December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Life to Live

by jsjwooowooo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WASD or Arrow Keys to move. Hold Space or Shift while moving to boost. Its hard to tell you are moving at first, but I will fix that in a post competition update:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/122720/PostCompBuild/Build.html

Without the update, its a bit harder to tell you are moving until you find another creature.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#131Mood3.44
#264Innovation3.26
#281Audio2.93
#478Overall3.03
#628Graphics2.68
#633Theme2.62
#663Humor1.88
#768Fun2.44

Comments

Hyoga-3D says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Didn't understand what I need to do :/ but I am sure that was something about that guys running from the char.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:17pm

Yeah, it's a bit abstract, but you can interact with the other guys, it has to do with the circles that are around them.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:25pm

You know, at first I thought I was making friends with the other squares, but after a while of them pushing me away and me wearing down their defenses I felt more like a cult leader than a friendly guy, Still, makes you think.

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Got a friend! Yay!

blasmena says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

awesome! love breaking the ice and sharing life with lots of squares! hard to get to know shy (little) squares

Kinzata says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:52pm

I love little games that give personality to otherwise blank objects. :)

SimonRhys says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Very enjoyable game! Didn't think I'd have so much fun making a gang of squares!

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very interesting experience!
I don't know if this was intended, but the abstractnes gives you much room for imagination. Some times I was thinking something silly like "Hey you! Be my friend, BE MY FRIEND!" and other times "Why do you run away from me?". Very philosophic...
Thumbs up!

Nazariglez says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:48pm

Nice physics and quite original concept!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Very enjoyable to play.
The music is very relaxing and really helps you get in the mood.
It took me some time to understand how to make friends.
The physics and the way the other squares move just perfectly match what they're trying to ilustrate.
This game really makes you stop and think for a while...
Overall 4/5 and 5/5 mood.

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Took a while to understand how to play but became enjoyable when I did. Nice music too.

multikorv says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:28pm

That was pretty challenging, nice idea!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:30pm

Very nice innovative gameplay! Cool mechanics. Well done!

The Evil Cult says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:36am

A nice concept and great start, but feels like this game could be a lot more. Ending also felt kind of abrupt. That said I love the core mechanic, simple graphics and the audio. Maybe having some texture to the background even if it's just tiny odd pixels might help your feeling of movement issue. Would love to see this expanded upon but good job for 48 hours.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:21pm

I have uploaded a post-compo version addressing the movement issue, the link was in the description, here it is again if you want to try it: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/122720/PostCompBuild/Build.html

xrm0 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:06pm

Nice physics, but didn't get what to do.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]