December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kung Fu Star

by Parasyte - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Please read all of the notes before playing:

Commit 299cd908... in my github project is the competition release. (Commits 2180f1ae... and dc7a6d92... are catastrophic bug fixes.)

The game is a ninja rope action platformer with bonus #NOKILL - You only get one skill; the rope! There are enemy ninjas that throw ninja stars at you, but rather than hurting you, they can only cut your rope. Mind the gap!

Controls: WASD or Arrow Keys to move. Space bar to jump. Hold shift to shadow-dash. Mouse to use rope: point-and-click.

Detaching ropes: Either use another rope, or jump to automatically detach.

Pro-roper technique: While shadow-dashing, jump and attach a rope. Use your forward-momentum to propel yourself in an upward arc. At the peak of the arc, quickly reverse direction and jump in mid-air to do a mega ninja rope master fling. It will send you flying onto the platform to which your rope was attached.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#204Graphics3.57
#321Audio2.84
#368Mood2.94
#690Innovation2.60
#702Overall2.76
#829Fun2.35
#882Theme2.10
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

pubnub says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:37am

Looking forward to the outcome results of the vote!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13am

Good graph, controls are a bit hard to manage. I didn't get the "You only get one" theme actually, but it's a good game!

McFunkypants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Great look and feel! I couldn't quite succeed at swinging, but I did get into the air once, in an awesome looking arc.

Parasyte says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Thanks all! I agree on the high difficulty of control! Post-compo fixes coming for that.

I guess the "you only get one" theme is that you're a ninja, but you only get one ninja skill (rope). No sword, no stars, no flipping out ...

chardish says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:28am

Fun controls! Wish I had an easier level to get good at them before getting surrounded by ninjas.

GarethIW says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Controls are a little tricky, but once I got used to it I was swinging between buildings and flipping out! Love your art style too.

glovecat says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:28am

It's too difficult for me :/

syl says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:42pm

people already told, very good gfx (5/5 to me), pretty art, but controls are difficult for the rope, no problem because it's complete :D

mystakin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:28am

I love the graphical style, especially the vignetting and noise overlay. Gameplay seems like it could be great, but I seem to be really bad at it, haha.

LevelUpJordan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:49pm

This is one of the most aesthetically pleasing games I've played, it's mechanically solid too :)

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 6:01pm

5 stars for audio, beautiful sound design... rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]