December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimate Wish

by Carduus - 48 Hour Compo Entry

here is my second entry for the LD48 compo.

To move your character you only get.. ONE BUTTON : CLIC where you wanna throw your spirit-ball.
You will be teleported at the impact location (aproximatively because, remember, am a graphic artist and am a fucking noob at scripting game!)

if There is some issues with collisons and falling
in Pitt; You Can press ENTER if you're stuck !

I used :
STENCYL 3.0 (fucking great soft omg!)
Photochiotte CS5
A-daube Flash for animation
ASEPRITE for animation too (GREAT SOFT!)

I hope you'll enjoy this game despite its bugs (i struggle hours to understand collisions.....)

XOXO folks!





Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics4.63
#90Overall3.68
#100Mood3.52
#135Innovation3.53
#245Fun3.26
#313Theme3.20
#521Humor2.19
#733Audio1.72
#1259Coolness41%

Comments

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:08am

Ohhh! The graphics is soo cool! *_*

caranha says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:44am

You really show your talent in that design. This is a very beautiful game!

Unfortunately the controls are really imprecise, which sucks for this kind of game. One thing that particularly bothers me is that the ball disappears from the world if we throw it out of the screen. Since the level pans around, I should be able to throw balls at platforms that I know are there, but can't yet be seen.

Thanks for the game!

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:16am

great graphic
as caranha says, need to improve gameplay mechanic

Carduus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:31am

Hey !
Thanks for your comments.
@Caranha : i forget to active the camera for the Spirit-Ball, typo noobie error.
I reactivate it (the behavior was here, but inactive)
I'm not sure if i have the right to do this 7 hours after the deadline, so tell me and i desactive it.
By the way my teleport location detection is very imprecise, and i don't know now how to fix it.
I'll try to make an enhanced version to fix this.

Gyncoca says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55am

Super beau, mais dommage pour le gameplay, il se passe des trucs vraiment bizarre.
Mais bon travail. :)

rezoner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Top notch graphics as always. I believe it can turn into a good puzzle game if you manage to made some riddles.

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

That graphics <3

the says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Hey, it is made in 48 hours but it is for LD28 instead of "LD48". Otherwise, nice art.

kill0u says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:57pm

It is made for LD#28 as a LD48 (compo) entry. It's all good ;)

Ravetcofx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:38pm

I realy like this game, but you did not include the source code, which is one of the rules.

travislucia says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43am

Cool graphics, Good idea, Needs a aiming line or arch aimer or something.

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:13am

Looks great!

loggs2 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:20am

The art was very nicely done. The arc of the balls were hard to estimate based on my mouse (I naturally felt like I wanted the ball to go where my mouse was). The mechanic was very interesting though and you could make a lot of cool puzzles with it with some fine tuning.

ismyhc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:26am

Interesting Idea. I really like the graphics!

Integershift says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:04am

The graphics were AMAZING!

jsspiegel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:06am

Truly amazing art! Unfortunately, there were some issues with the camera not panning low enough prevent this from being a 5/5 :(

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Love the graphics! And the idea to use the "teleporting ball" but i got a little stuck with controls, overall i really liked the game!

KunoNoOni says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

You are an amazing artist. This game looks gorgeous! I love the mechanic. You should do a post compo version, add sounds and music and more levels. For what you've done though, good job.

goyal says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:20am

Nice job. Great graphics.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:56am

Great art and solid concept, rare to see both in a compo entry, great job!

lorniebear says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01am

Really fun!

btwj says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:11am

Great job on the art and animation. The style is very unique. Although there doesn't seem to be any audio which is a downside, some SFX would make the teleporting feel more powerful. But excellent work nonetheless, the control scheme is very ingenious

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:40am

Really great game ! Make me think about an indie game I saw few days ago, even if I can't remember the name of it.
Graphics are simple but very smooth. Love it :)

zitheker says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05am

I'm in lvoe with this Game. You make very beautiful graphics and even if the Gameplay are not very easy (but with a little of experience, that block not too much), i like the idea of the ball who is in direct link with the Genius. Thanks you for that simply but fantastic game.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Beautiful graphics, and I like the game mechanic too (which just needs a weeeee bit of tweaking).

LeReveur says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Good job !
Hard mode is... Very hard. :D

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Unfortunately really easy to complete, but that is not the point, the level design can always be improved later. The game mechanic itself is a great idea, and the art style is absolutely fantastic. I really enjoyed this entry, thumbs up!

hazzen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Graphics: great!

Controls: :(. Some sort of line showing the angle would be nice, and it appears you do a few things with deciding where it is valid to stand and not valid to stand that don't line up with the art. Plenty of times, the ball would hit something that looked like good ground, but I would just slide off.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:24pm

Awesome idea... I love teleportation and puzzles. Cool...
Artwork is fantastic. Would be cool to play a post compo polished version with more harder levels

11Nephilim says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:17pm

As an artist (for ludum jam purposes anyway) I'm quite jealous. The animations on the main character are gorgeous.

