December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tiny Thor

by JoeManaco - Jam Entry

Cursor keys to walk/jump
X to throw hammer

Native/Download-Version recommended.
HTML5 Version best played with Chrome.
FLASH Version doesn't have lightning effects due to some performance issues.

You only get one... HAMMER. Don't loose it!

Edit: Some asked for the music and here is it: https://soundcloud.com/jochenheizmann/tiny-thor

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#62Overall(Jam)3.70
#103Theme(Jam)3.33
#113Fun(Jam)3.32
#117Graphics(Jam)3.90
#119Audio(Jam)3.38
#209Humor(Jam)2.57
#209Mood(Jam)3.06
#285Innovation(Jam)2.79

Comments

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:05am

Nice job! The jump height was very satisfying. Only critique would be that the "you collected everything" and "you can't leave yet" dialogs don't need to be shown more than once.

Rscar says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:20am

Love the style! Unfortunately sometimes my game would (I assume) glitch and the hammer would shoot straight up in the air...not sure if this is intentional but it kept me from completing levels. Great work though!

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:23am

@Rscar: Yes, still a few bugs left :( Press "R" if you get stuck.

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:30am

I really, really love the presentation and the whole thing is rather polished...but this game is WAY too finicky in it's controls. Fighting enemies is a chore with the hammer charging. I feel like I'm sliding on ice half of the time. If these things were fixed, I would have enjoyed the game so much more.

ehtd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:31am

Nice game

Crabman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34am

Nice! Cool look, and the pace is great!

Thein says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:58am

I liked the hammer mechanic a lot! The platforming was a little slippery sometimes. Also, killing the enemies was too tedious when they take more than one hit. Level design, graphics, and music were all good though!

bluemanshoe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:48am

My favorite so far. Very nice game.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice throwing mechanic, and beautiful pixel art. I found the player speed and jump height a bit too much though!

SiENcE says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Nice polish of the game. Jumping is a bit difficult for me.

Emme says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Thanks for the kind comments, folks. When starting the art, I went with the first idea I had, reduced animation frames by 50%, switched between Gale and Photoshop, it was pretty hectic :)

d2king10 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:03pm

I liked the idea of having one hammer and having to throw it to do damage. I found it a bit hard to aim where I wanted the hammer to go, and having to die and restart the level to get your hammer back was kind of a pain. Otherwise good job!

finefin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:10pm

retrolicious! good job!

spx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:27pm

Really great first impression! Would be cool if you could retrieve the hammer directly, i'm sure mighty thor can do that :)

sekaru says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:02am

Very fun platforming, great music and great graphics.

kookoon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:20am

Love the tiles and general style, reminds me of old c64 games.
The only "thing" is that maybe Thor moves a bit too fast for me.
Awesome game.

ninjacharlie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:09pm

I really liked it! It was fun and the platforming was tight. The only issue I had was the collisions sometimes didn't work correctly (especially at close range). Because of that the hammer would sometimes "teleport" to an unreachable position. Maybe a melee attack would have helped with close up enemies as well. Other than that, the art style was great, there were plenty of expansive levels. Nice job :)

Kohijin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Nice one, the jumping controls felt a bit too sensitive for me but it's very playable in html5 with firefox (with the Flash version running very slow for some reason)

ziomorti says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Nice solid entry. Like someone already pointed out I felt the jump (and movements) a bit too sensitive.

JoeManaco says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:30pm

First of all: Thank you for all your great feedback. That's really motivating and i highly appreciate that. I've just updated all versions with with a small bugfix regarding the hammer-collision-bug some of you mentioned. As some also complained about the performance of the flash build I disabled the lightning effects - so it's more playable (although it doesn't look as nice as the other builds).

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:41pm

great amiga-esque gfx and music. Good job guys!

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:12pm

Awesome game man, the hammer is a cool idea. If you did a post compo version it'd be nice to have better control over the hammer (e.g. mouse controlled launching), but it fits the levels just fine how it is.

