December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Snowballs Chance

by Arowx - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Smiths are away for a weeks holiday in the Sun but their prized family of gnomes need your help to survive more than just the freezing British winter.

Can you keep Bert, Irene and little Jack and Jill alive!

Turn Based Strategy mainly mouse based.

Left click on a gnome to select then select a direction to move or option from the bottom panel.

Snow Block building is a two step process, you build the block then select a direction to drop it there.

Move the mouse to the edge of the screen or cursor/WASD to scroll view and mouse wheel to zoom in and out.

In relation to the theme the gnomes only have 1 hit point!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#84Graphics3.96
#620Innovation2.73
#737Audio1.68
#773Mood2.35
#872Fun2.27
#881Overall2.48
#909Theme2.00
#998Coolness48%

Comments

Doubstract says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

i really liked graphics

Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:12pm

Needs some explanation on how to play, it's easy to loose interest even against the wonderful graphics. I also couldn't get the connection to the theme.

Arowx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

The gnomes only have 1 hit point and if you lose one it's game over. You have to save them all.

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Well done graphics and interesting idea. The map is a little too big to keep my interest. I'm also not sure what everything did, like the mushrooms or the mush command. Regardless the game has potential, good job!

DrPrettyPatty says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Looks good! Unfortunately it runs too slowly for me (dual-core laptop 2GHZ, onboard graphics, 3GB ram) to be able to really play it.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Awesome graphics ! Actually a bit laggy when you scroll. It take a lot of time before really play ! Turns are a bit too long for my taste. I don't know if it's a bug, but when I chose to build a snow block, I couldn't do anything else the next turn. It keeps building snowblocks every turns :(

Arowx says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:24pm

The block building is a two step process, you build the block then select a direction to drop the block.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice graphics, sometimes it seems like the block get stuck on a character even after multiple turns. It seems a bit overpowered to be able to hit enemies all over the map directly and the was a bit slow for my taste.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Good graphics! The gameplay is hard to understand, but the ambience is here!

Ekilibr says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Great graphics, congratz !

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:46pm

Good graphics and it really has a Christmas-y mood to it. I was not exactly sure what to do in order to keep the gnomes safe though. Your game is very ambitious and has potential, but it needs some more detailed instructions and possibly a tutorial.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:48pm

The controls are very difficult to handle. When player have to choose a direction dont show a target, show the line starting from the character. Sometime the target was sticking to my cursor after I finished the action.
I also had problem building blocks. the block was most of the time stuck on the character and moving with him.

Arowx says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Thanks for all the great feedback I am going to start working on a new version with improvements. Cheers. :)

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 2:03am

oh well

Arowx says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 5:03pm

DON'T STOP providing your views and impressions, suggestions and thoughts!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]