December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The one shot

by jamesy012 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You get one shot to defend your home that one shot can be the difference between saving the world or not.

Controls:

Left and right arrow keys for movement
Space for the shot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#125Theme3.59
#297Fun3.18
#556Innovation2.82
#597Humor2.00
#633Overall2.83
#683Audio2.00
#875Mood2.11
#934Graphics1.91
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Cherno says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:51am

That freaking explosion when I finally hit one was awesome! Better graphics would have been a huge improvement, and "Olny" on the main menu screen? Really?

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Really fun to watch the chain reaction XD

CaptainKraft says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:42pm

It has potential. The one chain reaction I managed to set off out of 5 shots was pretty cool. It seems like a lot of things were just thrown in. There is a major typo on the main screen, and the buttons were hard to click. Needs work to become a good game

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:22am

virus warning when i tried to open

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:48am

You used the wrong slash on your linux link.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:50am

Really cool main play mechanic, but the overblown sound effect at the start was extremely jarring.

clearlyspam23 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:15am

Pretty fun, biggest issue I had was that the ships were really small, and hard to follow.

paulopn says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:17am

Great idea on the chain reaction mechanic! Fun to see it working, but those sound effects are a little too loud...

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:35am

I adore the chain reaction.

David Colson says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:39am

I really love the idea, with some polish and nicer graphics this could be an awesome game. Unfortunately after my 5th or so run the game glitched out and made a funny noise so I had to close it

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:12am

Wasn't expecting much, but when my first shot hit I was hooked! Really great concept, really satisfying, really fun!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Also loved the explosion ! But as it's said, better graphics would have been a big plus :)

Cipher says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:56pm

My first shot continued on for a pretty long time but my other shots failed hard! There's something really cool about chain reactions like this

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:49pm

I had one bullet left and all of a sudden it was over 10! :D

Rothens says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

It's quite fun, but somehow it killed my Core i7 :D

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:26pm

Crash after a few try. Chain reactions games are always fun to play.

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:38am

Lol I didn't expected the chain reaction of that single shot :D
Nice game :D

Diptoman says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:42am

Haha, this was awesome. The chaining was really cool, plus the upgrades. Though I got stuck in one chain for so long once that the game crashed ._.

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:53am

Awesome chain reaction! I was in awe the first time I got a large reaction. One thing I noticed though, it seems like sometimes the bullet sprite renders as a white box instead of a red dot. I've heard of other people having the same issue in LibGDX if you happen to be using that.

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Gameplay was mostly luck after you hit the first shot, but really it was pretty fun just to watch everything exploding. Sometimes it went on for a while!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]