December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Match Girl

by DDRKirby(ISQ) - Jam Entry

I am proud to present Match Girl, our team's entry for Ludum Dare 28!

You are a little girl making her way through dark passageways. It's so dark, in fact, that you can't see unless you light a match. But YOU ONLY GET ONE per level!

Featuring:
- Dynamic lighting system with flickering candles
- Hand-drawn sprites and backgrounds by xellaya
- Full 8-track chiptune soundtrack by DDRKirby(ISQ)
- 25 normal mode levels for first-timers
- 25 hard mode levels for experts to truly test their skills
- Replayability: displays stats and times for speedrunners - how fast can you finish the game?

Soundtrack download: http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/match-girl-original-soundtrack

My current records:
Normal Mode - 3:23:34 (http://youtu.be/gdZRGVIUyo4)
Hard Mode - 5:14:46 (http://youtu.be/XMN1vZ5LhGE)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio(Jam)4.40
Overall(Jam)4.39
Coolness56%
#4Fun(Jam)4.18
#8Theme(Jam)4.21
#13Mood(Jam)4.10
#23Innovation(Jam)3.78
#65Graphics(Jam)4.21
#221Humor(Jam)2.53

Comments

johnfn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:18am

Lovely job. The art is as solid as the music. It gets REALLY hard towards the end, but it's quite fun throughout.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:14am

Awesome gameplay and great use of the theme. You music was top-notch as always and the graphics were very impressive. Great job!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55am

The gameplay is simple and efficient.
I was a bit disappointed when I finished the easy mode but the hard one makes me happy (the 5-4 is just perfectly horrible).
As usual, great art and music.

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:47am

My favorite game thus far in LD28! This is some of the best DDRKirby music I've heard, and I've heard a lot. In fact, this may be my favorite of them all.

The art is also superb.

Your use of theme is genius and the execution is flawless. Tons of content, too. From the two modes, the jukebox, and then the readout at the end telling me how I did. It gives me a reason to play over and over, and that's something you don't see often with a game jam entry.

Phenomenal work all around and I expect some medals to be handed out!

Sakuyan says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32am

Oh my god... the music for this game is GLORIOUS!!! 10/5 Would listen to this all day.

Team-KwaKwa says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05am

The level design was well made, the music is entertaining, graphics are not extraordinary, but still lovely. The only flaw of the game is you can die to see lights again.

andrewkennedy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Fantastic work!

GFM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:31am

You guys did 50 levels... I'm in awe! Really!!

I almost gave up finishing your game, because I tried to play in the hard difficult first. xD (if there are more than one difficulty, always go to the hardest, that's my way of playing... xD)
I always on the last world, in the third or forth stage, but just couldn't do it...
Then I tried playing o normal and it was quite easy. XD

Even though it's so hard, I liked this game. The "phantom tiles" could have appeared earlier, they were great to map the level. xD

And the music was amazing all the way through the game! =D

Though the game was quite moody and eerie, I felt disappointed for the lack of (told) history. Ok, she got through that dark passage way... but why was she there? Where did she go to? I don't usually mind this... but I felt it lacking in this game... =X
(perhaps the atmosphere made me want more about the game =D)

Great job!

Zerot says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Very nice. I was impressed by the amount of levels you managed to make.

Patacorow says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Impressing! Great music with an interesting take on the theme.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Great game! We had similar theme concept ;-)

rottenmage says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:02am

Fun game! Love the artwork and music!

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:27am

I love the gameplay mechanics. a platform-memory game is really neat idea. The art is also superb.

Daveloper says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Very nicely done, excellent polish on the whole game experience (menu's felt logical and difficulty curve was pleasant) the only feedback I have is that chiptune music doesn't quiet fit with the non pixel art.

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Yes! And Yes again! This is right up there with the best this LD. A truly accomplished and enjoyable game. The different mechanics layering on each other a building smoothly with that compelling instinct to play one more round. Really nice how it automatically gets easier each time you restart as you get another look and the level as well. I really enjoyed this, well done!

