December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fantastic Franklin

by Stealth - Jam Entry

Story:

World Reknowned Archaeologist Franklin is once again gutting the earth itself in
search of knowledge, when he spots a strange egg among a pile of fossilised remains.
Could this actually be the last surviving member of a species long-thought to be lost?
A find of of this magnitude demands further study. Luckily, the Fantastic Franklin is
on-hand to haul in this treasure for proper analysis, because it's to be expected that
in terms of opportunities to restore a species from extinction, you only get one

Controls:

Move around - Arrow Keys
Jump - S Key
Pick Up / Throw - A Key
Use Pickaxe - D Key (Hold Up Arrow to dig up, down Arrow to dig down, or nothing to dig forward)
Climb A Ladder - Up/Down Arrow Keys
Jump From Ladder - S Key to jump straight up, Left/Right Arrow Key to jump Left/Right

Items, Obstacles, and traps:

Egg - Getting this to the exit is the objective. Push against it to roll it around, or jump on top and pick it up to carry it.
It can safely fall by the height of one block. Don't break it!
Dirt - Blocks of dirt can be destroyed by using the pickaxe
Rock - These can be pushed, carried, and stacked. They will fall if there is nothing below them, and they can crush both Franklin and the egg!
Ladder - Franklin can climb ladders, but not while carrying something
Lava - Lava will kill Franklin or destroy the egg. It has no effect on rocks
Exit Shaft - Roll the egg through here!

Notes:

This premise became too ambitious for a 72 hour game jam. Originally planned were
more obstacles like oil, a time limit, scoring with bonus pickups, several types of
enemies, music, and multiple levels. Unfortunately, there wasn't enough time to
implement anything beyond what is seen in this build. This game will be expanded in
the future to include these features and possibly more

Unfortunately, there was no time to clean up and thoroughly comment the code

Fantastic Franklin uses the E02 Multiplatform 2D Game Engine: http://www.headcannon.com/E02

License:

The scripts and data for this game are provided unprotected for the Ludum Dare event
and as example usage of the E02 Game Engine. This information may be used for research
and education, and may be used in part as the basis of a unique E02 game

Graphic assets, gameplay mechanics, characters, and scenario remain property of
Headcannon and may not be used without express written permission

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#100Graphics(Jam)4.00
#161Humor(Jam)2.83
#183Overall(Jam)3.27
#213Fun(Jam)3.02
#214Mood(Jam)3.03
#286Theme(Jam)2.70
#295Innovation(Jam)2.77
#323Audio(Jam)2.67

Comments

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51am

awesome, i like it :D

Daveloper says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Fun little side scrolling action, nice sprite working and good game feel (good animation and sound mixture).

I did find the initial puzzles to be a bit tricky, but that could be my ludum dare exhaustion. ;)

gene-z says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:33pm

Cool game,, but i would like to see again with better sounds,,, keep good working...

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Graphics, puzzles and feel are nice, but what about theme?

blackmagic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Nice entry though the objective could benefit a bit of hinting :)

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Love it. Definitely would like to see this fleshed out more.

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Yay :D Cool mario-like game. Controls a little bit difficult in the first place, but after playing the first 5 minutes it was really quite nice!

chiguireitor says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:14pm

Ultra hard game :-) The collisions boxes are a tad too large btw.

Azzar says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:23pm

Just wow. The visuals are great and I really dig the gameplay
It might not fit the theme exactly, but it's still great.

SimianLogic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:08pm

Awesome little platformer. Kind of like Spelunky meets Sokoban. I think there's a glitch on the lava collider -- if I picked up a rock and threw it while standing on a rock on the lava, it was instadeath. Otherwise, delightful little puzzle.

TheMaster99 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Excellent game. I like it! Would love to see a post-jam version.

kewry says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:46pm

Would love to see more of this!

Nelien says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:57pm

Love the style and look! Nice little sounds and animations, well polished! The puzzle seems incredibly hard though, couldn't even get close to finishing it :/.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Hmm, doesn't seem to run properly on my computer. It looks like I can see the game screen twice in an already small window, with black and white rectangles beneath those. Am I seeing the double buffering simultaneously? Haha.

In any case, here are my system specs: OSX 10.8.5 (Mountain Lion) running on a MacBook Pro with retina.

jsjwooowooo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Very fun, but tough!

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:35pm

Very nice, some music would've made it much better though. The theme usage is kind of far fetched as well.

OrangeeZ says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Nicely done, found key mapping somewhat confusing though. But the art style is real nice and reminds me of some Megadrive titles!

Tomski says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:20am

Great graphics!

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:44am

Really great graphics, the puzzles and sounds can use some more time to flesh out. I keep coming back for the nice pixel art :)

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:46am

Cool game, the puzzle was pretty good, but I had some problems with dying from throwing the rocks and whatnot that made it a bit annoying to complete.

tobbez says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:10am

There is a bug that really make the game unneccessary annoying and that is when you die when throwing a rock, this seem to happen if you don't have a perfectly clear path for the rock to travel or if you picked it up over lava. Also there seemed to be some issues with rocks falling down if they were not completly visible but it didn't affect gameplay much and was more an interesting thing that happened. Another thing that is odd is why can't you push a rock over rocks in lava?

Cool idea, nice graphics but many many bugs.

drkrunk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:36pm

This was a neat little thing, I think some music would have livened it up. I also had the same problem with dying from throwing the rocks.

Several says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:17am

A bit mean, letting you jump only 1-block high, killing you if you don't immediately run the opposite direction after throwing a rock, having no repair-dirt action, finding lava pop into visibility only as you are plummeting toward it, and always having to restart from the beginning, all as you get a feel for the controls.

Love the nose, though. Very happy it became the start screen.

I'm also fond of the license. This kind of thoughtfulness is pretty great.

Moosefly says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Not really my kind of game, but the graphics were great and it worked pretty well. Even managed to kill myself by dropping a rock on top of myself.

occash says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Awesome!Good job! Very nice graphics! That the window is such small..! Maybe it should be better to make it bigger?)

Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Nice concept and graphics! Really liked the parallax backgrounds.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]