The music was sweet too. Good job.

JohnnySix says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Love the graphics and the music. Gameplay was cool if a little difficult to master precision with the hammer, especially with the snakes on platforms. Very cool though, hope you add more levels & enemies. :)

sandbaydev says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:47am

Really well done. I liked the concept a lot! Hammer throwing could be slightly better/accurate/under my control. Other than that... no complaints

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:37pm

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lWiubJn4ETI
My first impressions on the game :D

Pixelulsar says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:04am

I liked the the music a lot, and it was a fun game. Looks nice too. It might just be me but I thought that the player moved a bit too.

kutullu says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:55am

Loved it. Would pay money for an expanded version of it. The hammer controls could need some work, maybe a different control scheme using the mouse or something like that. :)
Personally, I played it with the XBox360 controller and the movement felt really good. I also really liked the graphics and sound.
Great entry!

Cheers, Marcus

PS: I also really liked the idle animation. Neat little touch. :D

Emme says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Haha, yes, the idle is cool, I love how You can wait for a good altitude for the hammer and then run away, I used that to break the icey platforms :) If You are skilled You could kill an enemy with that :)

Emme says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Thanks for all the nice comments, indeed I started out as an artist on the Amiga many years ago, still shines through I guess.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:26pm

You already got me with the Thor theme. The chracter is really cute and I enjoyed the game very much (even if it seems I really jumped against every wall possible^^)

Pixlexia says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:17pm

I also find the controls a bit too sensitive, but I think it just fits the levels well. The hammer mechanic is really nice, good use of the theme. Love the graphics and the music too! Great game overall :)

Erkberg says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Reminds me a little of Diamon Hollow, good job!

Kvisle says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Very fast paced game. I like it a lot. I felt that killing enemies was a bit difficult than it should have been - but the mechanics of the game was very enjoyable nonetheless.

I hope you make a full version, this is a well designed piece.

tobbez says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:51am

Looks like you can die and complete a level at the same time, which spawns you in the new level, but leaves you unable to move, so you have to restart the game completely. The charging of the hammer seemed to glitch a bit too.

Other than that, it's a pretty solid platformer. Nice music and graphics too.

There might some way to change up the hammer mechanic in some way, since right now it's usually easier to just avoid all enemies rather than defeating them.

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:27pm

Best tunes I've heard in this LD. Once you get used to the movement speed, the controls start to feel really solid! Had fun throwing the hammer. :)

Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:05pm

This is amazing! Top marks for music, graphics, fun, innovation, theme! Everything, really! Did you use an autotiling algorithm in a level editor first? I see your level JSON is already in its final stage.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 3:07pm

Incredible graphics and great music. Controls feel a little bit hard. Had difficulty jumping and firing forwards.

vikingpotato says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:40pm

loved it!

pkenney says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Looks like this LD has two games where you throw a hammer against a snake and then have to go pick it back up!

Nice graphics and concept, but I never got a fluid feel of using the hammer. I had to charge up in advance of a fight, and then leap to stand, then throw. I should be able to use my hammer in the flow of movement, imo. Maybe I just wasn't good enough at the game, though.

Hertz says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Great game. The game play is fantastic. I like the hammer mechanic a lot and how defines how you play.

Knighty says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:45am

Overall a very good game. Hitting enemies was difficult, so I avoided the enemies instead of killing them whenever possible.
A problem I had with the windows version: If you hold X while standing still, the charge meter gets all glitchy and you can't throw unless you press a direction. I tried the flash version but it didn't have this problem.

Inso says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:42am

Great platform game ! Well done !

Fast platform games are always so hard... or maybe that's because i'm bad xD

loxo says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Great game! I like the graphics, audio and the gameplay very much. Some more levels would have been nice.

GFM says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 8:10pm

The character moved and jumped way too fast. But that's my only complaint. Great game!

chanimeison says ...
Oct 21, 2015 @ 10:07pm

Fanttastic game!!!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]