December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Fighter's last hope

by murilo - Jam Entry

*** Fighter's last hope ***
Defend your realm with your sword skills! If things get too hard use your last hope of survival, a one time magic sword spell. Be careful though, as it can also kill you!

== NEW LEVEL ADDED! AND MANY OTHER GOODIES! ==

==DEFAULT CONTROLS=(YOU CAN CHANGE IT IN OPTIONS, GAMEPAD SUPPORTED)
ARROWS --> MOVE
Z -------> JUMP
X -------> ATTACK (UP/DOWN + ATTACK for different attacks)
ENTER ---> SPECIAL MOVE(You only get one)
SPACE ---> BLOCK
ESC -----> GAME MENU (during game)

Use mouse for menu options.

Enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#65Fun(Jam)3.55
#212Overall(Jam)3.20
#279Audio(Jam)2.82
#280Mood(Jam)2.85
#288Humor(Jam)2.27
#419Theme(Jam)2.31
#421Graphics(Jam)2.63
#471Innovation(Jam)2.25

Comments

Capitals says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I Love the sound assets! The game is fun to play as well.

lilinx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Very, very effective game. Brings Prince of Persia childhood memories to my mind.

Gungnir says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05pm

Pretty cool game.
I know I should not complain about this but the default controls are really strange. Pressing the shift key too often will bring up a windows dialog for me which makes it impossible to play.

I liked that fact that you can block attacks with the space key but that was not explained in the readme.

DavidErosa says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great audio! Also I liked the slow-mo during the special attack. Congrats!

Nelien says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Loads of fun! Took me six or seven tries but I beat it (once with no special ability and once with. The AI is really cool!

Fenixin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Nice game! Very funny!

broepi says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Very cool graphics style, stickmen, simple but nice! Yes, that was fun! But please create more levels :) and maybe change the default key settings!

Terry says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:22pm

This is really fun!

goerp says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:59pm

The game reminded me of XKCD :)
A a bit frantic, but nice.
It took a while to get used to the controls.

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:26pm

The change in framerate felt really great. But the controls felt a bit weird.

psychonull says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:30pm

very fun!, I would change the "shift" control. on windows keeps showing a question dialog of "sicky keys". The special move is awesome!

LatFoued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:01pm

The sfx are pretty good, and also is the gameplay. Even though the choice of controls is pretty odd. Good job

foumart says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:32pm

You've built up a decent engine, well done! The special skill however lagged alot on my end, it was nice and unexpected feature thought.

Zambini says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46am

It was very satisfying to land a jump sword strike on a foe. Very nice feel to the game with the animations and sound.

The main bgm didn't work for me, but I played with Icarus (from the Deus Ex: Human Revolution soundtrack) and it was very intense.

Excellent work!

murilo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:25am

Thanks everyone for the compliments and suggestions! This time I think I made something worth extending :)
@broepi You bet more levels are being made!
@psychonull You're right! I changed the default controls!

As soon as I finish some updates I'm making I'll upload a new version!

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:46am

Thats very funny!

Geti says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:59am

Nice sword sounds, reminds me of those old stick fight flash videos overall.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:32am

hey murilo! bem maneiro! parabens.

Threef says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Sometimes enemies are to hard, but thats good game.

sadiquo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Good game, I really enjoyed to play it!

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:00pm

This was very "2013 jam game trying to be a "2005 Flash game trying to be an Amiga fighting game"".

Maple says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 11:09am

Great game! My only complaint is that you need to use mouse to navigate the menu... Awesome SFX, too.

gene-z says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Crazy game, too much fun

Husky says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:41am

I can't download the post-combo one... :(
The bleeding effect is cool! I like it! :D

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:22pm

@Husky download link is fine. Must've been a temporary server down. Thanks!

Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Wah, so addicting, I just spent half an hour playing this :)
Not very best use of theme but still I had loads of fun wit this.
And man last two guys are strong. Failed to kill them -_-

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:43am

Woh that was real fun.
I found the falling physic a bit freeze (annoying to fall in the void without having a chance to jump back) but the attack phases are pretty efficient.
I really appreciated the difficulty increasing.
I got some lag when destroying the statues with the spell but the effect was still nice.
SFX are perfect.

ViliX says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Great sound :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]