December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

License to One

by udo - Jam Entry

License to One is a realtime strategy game about DRM where you get only one license per unit type, so you only have one of each. See how long you can hold out against the insidious Brotherhood of Nu!

I made this solo for Ludum Dare, with no existing code base.

For libraries I used: three.js, tween.js, jQuery, and howler.js

Tools: Text editor, Garage Band, Audacity, Blender

The game needs WebGL and a current browser. It will most likely not work on Internet Explorer or on mobile devices.

That's it! It may be a bit buggy, but I'm tired now and going to bed. I'll probably release a post-LD version and bug fixes later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#103Theme(Jam)3.33
#159Audio(Jam)3.24
#174Graphics(Jam)3.58
#216Overall(Jam)3.19
#267Humor(Jam)2.35
#338Mood(Jam)2.71
#375Fun(Jam)2.58
#380Innovation(Jam)2.54

Comments

Kroltan says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42am

Hmm, it seems the extractor is not working...
When selected, the camera goes full black and it gives no minerals.

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

@Kroltan: yeah, sorry about that. I forgot to upload the extractor model. It should work now!

Arkrothe says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:04pm

The font isn't showing properly, and I can't read anything. The game looks really interesting so how can i fix it?

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Thanks for reporting that, I've been having trouble getting fonts to work. I hope it's fixed now. Try again!

Mase says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

It seemed strange that there was no way to renew the licenses, so you can never rebuild units.

I enjoyed the models and the "ka-chung" attack sound.

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:17pm

> It seemed strange that there was no way to renew the licenses, so you can never rebuild units.

That's the point: you only get one! :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Nice work! I love the DRM interpretation of the theme. Excellent commentary.

It looks great. I've worked with HTML5/JS on previous jams and it can be difficult to be productive. You've got a full set of models, UI, and music here, not to mention finished gameplay. I love that each unit has its own visual progress indicator.

The camera control was a little strange. I wanted to be able to pan by moving the mouse to the edges of the screen like a lot of other RTS games. I did find the arrow keys, but the view kept drifting back toward the highlighted object.

The music didn't loop when it finished, but that's pretty minor.

I wanted a bit more of what's already there. Losing your workers hoses your economy, which I understand leads to an inevitable ending. If you kept going with it, I'd like to see a way of getting more workers, but maybe still having a single license for each advanced unit.

-mildmojo

Novodantis says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Neat idea. I actually scribbled down "RTS with 1 unit" as a possible idea, but crossed it off when I had no idea how that would work. But this pulls it off rather well. My main gripe would be that it felt under-paced, but that's minor given the challenge met.

udo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Hey mize, now that's what I call feedback, thank you! The camera control is ...unfinished. You can rotate and pan by holding down the left or right mouse button respectively. The post-LD version will have some refinements there.

> I wanted a bit more of what's already there.

So did I, ran out of time, so I made a "how long can you survive the onslaught" mode just to get the thing shipped in time. I want to do missions and more complex game play.

Again, I'll probably make post-LD version for people who are interested. I hope that's not frowned-upon here as long as I take care to label it accordingly?

Jexel says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Nice graphics.

kidder says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Hugely impressive - 3D art, sound effects, music, and an actual tutorial? Nice job. Balance could use some work - units are so slow that it's difficult to move them into position on time. Funny DRM commentary, too.

ovenchips says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:00am

This was cool. RTS is my favourite genre. I destroyed 10 enemy units. Is it possible to 'win'? Impressive achievement for the time.
@mize_VS_mildmojo If you find it hard to be productive with HTML5/WebGL, check out PlayCanvas (I used it for my game). It essentially like Google Docs for making WebGL games.

udo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:21am

@ovenchips: I ran out of time to make actual content. I wanted to make little missions and a mini story - and the code has the infrastructure in place for that - but then time was up and I needed to upload something that people could play. "last man standing" was sort of the easiest mode improvise, as it took just a few minutes. I want to make a post-LD version that has actual missions you can win.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:44am

@udo: Yeah, you can just host it separately and use another slot in your submission with a label like "post-compo version" so people don't use it for ratings.

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:19am

The use of the theme is really interesting on the gameplay side and on the story side. The modeling of units is nice.
I wasn't able to find a suitable strategy to licence the decoy, I always loose the turret before reaching the 15.

daredevildave says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:26am

Love the music. Great graphics. Nice game

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:09pm

I'm not sure the 3d perspective added much, it was a little hard to see where things were and what was going on.

The music is really good, though the sound effects get a little repetitive.

Overall great job for a solo effort.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:25pm

nice

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:29am

kewl

Inso says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:49pm

The page is not loading ?

dray says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:01pm

the link seem broken :/

udo says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:41pm

@Inso
@dray

Yeah, sorry. It seems my domain expired and I forgot to renew it. The link's updated now, it should work

lightsoda says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 2:51am

Dang, a pretty solid RTS you've got here.

I liked the little remarks at the end of dialogs about DRM. Graphics, sound and music was quite good.

I'm not sure about the gameplay, and how you'd extend it, right now it seems like you're in for your inevitable end, as you can't rebuild anything, and moving the turret is just slow enough that you'll end up losing a unit if you're too far away.

Overall, very nice.

Jgpicatoste says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 10:50am

Needs polishing, but the idea is really cool. It's not an easy game to make in 48/72 hours, yet you managed to create something really spectacular on its own. Finish, tweak and expand and I would play the final result for sure.

van noctar says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Cool graphics and sounds!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]