December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Shot

by embero - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Yay, my first LD48 entry ever.

Nothing fancy just a little 'Split-Ball' game which I hacked together in 3 hours.
It uses HTML canvas rendering, so you need a pretty modern browser.

Gameplay:
- Get the right timing and then fire your shot to trigger a massive chain reaction
- The more you hit, the better your score gets
( Dead simple, isn't it? )

Video:
http://youtu.be/kLsyvxNdlfU

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#128Theme3.58
#313Fun3.16
#539Overall2.96
#746Innovation2.50
#843Graphics2.17
#1083Coolness46%

Comments

Xeke_Death says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:13am

Oh gods, no!!! Make me stop!! I CANT STOP CLICKING!!!

156 is still my highest score...

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:04am

xD Thanks :)

syawqy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:06am

I got 80!
can you make the restart/reload system built in the game without having to reload the page
or after you click and the score appear, you can start shooting for another score
that will be great

embero says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:53am

Valid point. It needs a good pile of polish.

Not sure if I can change it, because it's beyond the deadline and (maybe) against the rules to add a feature.

When I've an update version I'll leave a comment. But that new version shouldn't be rated then.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:30pm

Great game. I really like the concept. I got 116 :)

turnA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Have seen it somewhere before, but nonetheless, still quite addicting. Quite similar with my game theme even :)
Obviously need more polish, like internal reset button, some particle effect, and shaking screen.

feiss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

224. Great job!

xyrix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:58pm

I got 124. That's enough clicking for me, I think :-).

Berzee says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40am

Strangely compelling. ^_^ 132 was my best. (Reminds me of that ol' Flash game 'Boomshine', but only sort of).

(Things moved so fast that I couldn't tell for sure, but it seemed like sometimes multiple dots were located at the same position so I'd get a big boost in points from one collision).

JackBid says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:31am

Surprisingly fun considering how simple it is. A nice fun and functional game linked to the theme well.

punyhuman says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Nice. I got 232.

Raicuparta says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:13pm

Pretty cool idea, maybe a bit too fast, ends up feeling like it's almost completely luck-based.

madlee says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice and simple. I played for probably too long. I think a very soft 'pop' or 'click' noise with each collision would make it even more satisfying to see long chain reactions :) Good work!

aviktorov says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Oh my god! Can't stop, somebody help me! *click click click*

Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Hey, it's a lot like my game! (shameless: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=26369)

Except not that close. But the basic idea is similar.
Pretty nice graphics. Where's the sound though?

glovecat says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:53am

clickclickclickclickclickclickclick

rezoner says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 8:56pm

I wonder how to write AI that calculates the best shot.

lalanl says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:36am

It's addictive! It would be cool to make the play area bigger, too. :)

embero says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I started to port this prototype to libGDX and adding some nice features, like instant replay (no need to reload), music and sfx.

https://twitter.com/bigrob154/status/415969174385860608

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:20pm

i actually quite liked it.. my only possible gripe was having to click reload instead of just reclicking on the game.. good job man :)

StMatn says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Nice concept and well executed.
Unfortunately I have the feeling, that it's a bit of a luck game.
All in all nicely done :)

Static 64 says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:24am

I still don't know why, but that was very fun! I agree with others that some sound effect would be nice, but otherwise, good job! 72 was my high score.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]