December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space Kitty Race

by Polyganz - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions: Build a path for the Space Kitty so it'll find all the stars on the map. That's it.
Suitable for ages 5 and up.

Some more info:

The idea was to have a system the player can set up and then have it run without any interaction from the player. In terms with the theme "You only get one", the kitty has to find all the stars in one run. However the player is free to interact when the kitty isn't running. (Great huh?)

Even more info (OMG):
* There are four "tools" available: GoLeft, GoRight, Jump, Speed
* There are no limits as to how many "tools" you can place
* Running into a wall or off the level kills the kitty :(
* Protip: on the later levels there are more then one stars
* Protip: you can do tool chains for great effect

Hope you like it. Critics and comments welcome.

PS: Sorry about the lack of levels, I had like a million ideas of what could be done but it took me way longer then expected to get the status quo working. (As always).

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Polyganz
Portfolio: http:www.tobiasbaumann.net

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#102Overall3.66
#103Fun3.55
#132Graphics3.79
#201Humor3.06
#248Innovation3.28
#282Mood3.10
#463Audio2.59
#737Theme2.45
#1571Coolness22%

Comments

mcapraro says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:52am

Really great job! UI needs some work, but the game itself looks and feels so good

lightsoda says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:09am

Quite an enjoyable little puzzle game you got here. It can be kinda hard to tell what's going on in the level at times, but overall very nicely done.

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:31am

This game has some great potential. You should definitely keep polishing it. Nicely done for 48 hours!

Bogden says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

Great graphics! Very pretty

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

It took me quite a long time to get the hang of it, but the gameplay is nice! :) I love the trip-py light! :p

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

Insanely fun with a great mechanic behind it! Love the puzzles to death, and the graphics work amazing with the game. IMO, add in music, and it is set. Note: I didn't have a chance to play all of the levels, but I will be sure to come back and play then soon!

nicotuason says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:43am

Really pretty and solid mechanics! The level design keeps it fun.

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:57pm

The graphics in this are great. The sound effects are simple without being super repetitive, the puzzles are nice.
I think maybe it could be worked closer to the theme, maybe something like only allowing you right OR left turns, choose at the start of each level?

Lacutis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:58pm

also, where is the source? I'd love to get a look at how the trails are done.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59pm

The art was really cool. Showing the trail after you die was a nice choice. The puzzles ramped up really nicely. Very good entry.

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Pretty cool, well polished. Really fun to play, dying a lot did not really put me off. Simple and easy mechanics. Good job!

Nisshoku says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very smooth experience, nice work.

RoseNinja says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:20pm

reallly fun all the awesome well done

udo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:22am

I saw this on Jellycakes' twitch stream and had to try it out. It's so much fun! Thanks for making this!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:20am

Nice graphics. I love the game idea !

shanageek says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:52pm

I loved it! well done!!

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Solid puzzle game, feels like it miss the theme a bit. You have what appear to be much more than one of each block you can place, more than one block type and also more than one star to pick up.

I had some problem seeing straight in this game, some squares were blocked by raised platform and the jump is a bit hard to predict where it will land.

Still it is a really nice game.

Polyganz says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:00pm

@Lucatis: The trails are simple Trail-Renderers with Particle Shaders with transparency ;)

dudsen says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Nice and simple. What else can I say? Nyan nyan nyan nya nya nya nyaaaan nyan nyan ;)

smash ball says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:12pm

I loved the puzzles, but the camera occasionally wouldn't want to cooperate. I think moving the camera with keys would have been better. Either way, I played through a few levels, and it's quite nicely done. Oh gosh, I can see images of rainbows now...

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:50pm

Neat idea, was a little confused at first but I very much enjoyed this once I got the hang of it. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]