun game :)

bsowers says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Pretty fun. Your parallax effect feels odd though - since your camera isn't changing positions, nothing should shift around like it does.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Oh f**k! I lost my cannon ball in the space, now I'm screwed!

Kyatric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

As others said, a nice take on "older" mechanics.
Interesting to play through even if indeed a bit repetitive.

Congratulations nevertheless.

Oh and I don't know if you care but in French you would say "L'artilleur" ^^

Berzee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:47am

Super fun! Old-timey airships in bubbles are very enjoyable. I especially liked the pass-the-ammo mechanic. ^_^

Thanks for not making the player restart from the beginning of the game after death (of which I had many), btw, at least during Ludum Dare. :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:40am

Apparently having floating ships isn't all that useful in the end!

Alex Higgins says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:52am

Heheh. Really rough around the edges (you get totally boned when your ship gets destroyed while holding the ball), but quite satisfying.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:32am

Extra points for Napoleon. He's my dude.

NikinCZ says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:02am

Great game, music was little laggy for me.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Interesting little game but it does need something more to give it lasting appeal. Maybe some kind of equipment progression and powerups etc.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]