December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

TabulaQuondam

by monkeymad2 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tabula - board, plaque, tablet, plank, picture, map
Quondam - Once

You're in a desert hunting treasure, but you only get one chance to look at the map and attempt to draw a copy within 60 seconds before you're thrown out into the wilderness to fend for yourself with only your crude drawing as reference.

Has only been tested in Chrome.

You'll get a kick from the "Tweet" feature at the end.

Used the following:
Tech: HTML5 Canvas, CSS, Javascript & jQuery
Images: Pixelmator
Code: Sublime Text 2
Debugging: Chrome
Music: http://www.earslap.com/projectslab/otomata

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#142Innovation3.52
#179Mood3.32
#415Theme3.04
#486Audio2.55
#539Overall2.96
#575Graphics2.78
#886Fun2.22
#1217Coolness44%

Comments

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:54pm

I like the concept of drawing map.

hnjslater says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:41am

Really pretty, but I didn't really know what was going on. I saw a tree once. It was a nice tree.

sanojian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Cool concept. Can't draw in Firefox but works in Chrome.

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:24am

Great idea, very original. IMO your character moves slowly enough to verge on frustrating, but while the game is pretty difficult it's very rewarding to find the treasure. Feels like a real achievement!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:02am

I like the concept, but the character needs to move a lot faster. Though I assume this is the point, I wish there were more cues as to how far you've moved. I'm sure I walked right past my landmark because I couldn't tell if I was moving at all.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:48am

I found the treasure! That was a cool idea, would have been nicer if the map was more figurative so we could try to copy that on our map.

PlayHabit says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:51am

Going with what some others have said, I also felt the movement was too slow, and it was hard to use the landmarks to my advantage.

I love the map drawing concept. It gave me a bit of nostalgia of drawing maps in maze zones in 80s-90s adventure games. and that you save and upload the player maps so they can be used outside the game. I also thought the desert storm particles were great.

I won a few times just because I was close enough to use the distance counter: I managed to find the treasure in #TabulaQuondam by following my map http://i.imgur.com/JGM4bJ2.jpg

Moosefly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:51am

The map drawing does not indeed work on Firefox (well, Pale Moon). Had to download Chrome to play it (the concept was really intriquing!).

Once inside the game, the map was pretty much useless. The fact that you could only see something like 6 meters to each of your sides horizontally, 5 meters vertically and move at a pace of <1m/s didn't really help the experience either.

Haven't been in a sandstorm, it might be somewhat true to real life now that I think about it :P.

Fervir says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:36am

This was a really cool idea for a game.
Drawing out a map was neat.
I enjoyed this, great job!

philhassey says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:59pm

It'd probably be super helpful if the map showed where you were.

plancien says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:46pm

+ an original and interesting idea.
+ nice animations
- character moves too slow
- sound is soon annoying

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]