December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

P.O.W. Rescue

by Pyro - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is war Soldier!
The enemy has captured many of our finest men.
It's time for you to rescue them.
But beware that we have limited resources.
For each rescue you can use only one bullet.
Dismissed!

Controls:
LEFT AND RIGHT ARROW : Move
UP AND DOWN ARROW : Move on ladder
X : Jump
Z : Shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#139Graphics3.77
#364Theme3.13
#400Audio2.71
#454Humor2.32
#506Mood2.74
#507Fun2.85
#622Overall2.85
#717Innovation2.56

Comments

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Pretty cool, I like how the 'one bullet' thingy forces you to puzzle.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:48pm

A bit bland but a fun puzzler nonetheless, could use more levels.

Sim says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Fun little game. Great graphics and the AI seemed to be quite clever.

cwkx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:09pm

The graphics are great. Maybe spend more time on the platforming/logic/levels next time, but good entry! :)

Edd Morgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Very short, but great graphics and fun while it lasted.

errorage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Fun game, I like it. Add some more levels and you're ready to go.

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:47pm

I found quite a few bugs in the game. Holding jump would allow me to avoid gaps and spikes because he'd just keep jumping. Ending the game has a period of time where I can run around and even die, then it goes back to level two. Most of the levels can be completed without using a bullet.

I did like the look of the game and with a bit of bug fixing , polish, and level design, it could be a fun little game.

jomomomo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:41pm

Couldn't figure out how to get past level 4...

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Thats a huge amount of pixel art there in the background. Good show. I am pretty sure that in level 4 you want us to jump to the platform and back one to lure the second guy into spikes. But its really hard.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Wow, I'm rather impressed by the visuals. Must have been quite some work to create those sprites.
The gameplay is nice as well, although it was a bit unintuitive that you can jump over the spikey ground things, while the enemies die instantly.

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:41pm

The graphics I liked, although our finest men did look a bit like skeletons :)

Nice concept, but meaybe a bit too easy. But for a LD that means I didn't have to be very good to see all content. YAY!

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Those graphics were awesome for 48 hours. Could have used a little more animation though :)
I liked that you could lure enemies into the spike traps.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:38am

Really well done! I only wish there were more levels.

JavadocMD says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Neat idea for a puzzle platformer!

Jan 2, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Awesome graphics!

bensoto says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 2:01am

Great start, would love to see more puzzles!

Tanser says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 12:53pm

Nice graphics.

Jedi says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:13am

I don't think I solved level 4 the way it's supposed to be solved but I have no idea how else to do it.

*SPOILER ALERT* (Though probably not) I drag the window off the screen for a second and the enemies fall off the world. But seriously, how do you do this? Only one bullet, two enemies, can't jump high enough at all to get over them, what am I missing???

Nice job on the graphics, 5*.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 12:46am

The idea is cool!!!! xD.. the level 3 was very easy i only walk to he soldier and jump, level 4 was kind of hard but i manage to understand what to do *SPOILER* Jump and go back so the enemy jumps to hes dead. The is awesome! :D Great work!

GFM says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 1:53am

It's interesting that having only one bullet made an otherwise action game into a puzzle game.

timothyolt says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Great game, though I would have spent a bit more time on the mechanics. Various bugs make it too easy to beat otherwise complex levels. Holding jump for example.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:24pm

I think I ran into some bugs that made the game way too easy :P. Lovely art though.

rogueNoodle says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Now I don't need to wonder what Contra would be like if it was a puzzle game ;) Really cool idea - more levels would be great!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]