I'd love to see what you can could come up with given more time and coding practice. Nice work man :)

floetenmaul says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Great graphics, simple and fun gameplay. More precise controls and sound would help a lot.

mr.isaer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:33pm

i like it

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:54pm

as others said, really great graphics and really cool idea but the controls could get an improvement, really imprecise and limited angle for you to throw the ball.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Great game and well implemented! Graphics are great! Good job fellow stencyler!

Ako says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Great art. Keep working on the collision issues, but this was a major accomplishment. I am just learning code too and it takes awhile to figure out how to make stuff happen. But with your art skills you will be a force to be reckoned with once you master the code side! Well done!

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Very nice graphics, and the gameplay mechanic was also pretty cool. Collission were a tiny bit buggy though.

taocayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:18pm

Loved the mechanics (an aim guide would make it better), loved the puzzles and the graphics are gorgeous. Would love to play a longer version! Great job!

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Nice GFX, would be cool if you developed further and added some kind of aiming reticule, or parabolic arc to show the ball's intended movement.

dudsen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50pm

Nice one. A bit to short i was thinking the first time. Damn, this is hard, I thought after that. Didn't managed this after 1000 tries :(
With some audio this stuff would be even better!

Keith Evans says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great art and a fun teleport mechanic. An aiming reticule would have been nice, as well as some other gameplay challenges to mix it up. Overall a solid entry!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:16am

Nice game, good art. Would be better if you allow it to see the map~

And this would truly give a new meaning on "giving a piece of my mind"

WiseGAMER says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

Best game I ever played in Ludum Dare 28. I am impressed that you did that with Stencyl!
I liked that he wished to become human but I wished that I could play with the human character.

CNIAngel says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:01am

Fun game. I like how you interpreted the theme. I wish there was music/audio to complete the mood.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05am

Amazing graphics and interesting gameplay mechanics! A truly awesome job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:12am

So artistic and fun! Kudos, I enjoyed myself! +1 on the art style!

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:52am

great job, especially with the graphics. hardcore mode, that is no joke!

deathray says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:59am

Excellent graphics and really good gameplay. I stuck with it and beat the game! I gave only 1 star for overall though because, like someone mentioned, you have to include your source code.

cdgugler says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:04am

I love the graphics, looks really good.

angelk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:40am

Really incredible graphics for 48 hours, looks great!

ColdBrain says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:59am

Cool graphics and idea!

Alismuffin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:51am

Awesome entry! Unique movement.

ErikU says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:22am

Very impressive. I'd like to add that it was fun discovering the "double" teleport - shooting long enough that the cooldown comes up, then immediately firing again despite falling afterwards allows for a trick shot that can speed up certain areas. Fun mechanic.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:55am

LOVE the graphics!

drkrunk says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:20am

I really enjoyed this. Like everyone else, the graphics are amazing and really well-done! It was fun and interesting :)

Lissar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:04am

Gorgeous game! Best looking one I've seen, I think. Gameplay was interesting, but ultimately a little frustrating.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:46am

Nice work, throwing the ball upwards was a bit awkward, I got stuck on the last level for a bit. Other than that, nicely done.

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:43am

+ nice art style
+ innovative gameplay (really liked the "genius"-part)

- sometimes the ball just disappears when thrown

Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:48am

A nice effort I certainly like the graphics. However, I was rather put off by how informal the almighty supernatural being at the beginning was. I would suggest trying to find a way of conveying narrative with out using words as I would have much rather looked at a depiction of the story and objective then sat through the dialogue. But all the same, well done.

Ras Lyon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:49am

Wow, my first impression was that this could be a paid game. But I ended up getting frustrated early. It's a really fantastic concept, the kind of thing I've daydreamed about before. But the movement of the ball is a little too unpredictable. Still... wow.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Really nice! Beautifully drawn and cleverly executed.

recursor says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Where is a link to your source code?

skypers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Neat, I love the sky and the black-drawn environment. The gameplay is definitely a plus. Great job.

SamH says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Very good game, the mechanics need to be tweaked in order to be a bit less frustrating, but the graphics are gorgeous and the level design was nice.

Carduus says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Hey !
Thw for youy comments
I'll post de source this evening, am not at home and my source is on my hom PC U_U.
The sources are in stencyl format so u will be able to read it if you DL stencyl !

Ithildin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Great art and awesome concept! Targetting is hard at times, where you have to guess a bit where your mind will go to, but the main idea is there, and it works very well. Congrats!!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Great work. Graphics are really cool and i love the idea of being genius. And, i have to say it, i could'n beat the hard mode xD. I think it got a big potential.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Greta game and graphics.

