December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Button Racer

by badlydrawnrod - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I always wanted to make a one button game, so the theme "You only get one" seemed ideal. This is a one or two player game, and has 5 levels to beat. I know you're busy rating lots of other entries, but please give this one a try if you're remotely curious about what a one-button racing game could be like. I look forward to your feedback.

Also, my daughter made a game too. It would make me very pleased if you would take a look at it:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=31739

Edit: post-compo Android build uploaded on 27/12/13.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#42Fun3.75
#95Theme3.67
#158Overall3.50
#161Innovation3.48
#241Audio3.02
#314Mood3.03
#469Humor2.30
#760Graphics2.38

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:46pm

This is a neat idea and its fun to play. I hope you make a version with two buttons and put it on kongragate or something. It would also make an excellent touch screen game. Good luck!

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Really nice idea could do with more complexity though :D

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Very nice! One of my favorites so far. Very inventive and fun

Lizzip says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Uses the theme well and works nicely!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Really enjoyed this one! The music was amazing and the gameplay was really smooth and almost puzzle-like. Would you believe I actually have a one-button racing game for iPad? It's called Spline Racer if you are interested :D Vroom!

timtipgames says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:46pm

Like the idea. Feels like it would actually be a two button game if it wasn't for the theme ;)

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

It felt great playing the game. The music was fitting and it was cool seeing that little car zoom around.

The core mechanic worked great and was easy to pick up. Good game

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Wow!!! What an excellent game. It reminds me of that old real life game with tracks where you just controlled the speed of the car with and tried to race around as fast as possible. Plus I definitely have a thing for one-button games. One of my favorites so far :) well done!

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Really good job it's cute and fun :3

pavelzuk says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:51pm

This was a rather fun little game, almost gave me a seizure trying to follow the lines, but overall fun 5/5!

garygreen says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:01pm

That was really tricky, but good fun too. :-)

mystakin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:57am

I never knew a racing game with one button could be that fun. What this game lacks in flare, it makes up for in enjoyment.

Ludusamo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Very nicely done, the music was pleasant. The names of the tracks were pretty clever and put a smile on my face too :)
Good job!

Agram says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice idea, nice realisation and cute music.

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Nice idea! I Like the aesthetics when you go through a curve.

davisan says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:16am

Nice game! It creates a pleasant and nostalgic mood.

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Nice idea and a fun game - when I saw "one-button racing game" I was sure it had to do with acceleration, but the lane-changing thing was pretty clever. I liked the music, too - relaxing :)

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Cool idea, not as easy as it looks, but quite fun. I second doctorscientist's idea of pushing it a bit further! :)

BeardoGames says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Whoa, I loved this! It's got a really basis, primal fun about it that reminds me of some of the best early games on the Atari 2600. This could easily be made into a full game-- in fact it's practically there already! Really great, and one of my favorite LD games so far!

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Very interesting idea. Music is good.

rnlf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:59pm

It's fun :-) Might need an indicator for the finish line and/or best time high scores or something to make it even better!

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Adorable that you and your daughter both participated :)

I like the idea in this game too, and it's surprisingly, uh, playable. If someone presented the idea to me, I'd consider it too disorientating, but it turns out it's not. Good idea and good job.

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:29am

pretty cool. never seen anything like this before.

I understand you did only one button because of the theme but in actual the player should be allowed to move in both directions. It'll be fun to play. keep making this.

Thalikoth says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice use of the theme, sweet music.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Very fun

supremefist says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Nice and solid! Liked it a lot!

yoanndeplo says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:41pm

A very funny game, well done.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Excellent concept, well done! Nice music as well. Great use of the theme as well.

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Enjoyed this :)

mmickyman says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 8:27pm

The music kinda don't fit the genre I think. The one-way to slide your car is a good twist of that kind of game (where usually you can going left and right).

Capitals says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I really liked the idea and implementation. The only thing that lets you down is the graphics, but only by a bit.

radmars says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:49pm

Awesome concept! Definitely makes for some cool gameplay.

jprogman says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:24am

I like it! It would had been nice to freely move up or down a lane instead of having to wait until a certain direction was set. Just working with one button isn't that friendly. Another button would make it more funner!

postmodestie says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 2:11pm

fun game, graphics a bit shaky..

cardboard says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:49am

The perfect blend of racing, relaxing music, and the 'A' key. Very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]