December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Drain

by adnzzzzZ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The death of a planet caused by unbounded resource consumption.

This is a simple experimental/exploration game that tries to talk about the effects of population growth on an imaginary planet. You win by, at any point, having more than 50 beings alive.

Thanks for playing and happy holidays. Make sure you buy lots of gifts!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#27Mood3.90
#28Graphics4.27
#46Innovation3.86
#97Overall3.67
#149Audio3.25
#254Theme3.32
#564Fun2.77
#713Humor1.78

Comments

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:23am

Awesome aesthetic! I love games like this. :)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:26am

Really nice intro tutorial. The animations are super cool. Very nice polish. Makes me want to try out love.

ViliX says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:32am

Good one :)

Chris Mondok says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:34am

Very slick looking. It would be nice, however, if it were more obvious when beings were being created / destroyed.

Danman9914 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:42am

Excellent mood! The gameplay is simple and a little frustrating when trying to connect small beings and resources. Great graphics and game-feel.

pLaw says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:43am

Very good. I like the idea and the problem it describes. It's the distribution not the scarcity of resources. Nice job!

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:48am

This fits the theme very well. Got a little bit tired of micro-managing, but the audio and mood make up for it.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51am

I really like the minimalistic style, that's my cupe of tea

leafo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49am

great atmosphere, feels very polished. it was hard to make connections when the mouse wasn't in the center of the screen because of the viewport moving

Clavus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:43am

Great art style. Tutorial was nice. Camera controls were a bit annoying, which made it hard to click smaller beings.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:24am

Thanks everyone. For those having problems with the camera, try zooming in more to connect the smaller beings. But yea, I agree that it's frustrating/annoying to control it. Should have just made it so that you do it by holding right mouse button...

AlanZucconi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:32pm

I love these type of games. And I love these type of styles. Simple, unique and effective.

ittlebit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:35pm

This executed really well, very clean and stylish.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Ow wow, this looks great! Realy stylish

gilborn says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Perfect intro, perfect sound, perfect graphics...

whiteknife says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Sweet aesthetics and an interesting premise!

X-0r says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:17pm

This is really a great entry!
Cool graphics and sound, neat gameplay. The scrolling was a bit tedious, though... is there any way to zoom out? (similar to your screenshots)

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:28pm

@X-0r: mouse wheel up/down to zoom in/out.

voltorben says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Very interesting. And really awesome graphics! I had a hard time managing everything, and it seemed my beings died quicker than i could breed new ones. Maybe i'm just too slow.. Great entry

Zhrack says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Nice game and art! It's a bit difficult to connect beings when camera moves though.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very athmospheric. I loved the sounds and the game idea. The game idea got presented in a very nice pace, with soothing sounds. I really like the camera system in your entry, it feels smooth and solid, as does the rest of the gameplay. Interesting entry!

Donutttt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Great art style, and a fun game. Really interesting game.

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Fantastic art direction and suitably ambient music. Great concept - to improve it, it would be great to zoom into a specific position rather than center of the screen.

Eric says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:36am

One of the best entries ive seen so far

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:04am

Very very well done, love the visuals/theming. Would also like a better mechanic to move the camera around. Awesome work!

josefnpat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:56am

Very nice game, I love the font and the quiet ambience.

Very interesting game.

tchem says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

Excelent game!!! aesthetic and gameplay are awesome!!!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:41am

This has an impeccable mood and style to it, but it honestly doesn't feel too fun to play. Maybe if I had a larger view of the planet I'm managing? The way the camera moves right now is just a bit weird.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:00am

@WojWorks you can zoom out with the mouse wheel. And yea, the camera work is bad/weird.

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:34am

The concept is very cool, and the mood was so awesome. Even though the camera is hard to get your hand on. Good job sir

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:43pm

Love the style and concept.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:25pm

loved the tutorial .. great art style/dynamic/mood :)

Magdev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:52pm

this is impressive

Toureiro says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:09am

One of the most interesting looking games I've seen here so far!

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:35am

Features and graphics are pretty awesome!

psychomonster says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Wow that is cool! Amazing game of life interpretation. super good idea for the theme. Enjoyed it to play this experiment.

AMSmirnov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:06pm

Very interesting and unusual game. If you make tutorial shortly or may be separate to different parts, game will be better!

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:34am

Played the prequel of this game in the last ludum dare (if I am not mistaken). loved it then loved it now. However, couldn't figure out much difference from the last time. May be I havent played it enough.

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:50am

I didn't participate in the last Ludum Dare nor have I ever made/played another game like this. Maybe you're mistaken?

Deity says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:41am

Excellent and very innovative game. Nice work with the simple clean graphics and sound effects.

The tutorial was also nice. The only improvement I could think of is maybe having difficulty settings as it seems I always don't have "enough beings" after some time.

Venks says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:34am

Not quite my kind of game, but it's definitely very innovative and the art style fits it perfectly.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Very slick looking, great aesthetics, both audio and visual. Also a cool game idea but I had a hard time keeping enough beings alive. Extra Point for the great and slick tutorial!

loxo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:36am

Visually interesting game. Sadly I have not much fun playing it with a touchpad. Also someone mentioned audio, but for me there is non. (OSX)

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 11:10am

Nice game. Wish i could make my simple graphics work so well in Love2d

postmodestie says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 7:06pm

Kinda interesting, but too simple.. i'd like some stats at the end.

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 7:25pm

Wow, what a stylistic masterpiece. Very smooth graphics. Very good tutorial which also looks nice.
Impressive what you can achieve with minimal colors and shapes.
For the game I found selecting sometimes a bit hard especially with small circles. It would have helped is I could navigate about the planet a bit quicker.
by the way: I saw other people reply about the sound, but at first I didn't hear the sound. It was very soft (but had also a nice mood).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]