December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Archerilles' Heel

by TBSHRichard - Jam Entry

The game should work on any canvas enabled browser on computers or mobile devices. (Even though it works on mobile devices, the game is not optimized for mobile. You may encounter lag while playing.)

The controls are listed on the game screen; you may click/touch a button or press the key corresponding to the key in the upper right corner of the on screen button. Here's a list of controls if it is hard to see in game:

1: Switch to Movement Left legs
2: Switch to Movement Right legs
3: Switch to Spring (Jump) legs
4: Switch to Power-Shot legs
5: Switch to Quiver legs

W: Use current leg power (only for Movement and Spring legs)
A: Rotate Bow CCW (Left)
D: Rotate Bow CW (Right)
F: Fire bow

If you encounter a bug, click a leg power button at the top in order to reset the current level.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#221Humor(Jam)2.53
#249Theme(Jam)2.81
#277Innovation(Jam)2.81
#340Fun(Jam)2.67
#407Mood(Jam)2.50
#419Overall(Jam)2.71
#472Graphics(Jam)2.38
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

daredevildave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Fun, although a bit short.

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

I'm having a really hard time understanding the controls, but an interesting game none the less.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Hmmm, this was a very interesting concept! I really liked all the different arrow mechanics. Maybe this should have been you only get one type of arrow? Haha. I wish there were more levels, it stopped when i was really getting into it! Well done :)

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:45pm

The game is maybe a bit short, and the graphics a bit simple. But it's an interesting one :)

Kalakian says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Nice idea. The controls are a bit clumsy (easily fixed though), and it'd help to explain the springy things in the actual level.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Spring legs are the beste ones! Fun game.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Its very nice game I really enjoyed.

Cipher says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:08am

I really liked this one! Very good level design, and some parts made me chuckle.All this really needs is some more levels, music, sfx, better controls and you're gold!

dylanwolf says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:40am

This was a really innovative mechanic for a puzzle game.

I wish there'd been more levels, but the first few levels do a good job of teaching you the basics. The last level was just the right amount of challenge--it required me to test a few different approaches before I figured it out.

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:19pm

No sounds... It'as a pity! Controls are difficults, but generally the game is correct!

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Fun game, enjoyed it, hard to understand level setup some time. Nice game.

Dec 25, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Really funny story I included it in my Ludum Dare compilation video series, if you'd like to have a look :) http://youtu.be/fAaMjCotTMM

Peni6 says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 11:46pm

No audio, humour, controls were miserable/

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]