December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Will You Be The 1.

by yosh - 48 Hour Compo Entry

/!\ Music Bug: If the music doesn't play anymore, just restart the game, that should do the trick...

Post-Mortem over here: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/12/22/will-you-be-the-1-post-mortem/

Synopsis:
-------
So many of them... it's comforting to not be alone in this adventure.
But how the saddest part is probably to know that only one of us will survive.
Life is too precious, we have to succeed. I have to succeed.

About:
-----
Compete against players from all around the world, and try to be the 1.

Controls:
-------
* Move: Use your Mouse
* Validate: Left Click

Notes:
-----
* This is an online, game. The server might crash or have bugs making the experience quite poor. I'll do my best to keep everything up,!
* GAME NOT STARTING: You may want to refresh. If still not, leave a comment I'll see what I can do.
* GAME SUPER SLOW: First of all, Google Chrome is a generally a good a choice to play HTML5 games. This game hasn't been minified yet, it should improve things a bit :)
* NO SOUNDS/MUSIC: Yep, it's still so much fun to deal with that using HTML5. It might be a bit buggy or simply not work (older firefox do not support MP3s).

Enjoy!

Yosh.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#72Innovation3.74
#191Fun3.37
#218Audio3.06
#222Overall3.37
#351Mood2.97
#557Theme2.76
#641Humor1.93
#809Graphics2.25

Comments

burgerdare says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10am

web link seems to be broken in firefox.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:49am

Let me know, when it's up I'll give you some comments <3

Jin47 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:04am

I really enjoyed It. Very Challenging.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Ha! Got to be the number one with 95 seconds. Really simple yet cool game. Are the other cursor recordings of earlier players?

Really reminded me of this: http://donottouch.org/ Was it an inspiration? :-)

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:54pm

It was quite challenging and addictive, i love how simple but fun it is. Nice work !

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:32am

Wow, the game is interesting. Somewhat I'm addicted to this game.

yosh says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:37am

UPDATE: Music & sounds are more or less working. The game now takes even longer to load, hurray! #HTML5 #wow #soFuture.

@burgerdare: Problem solved!
@ParaPup: See above!
@Jin47: Thank you =)
@kyyrma: Well as unlucky as this could seem, if you see that time it means you have died at the very end :D (sorry)
@LatFoued, @BlazingFanfish: Many thanks to you two ;)

Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:11am

Seriously love it, very unique. :D

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:41am

It is hanging on 67% load for me, so I can't play.

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:04am

@hamster_mk_4: Sorry about that, I'm getting more and more fedup with my way of dealing with game assets (notably everything related to audio). If I ever come to use this engine for future projects, I'll make sure to get away this frustration of having the loading stuck. In the meantime I would attempt a restart, if still nothing I'd be interested to debug the issue with you.

biscuitdough says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:09am

The ranking/async multiplayer stuff really makes it stand out, great job.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:10am

sorry to say that i barely could play the game. it seems to have a critical bug.

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:17am

I had a glitch where the music didn't restart after playing a second time. Really cool async competitive game!

yosh says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:34am

@Bruno: What kind of bug was that critical? Last time I got some weird behavior from the games (wrong collision detection etc.) it was because of the developer console open while playing. Could you tell me more by any chance?
@Nick Weihs: I'm fighting hard against this stupid bug, it's really making me crazy right now ><

Taldius says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:26am

I really loved the concept of the game. Simple but very fun and addictive and also a very good use of the theme.
Nice work!

MrTedders says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:55pm

This game reminds be of a very experimental music video that did the same sort of thing except you couldn't lose in that one. Great work!

_zulli says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:23am

REALLY addicting game! Awesome idea! One of the best entries in this compo thanks for it's challenge! :D

If you have time,please consider rating my game! I would really appreciate it!:D

Blooperly says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:53am

Really fun! Not very complex but I love how it plays out. Good job, this is what Ludum Dare is about.

postmodestie says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:26am

Really interesting! So you get to see a score if you finish prematurely, but you get nothing if you finish the game - which is presumably very short?
Other than that great idea!
And i had even sound on Firefox..

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 3:56pm

I tried to play but the loader seems to never end. :| Is the server down ?

yosh says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:15pm

^ indeed. Restarting asap

LoneStranger says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:52am

Very well done. Simple and interesting, wish it was longer. Would be neat if there were other levels, other patterns to follow.

SamH says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 11:39am

Nicely done and very original. This is strangely addictive.

van noctar says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Yeah!!! Good graphics, good sounds and very good gameplay!! :D 46.51 seconds :D

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:00am

Pretty cool gameplay and music, and I like that you show the number of people who've gone that far (btw, are the stats real?). It'd be even cooler if the other mouse cursors are actual mouse movements from people who played the game.

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:04am

Hey, I'm the 16th guy to beat the game ;-P

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:19am

^ it's actually other people. I record movements from all the sessions, classify them by performance to give the feeling that more and more people are failing as you progress. The only problem is the lag when replaying player records... which gives this feeling that we have some kind of crappy cheating AI :)

Also, the stats are real, the server crashed recently so I might have lost some data though :)

tudd says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:33am

Oh yeah, 17th person to finish. Great twist on the mouse avoider genre. It's not showing all of the other mouse cursors?

zequack says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:28am

The concept is nice, but the session seems to end prematurely when I don't die :/
Anyway I really like the concept !

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:32am

5 stars for innovation, this is a fantastic interpretation on the theme. Really awesome work! :)

yosh says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 4:53am

@Bradley: Thanks, most people didn't see the twist. The one you can see at the end screen is basically supposed to represent a heart-beat, and your cursor was all along... sperm :D

jacklehamster says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 6:59am

Ok got it, I didn't think it was other players because they kept running into the dark areas. Now it makes sense.

Zerkruemler says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 9:26am

Cool concept and solid implementation. Although I understood nothing at the beginning it gets quite clear soon. It is more a memory than a reaction game, but that is ok for me.
Good Work!

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:16am

Excellent game. Love what you did recording and playing back other's movements.

ViliX says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:38am

Nice innovative :)

Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Doesn't load for me I'm afraid, I'll try again later

yosh says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:49am

^ Sorry I was out for a while. And to my very own surprise, it was the web server that died this time -.-
All good again!
(Ok now I know why it's such a pain to run online games ==> maintenance :D)

rezoner says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:49am

Man - all stars for the innovation. If this is original idea it is material for a hit - you just need a better execution and marketing.

JaJ says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Very well done, this is a lot of fun.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]