December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Biofuel

by Jeremias - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Biofuel is a Harvest Moon like game. Your task is to fuel the space station with biofuel by growing and harvesting plants. You can carry only one tool at the same time and you have only one day to give your best in harvesting!

The game requires .NET 4 and XNA 4:
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17851
http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

You can play the game with the keyboard or the gamepad likewise (tested with a xbox 360 gamepad).

Write your score (the amount of biofuel gathered) into the comments or tell me them via twitter (@StevenColling) - my record was 166 liter!

-----------------------------------------------------

The game shows short help texts and the controls, but if you have problems with the game, here is a little introduction.

I recommend to skip the following and to discover the game on your own.

1. Cultivate land with the shovel by walking over the fields (which have a white border) and pressing C (keyboard) or X (gamepad).
2. Go to the console at the top.
3. Select one of the seed types with Space/Return or A/B on the gamepad, e.g. the carrot seeds.
4. Walk to the cultivated land and press C (or X with gamepad) for throwing the seeds.
5. Get the watering tool at the console...
6. ...and use it on the plant seeds.
7. After a while (time runs only if you are moving or if you stand on the platform in the center), the carrot reachs its next state and needs to be watered again.
8. After a couple of stages, the ready carrots have green sparkles. Get the scythe and harvest them.
9. Bring the harvest back to the console to tranform it directly to fuel.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#60Overall3.77
#63Fun3.67
#93Graphics3.92
#167Innovation3.46
#169Mood3.33
#205Audio3.10
#336Theme3.17
#462Humor2.31

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:32pm

Had a lot of fun with this game. M favourite genre is probably the farming sim /harvest moon so its safe to say I enjoyed the mechanics of this xD. The graphics and overall style is amazing! So much polish for a game made in 48 hours it plays like a game I'd expect to see on steam or XBLA. The music got repetitive quite quickly but apart from that it was really good. Would definitely like to see this game added to or expanded on could see myself spending a lot of time playing it. Well done! :D

ob6160 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:48pm

It's certainly very polished for such a small space of time :) I really liked the visuals and you don't get to see a lot of this sort of game so it was welcome :)

BoppreH says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I used the shovel on the fields, got seeds, but pressing space/enter doesn't seem to do anything. Am I missing something?

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:56pm

heh! this should be expanded on :) I was actually wanting to make a game like this on mobile once my current project is done. Def fun. I got 74ltr by the end.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:59pm

well done in short time . especially xna not easy tool.

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:05pm

Wow! So cool! I really enjoyed it. Was relaxing and nice.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Thank you all for your nice comments!

@BoppreH: You select the tools with Space/Enter on the console at the top (where a big shovel is flying at the start). Then you can use the tool on the fields with C. For throwing the seeds out, you must select them on the console and then use them on the fields. In the game's description on this site, there is also a little tutorial. Tell me if it worked! :)

Korwegian says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Feels like Harvest Moon 64!

derdragon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Nice job! Didn't realize the mechanic of grown plants becoming walls essentially until it was too late. Very cool entry.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10pm

Very fun to play, with the whole 24 hours thing making the gameplay interesting. I may want to come back to this one for more.

HeyChinaski says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Nice work on the graphics and the sound. I should have been more careful when planting my seeds! Inside out perhaps? I'm going to have to try again. Good job :)

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Nice game. This is awesome artwork. Well designed. Think you should invest even more time to this great game... thx

Radnen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17pm

Really nice and atmospheric. Wish there was a distinct goal to the game, like a percent survival that goes up the more biogas you contribute. If the threshold is not reached you get a message that basically says people died etc, and that you should try harder next time (to add replayability).

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:28pm

This game is great!
The graphics look awesome and the sound fits really good.
Gameplay of course reminds of harvest moon. I loved that game, but it took ages to take care of the whole acre. Here we have only a hand full of cultivatable fields and a time limit, which I really appreciate :D I would have spent way too much more time on your game if it would have let me, so thank you for limiting play time ;)

Awesome work!

Articulated says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

This is a really slick entry. A tight concept made for a really polished end product, and this shows in the graphics and the overall theming. Nothing feels unfinished here. The gameplay is fun and challenging, and is presented brilliantly. If I had to come up with a criticism, I'd say that it feels like the theme and the game are a little disjointed, but this doesn't detract from a very strong game.

Well done! :D

Dikkop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Pretty entertaining. Has quite some replay value too since I'm curious to find out the optimum playstyle.

jadams says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:15am

Really liked the graphics, and how polished most of the game felt.

PB: 136 Liters.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:55am

96 litres. This was really fun, and always nice to play a game by a fellow XNA developer :)

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Very interesting game. Sometimes it freezes, and you must close the game. It's sad.

Jeremias says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Yes, it's a stupid bug when fields grow and you are near them... so sad. But it should happen very rarely, I think (hope?).

brogrammers says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:38am

this is lovely! I loved the feeling and the gameplay, it's addictive and polished. you really should think about investing more time in it and making it a more complex game, I would so much play stuff like this.

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:57am

Innovative, fun, polished. For a 48 hour compo entry this is amazing!

occash says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Please, make web version(I can't download it|(

Joror says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Fun little game! Explorative and clear. Only thing that kinda bothered me that I accidentally clicked through the most of the messages/end. :D

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Really addictive game, immediately thought "Harvest Moon in space".

Nice one man.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:37pm

Really good game, i had a lot of fun. The music is a bit repetitive but everything else is amazing.
Thank you and congratulations !

01101101 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Great mood and a really polished game with (apparently) no bugs, good job! :) I'm not familiar with Harvest Moon or this type of gameplay but I really liked it!

Ithildin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:28pm

You've done a great work combining Harvest Moon mechanics with the theme. Gameplay is really addictive and solid. Graphics are great, too, and music is nice as well (although, as some have said before, it can get a bit repetitive).

Wonderful job, congratulations! :D

nyytroh says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Such a simple concept but in reality can lead to depth in strategy. Good art and music.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Really polished game. Gardening is a really fun gameplay mechanic and adding a scifi feel to it just makes me swoon. :) And I also loved the music.

It was a bit confusing on the first play, I only managed to make 3 liters of fuel. :D But overall, one of the more polished games I've played in this LD, congratulations. :)

jomomomo says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 1:14am

Can't play windows games. :-(

Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:36am

Really impressive game. Nice job! I included this in part 19 of my Ludum Dare 28 Compilation video series, if you'd like to check it out! http://youtu.be/EG4kRkM_i_s

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Nice entry! :)

GFM says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:52pm

This was fun. I've liked the Harvest Moon games for a while, now (though it's been a long time since I last played one...) and you were able to make a game that reminded me of that (in a good way). =D

Good job.

foumart says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Very nice game, quite polished for a compo. Got 131 liters ! I insisted on the weed seeds :p My first try (wasn't sure what was doing yet) started to lag heavily 7 hours before the deadline. Maybe something with the particles..

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]