December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Star Chase

by David Colson - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This was made in about 20 hours because I hated the first game I made on Saturday. This however, is much better.

Its really small and lacks content, but I focused on making it fun in the time I had, and for that I am happy.

In the game you play a space pilot hunting down another space craft who has stolen a bunch of Latinum (StarTrek Reference). The problem is, as you had to scramble so quickly you have only one rocket to shoot him down with.

You must dodge the asteroids and get as close as you can to the traitor so your only shot is successful.

Move with mouse, click to skip cutscene if you so wish (don't at least one it took me so long!) and space to pause.

You can watch my timelapse here:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AXTLl7QdeqQ&feature=c4-overview&list=UUGLqqliI9dvCNnOYwSwkP7w

The first half of the Timelapse is the first game I made which I ditched.

Oh and by the way I haven't actually tested the Linux version so if anyone finds a problem with it please do tell me!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#166Graphics3.68
#185Fun3.38
#254Theme3.32
#261Overall3.30
#328Audio2.83
#335Innovation3.14
#438Mood2.85
#587Humor2.04

Comments

CaptainNakou says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Not bad, but I wasnt patient enough x).

David Colson says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:14pm

I've tweaked the difficulty to make it easier to kill the enemy, and also not to long for the impatient, hope you like the improvements!

phi6 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:05pm

Really difficult to judge, but I love the balance between waiting and shooting. I stumbled upon your game when trying to find similar games to mine, good job! Love the graphics :)

nerial says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Well done ! The chase is a bit long but definitely worth a try !

abeing says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:11pm

very nice graphics, and super fluent control / movement of the ship. also fits nice in the theme. great job!

q7204k says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Not bad, not bad =)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26pm

The art style was amazing! I could definitely see this being a full game. Unfortunately, the use of theme caused this game to be way to short.

ZXeno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Good job!

oldmanbiles says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Loved it, reminds me of star fox. If anything I want you to turn this into a full starfox-esque game

adnzzzzZ says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I don't like being the best someone has... Too much responsibility. Nice game for 20 hours, though.

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

This played really well. Loved the swishy ship controls and the trails gave it really nice visuals.

I found patience paid off in the end and I took that traitor down. I look forward to my reward from the Grand Nagus.

carlsommer says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Looks pretty good! Well done making it appropriately hard (not too hard, not too easy)

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:46pm

It's great, i like it :D

vapgames says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Woah, so much TENSION!

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:48pm

Nice one! It took me a while to realize I had only one missile :D Also, I didn't have to get too close to get a shot, which is nice :)

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Plain, but graphics and audio are catchy.

MaTX says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:33pm

I was just avoiding meteors by waving my mouse randomly, that's not a good sign :D

I really like the ship's controls and rotation, but Imho it woudl be cooler if it could rotate 360 degrees instead of only 90 as maximum.

Anyway, nice entry, could be better with more polish :)

Not really fitting with theme though.

Vladp995 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Nice and simple, got the theme exactly. Well done.

StMatn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:05pm

Nice game!
I noticed some points:
- If you skip the startsequence you have ~5 miles extra
- Asteroids flying right through the camera block sight for a moment that is suficient to make you fail
- Maybe it was luck, but after ~10 attempts where my ship got destroyed I started shooting right after the start and won with the timer at 48.2 miles, so it works out quicker, to exploit your luck (1 honest attempt = 10-20 snapshots at the beginning) you may want to prevent the user from doing this, because it breaks the challenge and therefor the experience

Besides that, if you play the game honestly the way its meant to be played, it's really fun! The ship looks really great and controls not to direct, but not too spongy either, it's just right :) The skipability of the startsequence helps the game a lot to be challenging instead of frustrating!
Really great work :)

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:11pm

@StMatn You make very good points. I think this game was slightly held back by the theme. I want to take it further but I will remove the "One Shot" mechanic.

The game also has dynamic difficult so it makes it easier the more you fail. It probably makes it too easy though...

rukbotto says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:58am

Wow! I just got back in time when I used to played Starfox. I love it!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:03am

At the beginning I had some difficulties to deal with the collisions, I though I can pass but nope.
When I get used to the game was pretty fun.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:28am

computer's mind- player almost win = lets make player die so he gets frustrated

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]