Avichal says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Very good job, I quit after 8 levels, but you guys made 50 levels ?! awesome ! :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:00am

Superb game in any category! Amazing work for such short time! Respect!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:20am

5:58:08 - My Time on Normal Mode ;)
Two game modes, great gameplay and idea. Nice music! I like this game very well! ;)

bitserum says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:50am

Very nice memory game that actually perfectly fits the theme. One of the top entries i tried in LD28. It has everything for such a short time, nice visuals, audio and working gameplay.

anvoz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:36pm

8:37:45 on normal mode. Really good game, nice use of theme, graphics and music are amazing. Awesome job!

Avocado says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Pretty fun, the art style was charming, the music was well done, and the puzzles weren't too daunting.

LTyrosine says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Amazing music/audio.

zatyka says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Great game! Felt very complete. Great graphics, and well thought out levels. One of my favorites.

Eddy93 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:58pm

One of the best games I've played so far! Liked the sounds very much! Very polished. interesting concept. Well done!

Erkberg says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 12:15am

A very good game! The art is beautiful, the music is great (and reminds a little of MegaMan) and the general concept and gameplay is very interesting. There's also plenty of content. My only small complaint would be the end, which was pretty unsatisfying. Overall an excellent job and one of the best games I played so far.

Antylum says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:58am

I enjoyed your game very much, you have created so much levels in such a short time! I recommend you to add music on/off button, cause background theme for first levels is a bit distracting(maybe, too aggressive) for me.

dudsen says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Amazing use of the theme!

Hypermagical says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:44am

Normal Mode: 7:17:29, with 35 matches used.

That's a lot of platformer to build in 72 hours.

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:22am

Very good game, dude!
Impressive atmosphere and interesting idea to memorize levels.
Normal mode was pretty easy. But hard mode really hard at the second half.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:38am

A great game, really enjoyed it.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:25pm

That was awesome! Gameplay, audio and graphics really came together well to form a nice moody package that was a blast to play. The game also had lots of content for something made in 72 hours.

Maybe procedural geneeration could be used so that people couldn't just restart over and over again until they memorize the layout :P.

nihily says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:41pm

Really cool work ! Good gameplay and the music is really cool too !

local minimum says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:37pm

Very good and well made game. I played it much longer than most other games. I try to come up with something constructive about the game, but I'm stumped. You could of course make the game even harder with the match only showing the local area around the girl (but maybe for a little longer). Don't know if it would work as well though.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Very fun to play! Nice use of the theme!

Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:26pm

fantastic job. had fun all the way through. really engaging and great gameplay.

Husky says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:41am

OMG, I like this game!
This sfx remind me lots of good old games lol.
Very nice graphics and audio, go through normal mode in 4:53.
Good job :D

mcapraro says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 4:35pm

wow, so good, awesome job! the concept is really great and the graphics are awesome! i thought at first that i had to be near a candle to light the match, that might be an interesting extra challenge in your mechanic.

larb says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:23pm

So good. Amazing. I really enjoyed it.

Atridas says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:12pm

I am AMAZED by the amount of content and polish of this game, really.

Symmeteer says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Great mechanic, great art, I appreciate lots of levels. My one comment is that I expected it to be themed more like the little match girl story (victorian london with all its perils...)

lotusgame says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Wonderfull game !! Nothing else to say :)

Jeremias says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 10:13pm

Very polished game, was fun to play through the levels. It's amazing that you implemented so many different mechanics and levels in a game developed in 72 hours! The music is amazing, too!

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 4:43am

Very nice! I really enjoyed this entry. The music was amazing (I could definitely feel the Megaman influence in it, even before I read where it was mentioned in the jukebox), and the gameplay was challenging but not difficult enough to make me hate it.

Except the final level. I'm pretty sure most of my 150+ deaths were on the final level in hard mode. Gr...

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 6:04am

Thanks all for your support!

Some updates:

Be sure to check out our post-mortem here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2014/01/01/match-girl-post-mortem/

Download the awesome NES-style soundtrack here:
http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/match-girl-original-soundtrack

And if you're a big fan of the sounds, you can even use them as your ringtones:
http://ddrkirbyisq.bandcamp.com/album/ringtones

FrederickK says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Loved!

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:06am

Nice take on this concept. Really moody, great controls. Enjoyed this :-)

radmars says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:35am

Wow this is great! I was always kind of annoyed at platformers where you bump your head on stuff though, haha... Awesome music as per usual btw.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]