December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Rescue

by fantasywiz54 - Jam Entry

Description:
LD 28 Jam Entry.

You are a robot who has just gained sentience and the scientists are trying to keep you locked up to study you. Get out of the research facility and rescue as many of your fellow robots all you can!


Controls:
A, S / left right arrows – to move
Space bar, W, up arrow – to jump
left ctrl, left mouse button – to scan
left alt, right mouse button – to drop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#312Innovation(Jam)2.74
#376Mood(Jam)2.60
#410Overall(Jam)2.74
#410Fun(Jam)2.48
#461Graphics(Jam)2.43
#484Theme(Jam)2.09
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:28pm

This is a really nice little game, smooth platforming. Shame there's no audio but other than that nice work. :)

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 1:15pm

The robot look like a VHS tape :) It's funny ! :D Some bugs with jump...

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Liked the platforming controls feel, liked the concept behind scanning other robots to collect their accessories ... some goal would have tied it together so I knew what I was supposed to be doing a bit more. Not bad!

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 8:25am

Really cool idea. Tight controls

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I had a lot of fun playing the game. Good Job!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 3:25pm

The "robot" looks like old audio tapes ;)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 4:35pm

Too bad there's no sound but I really liked the scanning mechanic.

crockid5 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Jumping was nice and smooth but the choppiness of the collision detection made the game unplayable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]