December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Out of Mind

by kibertoad - Jam Entry

This time around we've decided not to experiment with genres much and made a more (or less) traditional tactical turn-based dungeon crawler in a psychedelic cyberpunk setting.

Controls:

Mouse scroll wheel - zoom in/zoom out,
Right-click or middle-click with mouse drag - move camera around.

First left-click - select target.
Second left-click - confirm movement/attack.

Spacebar - end turn


Instructions:

Reach exit point at other side of the level.

Game combat happens in turn-based mode, you can see the amount of action points in the top right corner of the screen.

Chances of hitting or missing the are slightly randomized, so expect surprises.

Collect and use pickups to increase your chances of survival.


Rebalanced post-jam version is now available ("Prepare to Lonely" edition, cut by "Out of Mind" mastermind lonely2012 himself).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#149Audio(Jam)3.27
#211Mood(Jam)3.05
#217Graphics(Jam)3.40
#310Overall(Jam)3.02
#355Fun(Jam)2.64
#361Innovation(Jam)2.62
#424Humor(Jam)1.71
#479Theme(Jam)2.10

Comments

ACE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:11pm

liked the set up but needs to be smoothed out more

kibertoad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:25am

Linux/Mac version (JAR, no bundled JRE; Java 7 required) uploaded.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:07am

Something is broken in the uploaded build and it doesn't launch on most computers :(. Sorry for inconvenience, will upload a properly working version in ~8 hours, probably it's something very stupid...

kibertoad says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:50pm

fixed build was uploaded, game should launch universally now.

kibertoad says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Rebalanced post-jam version added.

LD_LAN_Party says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:16am

Music and graphics were good. Gameplay was smooth.

mtrc says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:22am

Beautiful graphics! Really consistent style, loved it. Also a really ambitious style of game for Ludum Dare. Well done on pulling it off.

TheColorMan says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:23am

This is a very awesome game! The special items gives it deeper tactics, despite the simple controls, which I thought were very good as well!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31am

WOW! The game was interesting! i like the music but needs some sound effects to be more awesome but its ok ;) The idea is great and the graphics where awesome too! I love how they look, Great work guys :D

pele says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:31am

I like the cyberpunk genre and the game mood is quite right, but I miss some context. What about adding an intro and/or some story (dialogs?) in a post-compo version!

netmute says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:08pm

The screenshots look awesome. But it outright crashed on OSX. Wasn't able to play :(

ezolotko says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Very cool graphics.

Tanser says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Nice game! :)

Daveloper says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:59pm

The cyberpunk atmosphere is very present, the art is unique and had a contributed to the atmosphere. If you like turn based games, this would be pretty good with some more polish and sounds effects.

Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:12am

Awesome graphics ! Great job !

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:33am

Nice music! I'm not really a "turn-based" guy, but good execution and ideas.

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:40am

Pretty decent turn-based gameplay, don't know about clicking multiple times to shoot though, I would've preferred an attack move or two, per turn.

Also, sound of the 80s is a kicking song!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:43am

I feel like it is a bit disconnected from the theme.
Do not get me wrong, it was quite an enjoyable game! Plus, a cookie for the music, it was really relaxing. Tactical usage of the shield has saved me from many, many enemies at once, it is the most useful pickup in my opinion.
Great job with the graphics!


In response to the comment you made on my game: I am sorry you could not find the R key to reset. Perhaps slightly more careful reading of either of the instuctions would help you avoid similar difficulties in the future.

jarnik says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 9:57pm

I haven't played many turn-based shooters, but I haven't managed to avoid being seen (I prefer sneaking to combat). Some visualisation of enemy view cone would help.
Anyway, bonuses were interesting, I managed to gather a herd of dogs that followed me around for quite a while :)
Liked the setting and the music!

Azzar says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:23pm

This game is insane (in the best sense possible). I found it a bit hard to tell hostile dolls from obstacles. And waiting for enemies' turn seemed a bit too long. Other than that, a great game with a splendid atmosphere and deep gameplay.

jojohnson1 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:44pm

audio was great. apart from that, I had no idea how to play that game. I don't like massive game instructions, it's just so much to read. should have made an ingame tutorial kind of thing...

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Are you gonna be making post-compo version?

kibertoad says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:16pm

we are currently thinking about it.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:34pm

Great game loved the music and graphics.

RodRoy1 says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Awsome game, nice idea, good sound, good visuals. All you have to do is clean it up a bit so the movement isnt as clunky. i dont see the theme, unless its you only get one life, but its not a big deal. Looking forward to seeing more from you guys.

pencil says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 6:18pm

RodRoy1, there is a mini twist in the very end revealing the theme ;)

hasher says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 3:06am

very good graphics and game!

iiechapman says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Hey there, just wanted to let you know I added a new link to my game that should work!
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=14399

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

At first I wasn't really sure what to do, because there were no enemies in the view, but after a few minutes everything cleared out. I really liked the turnbased gameplay and audio of this game.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:52am

Gameplay was nice and smooth, loved the music and graphics as well.

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Nice game!
The graphics look nice and the music is really fitting and setting the mood :)
Great work!

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 3:35am

Haven't played your game yet (I'll be back to do that later), but to answer your question on mine (One Life), it's a Twine setting. In the StorySettings passage, you simply set "Undo: off" and it disables bookmarking and the use of the back button within the story.

SnoringFrog says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 11:46am

Playing on Windows 7, my event log kept getting bigger and I couldn't resize it. By the end of the game, I could barely see my player.

It was also difficult to manage inventory because I had way to much. I had 5 friends for a while (which basically made me invincible) until I accidentally killed them all when trying to find my inventory menu after losing it behind the then-massive event log. That wasn't a big deal though, b/c I had enough massacres left to just kill every other enemy I saw. I wish I hadn't picked up so many urge to kill's though , b/c I didn't want to use them and they pushed all my good inventory out of sight.

It was an interesting game though. Apart from the difficulties managing the menus, the only two things I would change are marking your "friends" somehow, and allowing you to select which target on a square you want to shoot. I think I killed as many of my friends with my gun as the other enemies did, since I shot them trying to get to the enemies.

Otherwise, fun game with an oddly relaxing soundtrack and unusual ending.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice graphics but I think that controls need some improvement - I think they make the game less enjoyable. (Didn't tested post-compo as I'm on linux machine.. maybe it's fixed there so ignore this then :-)

local minimum says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Nice graphics and audio. I didn't learn which token represented which perk but that was sort of OK since it said in text once I had them. It might be good to make all enemies and tokens stand out slightly more so that one doesn't have to run around trying to interact with a lot of sprites that do nothing (if more things said stuff or so, then that would void by comment). Good entry in all.

greytram says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Nice job! Graphics are very organic.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]