December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Call of Monsters

by NiceAlexanderAS - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions to install:
* Download the .zip
* You need to have Microsoft .NET Framework Redistributable 4.0 installed as well as Microsoft XNA Framework Redistributable 4.0
* EXTRACT EVERYTHING ... If you dont do this then the game is not going to work
* Play the game and enjoy :3
* Any errors or bugs please report immediately!

Personal Note:
So.. this is my 7th Entry on the Ludum Dare competition :3 I had fun!!! this time i didn't use old code (to copy paste xD) because i need to practice my skills but that lead me to a not very good game :S. As far as a progress on my skills i can say that my drawings are getting good as well as my coding logic.
Also i was live-streaming for the first time but of course nobody was watching but that's okey n_n i didn't talk, i only played this awesome music that i found this week! Anyways, i had fun :D Ludum Dare is awesome!!!
I hope you guys had fun! Merry Christmas and a Happy new year to all :3

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#47Theme3.87
#83Fun3.60
#143Overall3.54
#170Humor3.16
#181Audio3.17
#237Innovation3.30
#253Mood3.15
#444Graphics3.04

Comments

TheWhiteLlama says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:03am

doesn't work for me :/ Can't start it: nothing happens!

Venks says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:05am

The game also isn't starting for me. Checked out the screenshots though. Dang those things look freaky. Hope you get this fixed soon. Good luck!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:08am

That is weird... everything is working fine O.o i test it on my other 2 computers, my only guess is that you don't have this:

* You need XNA 4.0 : http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914
* And also you need .NET Framework 4.0 : http://www.microsoft.com/en-US/download/details.aspx?id=17718

Thanks for trying to play i guess :P xD

dremelofdeath says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25am

Funny idea! At first I was like, what this is dumb. Then I realized you could line up the zombies and kill them all with one throw if you're good and then I was like daaaamn. So in the end I liked it! You have some small typos in the text :)

Pitoum says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:47am

Simple game but with some great features which make it deeper that classical of games. Nice work (even if it was really boring to install everything for just a jam game... next time try to fix that! :) )

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:01am

The game works fine here. I really liked the ball mechanic in this game.

Fenixin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:40am

Very good game. Had a lot of fun playing it. Humorous, nice graphics and well themed.

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Was fun to play. Got very hard. Good concept.

I would suggest making the game error out (with a message!) in the absence of the XNA framework. You might miss out on feedback for those that can't play it.

Adam Tea says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I used to be a loyal XNAer until I began work with Unity, and honestly, multiplatform + web player make it king. Might be worth considering if you're OK with a slight learning curve. That way everyone can play your game, AND with minimal effort ;)
Anyway, I did think this game was quite fun. Good job :)

StMatn says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Cool game!
I loughed at the ending :D
Nice graohics and fitting sound.
Good work!

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:13pm

I had to get XNA and then it worked. It's a good concept and I like that monsters slow you down, but they slow you a bit too much which makes it frustrating. More content would make a really good game.

JellyMan64 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Sorry, my firewall says no.

spx says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:23am

I really like the billiard-like game mechanics.

dementor561 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:44am

its fun

NightShadow0 says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Silly game haha, gets pretty easy once you figure it out but it's a fun mechanic!

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:32am

Really fun! Great to see another XNA dev :)

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Enjoyed that. Nice game mechanic.

nyrrrr says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:14am

Hey man.
I like your game :) Just played thru it.

You might consider making it easier for people to play your game. Like providing a web player or some simple download-doubleclick-and-play exe ;)
Was no problem for me. But might be for many others.

All in all I like the game :) cool idea

btw, this is no real bug. but you might not have noticed, that moving diagonal is faster than vertical or horizontal movement ;)

SPOILER: The last level is it really intended to end the game once you lose the ball? :)

good job!

mtinkerhess says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:42am

Nice take on the theme. Hitting a lot of monsters in one shot is really satisfying. I would have liked to know how much health I had left but that didn't matter too much because restarting levels was so quick.

uchiro says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:00am

I won :) Interesting gameplay. Good work.

Poxymyr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Really good idea, that was hard te beat but fun enough to keep me trying :) I just dont know what the sprites look like XD

goerp says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 6:56pm

although using a left handed mouse is a bit broken in XNA (I had to use the other mouse button) I had surpsrisingly good fun with this game.
I thought the elements were just right. A bit of tactic to hit as many enemies with one throw, but also a bit of randomness because aiming isn't perfect, so it becomes a bit hectic.
The monsters were nice.
If I would wish for anything it would be some more soundeffects (real gory ones, please).

Good game!

pet_snake says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Only problem I had was that it got a little difficult to move with all the dead bodies remaining, but past that it was great.

RodRoy1 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:10pm

awsome game, funny concept and good method of making it into a game. Loved the sillyness, and the music was pretty good too. I had a ball... (sorry bad pun) XD

Raphy says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:10pm

Very nice, well done ! Music is awesome.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:55am

Great game.. A time ago I made a similar game but it was a FPS: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h7fK8A0Agak , but yours is more arena type of game. I really liked, I liked the idea of losing if the ball is out of the map. Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]