97%Awesome says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Amazign

X-0r says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Awesome artwork! It was quite hard to estimate the angle of the shot. The hard part is really... hard btw. ^_^

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Lovely art! Could do with some music though and like others have said, the main mechanic was a bit too imprecise.

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

Really nice game, the gameplay is original, the teleportation is a bit weird sometimes, but the art and design is awesome. I enjoyed this game!

omaha says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I LOVE the graphics!!! And I enjoyed the controls too. Wish I could make sound for yoU! Thanks much

digihacker says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:35pm

A very well done game !! Nice art, idea, game play !! Time to earn some buck with it ? xD

Daniel Debert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:41pm

That's a good graphics you build there.

Sheepolution says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Really nice graphics! But the complete silence really ruins it. Any little sound would've done. Like when you teleport. The gameplay itself is okay.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Really cool interpretation of the theme
i can really see this being a real game

JayPC000 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:38pm

The best way I can say this could be improved would be able to click and hold to show the arc of the Throw.

Otherwise great job!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Graphics are cool but it's hard to play

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Really nice graphics and it's really fun! It gets a bit frustrating after the 1st 2 pieces but only because of collision. Great idea too so high scores for innovation, gfx and mood for me!

Gamelabbers says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Awesome graphics, cool animation, cool concept :) too bad that there is no sound and not more levels. Great that you got collisions working!

bugninja says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Man, that's is an insanely good game.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Great graphics and idea! Only the sound is missing to complete it! I hope you'll polish it.
As said in some comments, controls need a bit tweaking or showing a prediction line. I guess some of the troubles there might be from Stencyl?

lasagnegames says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:40pm

I really like the graphics and the concept.

lennaert says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Crazy pretty. The teleport throw is a little unpredictable, though; I often felt less like I attempting to utilize a skill and more just hoping that my click made it go the way I thought it would.

Katamori says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:04am

Oh God, I haven't used Stencyl for a very long time! I didn't even know that 3.0 is already released! And dangit, you can do awesome stuffs with it - just take a look at this game!

CatOnMars says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:03am

Excellent graphic style! Good particle effects and characters. Innovative control mechanism. Overall I like this game. It would be even better to add some audio effects.

HD408 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Hit detection could be better, but graphics are quite nice.

blackmagic says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:50pm

The game is good !
I've seen how you struggled all the weed end to complete it, i must say you've made a great job. You kept the flame to the end ! Way to go pal !

Nelien says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Short and sweet -- great graphics and good concept. There were a few bugs here and there and I couldn't tell whether you could control the strength of the throw as well as the direction.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very cool!
Would've been nice to have a choice of which wish to get though!

SaintHeiser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:40am

Good work! Like your visuals.
Targeting is worst but gameplay is fun itself.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:14am

Really cool gameplay idea and excellent art. I really hope you develop this idea further.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 10:42pm

5 stars graphics

rnlf says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:23am

Really great visual style (no wonder, you're a graphic artist :)). Too bad there were no sound effects, they would have added greatly to the game.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Got to the end! Or so I thought... about to try hardcore mode

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Yeah, like others have said the visuals are nice, but the gameplay needs to be improved. For instance a short trajectory display would make it much more enjoyable. Audio would also improve the experience. I think it could make a nice little puzzle game with the correct execution.

ploogle says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:11pm

Great game! Nifty graphics, no messing around with a backstory. Just a few quick lines and you're playing. Would have loved sound.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Beautiful game with awesome mechanics!

Dynad says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:47pm

The graphics are amazing! too short but it was worth my time 100% =D

GaTechGrad says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 8:06am

Really nice art style and neat concept. Sometimes it was hard getting the ball to go where I wanted it to go.

OneDee says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Great visuals!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:59am

I love the graphics, the backgrounds are beautiful. The character is sweet looking. I want to be human too. Wonderful entry!

havana24 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:01pm

Stunning visuals and a well made concept. Congrats! :)

Striwx says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 2:07pm

Like it. Need more precise controls and audio for a good mood. (love the graphics)

Anoarith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:54pm

This game is genius !

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 1:16am

veeeery good game. The only (big!) minus is the missing sound
Did you consider creating a post-jam version? The art style rocks!

aviktorov says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:19pm

Amazing visuals! Gameplay mechanics are also very well crafted. Looking forward for more levels and story. Thank you! :)

deepnight says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:21pm

The gameplay has some minor flaws (mostly due to hazardous controls), but it's very cool to play :)
You still amaze me more after each entry, you really can accomplish A LOT in 48h compo! :)
Well done!

deepnight says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 9:21pm

The gameplay has some minor flaws (mostly due to hazardous controls), but it's very cool to play :)
You still amaze me more after each entry, you really can accomplish A LOT in 48h compo! :)
Well done!
Oh. And I will kick your ass on next LD.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]