December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Monoskill

by Smitty333 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You only get one skill and have to survive.

Run_Game.bat should run the game on windows. If you have python and pygame or are willing to get them, then the python version will work (hopefully on any system that has pygame). In this case, run __main__.py from its directory.

Music created with Musagi by drpetter
Sound effects created with sfxr by drpetter and from freesound.org under Creative Commons 0 License

EDIT (FIXES):
- Fixed major DLL issue preventing the executalbe from running on most machines
- Turned on fullscreen (had it off for testing)
- Fixed bug whereby enemy projectiles would try to be destroyed by explosions but crash (supposed to ignored them)
- Fixed issue where health could go beyond maximum with the troll ability

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#109Fun3.53
#122Theme3.61
#306Overall3.25
#348Humor2.60
#358Mood2.96
#384Innovation3.06
#427Audio2.66
#473Graphics2.97

Comments

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:49am

Took me a while to actually use the swapping thoughtfully. The AI isn't too smart and enemies overlap frequently... but it's still fun blasting them to pieces :P

XmmmX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34am

I really like the variety of skills. The minecraft skill is really funny. The screenshaking effect makes the shoots seem even more powerful. xD

lincore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:42am

Going on a killing spree is always fun :~) ... in games I mean.
I took the shotgun and ignored the other skills after finding out that you can't swap back (or can you?). With the standard gun I died almost instantly. A little grace period before the enemies start eating your flesh or whatever would have been nice, I always had to scan the level for my character before I could start shooting stuff.

Overall: Nice game! Atrocious title music! (look who's talking, I didn't even try to make some for my game)

Stals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Game is really fun, but i think you move way too slow (or maybe i didn't find the run button?) so i was using knockback effect to move faster =). Good job!

danbo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I won! I liked using the machinegun to propel myself around the map. Nice game

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Refreshing to see a python game :) Great theme and amazing fun :)

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:56pm

Impressive variety of skills and fun, frantic gameplay! Great job!

ZwodahS says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Cloak is too OP :D

shard123 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:31am

Awesome concept and a lot of fun to play! Nice Work

Katamori says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:38am

I love everything that has A LOT of skilz!!

tobbez says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:27am

Doesn't seem to really offer enough reason to switch skills. Some of the levels had more monsters than needed to make their point mostly the final one. Some more interesting monsters would greatly improve the game.

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Challenging game, but nice use of the theme. And there are so many useful skills! ^^

lucentbeam says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Lots of skills to try out! Really nice job with a fun little shooter. As others have said, refreshing to see someone using pygame!

tommakesgames says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Solid effort. Could have used some more explanation on how to use the skill swapping (which was kind of the point of the game). But good graphics and great music and it controlled pretty well.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Excellent selection of skills, how you got all this in in the time I don't know - it is very impressive! Good sounds, interesting creatures / attacks etc and nice crisp graphics. This was a good one!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 6:33pm

Loved all the skills you offered that was a lot of fun to toy around with. And nice clean aesthetic

HybridMind says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:59am

Good fun! Enjoyed all the variety of skills to choose from. Found I could kind of cheat a bit and shoot through walls with the shotgun and the machine gun so I used that to my advantage for sure. In game music is really tough to listen to, but I did like the main menu music. I wish base movement speed was a bit faster for sure.

One other Ludum Dare process thing, you mentioned that you used some sounds from freesound.org. Even if those are OK to legally use license-wise, when you enter the Compo (vs the Jam) of Ludum Dare, you aren't supposed to use any assets created by anyone else. Just a heads up.

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:19am

I won and got a lot of fun from the game. Almost 40 different skills it's very cool :)
Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]