December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Spectral Sword

by kratorspore - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Spectral Sword, you *only get one chance* to hit an enemy. If you miss or use the incorrect phase colors you will die.
The aim of the game is to get to the exit (a glowing blue-white particle thing) while collecting coins and killing evil knights to increase your score.

Use the WASD keys to move forwards, left, back and right. Q and E turn you left and right.
To kill a knight you have to cast the correct spectral phases on your sword:

There are 3 phases and each phase can be a different color. Click a color chip under a phase name to charge the phase with that color.
Phases take a little time to charge. Make sure all phases you want to use are fully changed before you attack.

* Phase 1 color should be the same as the color of the Knight's body.
* Phase 2 color should be the same as the color of the Knight's shield if it has one.
* Phase 3 color should be the same color as the aura/glow surrounding the Knight if it has one.

You have to be right next to the Knight to hit it.
If the knight doesn't not have a shield or an aura, you don't have to set the phase 2 and 3 powers.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#46Innovation3.86
#77Overall3.71
#146Mood3.39
#163Fun3.41
#194Graphics3.62
#221Theme3.39
#381Audio2.75
#629Humor1.95
#1231Coolness42%

Comments

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

The dungeon is very cool, amazing given time constraints! Gameplay is a little awkward, still a good entry!

alvarop says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:12pm

It's a cool idea and I love this type of game but it was hard to figure out how to beat the enemies.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:24pm

It took a while to understand exactly how the game worked, but I liked it! Very reminiscent of old dungeon crawlers!

Fadobo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Really cool game. Looks gorgeous. Unfortunately I am color blind so I die all the time because I confuse yellow and the other yellow ;)

Kemoiz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Well, I've been trying many times to realise how to play, but finally I understood c: So, the gameplay is very brave, but at all is really good. And I fell in love with that graphics, but I can't explain why exactly ;_;

Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:49pm

I liked, it bought back a nice memory of old dungeon crawler games like Wizardry.

The only downside, in my opinion as the audio.

The only issue I could see was with the graphics, the coins look stretched from afar they look stretched from a far... I'm not sure if that's just the animation though.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

Very interesting concept, very hard to get used to it gameplay wise. But once you know how it works the fun starts to rise. A well made game it is! job well done!

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Dungeon is great, the UI was confusing... for me!

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I had really hard time defeating the enemies. :P All the time it took for me to look at their shields and armors, I was already getting killed. :D
Decided to donate a few dollars to support you, I really admire people who can make these kind of dungeon crawlers.

01rafael says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Like a waxworks!! Cool, but too hard!

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:20pm

The art is very cool, it reminds me of the good old C64 times, but it might have helped to also be able to use the mouse to turn the camera. Also it took a while to figure out how to kill the enemies; an instruction screen at the start might have helped there. Yes, I know, it was in the text, but if there is the Unity webplayer above it, you tend to not read it because you think you know how to play games by now :)

kratorspore says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:10am

Thanks for the comments everyone! @Hypnohustla Thanks so much! I'm trying to make games for a living so every bit helps!

abeing says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:34am

very good and polished looking game with unique ideas. but I never landet a correct hit => way too hard for me.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:54am

Defeating enemies is difficult, but the game still looks amazing!

porglezomp says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:10am

That was very fun! I haven't really played the classic dungeon crawlers, but it reminds me of Legend of Grimrock, so you're doing it right.
That said, it is quite frustrating to get your attack all lined up right a long way into the dungeon and then attack when the enemy is one tile too far away and lose all your progress. I think it'd be a more fair punishment for _missing_ to just lose all your charge and have to run away to recharge again.

Dooleus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:32am

Nice art and cool gameplay mechanic - would be nice to have the instructions in the game rather than on the page, as having the game start and immediately dying due to not knowing what to do was a little frustrating. Might want to list the movement controls on the page (unless they are already there and I just missed them) as I didn't figure out how to move at first, either.

huhwhozat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:35am

Very cool idea! It's quite a frantic game and I'm probably going to come back to it. I really like the charging mechanic, but it felt too long among hordes of enemies with nowhere to retreat. The ability to look around easier would be very helpful, or to see to your left and right a little. Enemies can sneak up on you with zero warning. Even some directional audio cue when enemies approach would help with this. I'd really like to play this game with full mouselook and freedom of movement (for enemies too)! Nice procedural generation (or what seems to be that) aw well, though some balancing is necessary. It shouldn't be too hard to start you in a room with no enemies. I'd also like to start with my back against a wall so I can get my bearings before things start stabbing me XD. This could also work well as a turn-based system, where you have a limited # of actions before enemies move. The them tie-in was a bit dubious to my sensibilities though.

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:10am

The game starts a bit suddenly and I was dead the first few times before I could read the rules or understand the controls. A title screen or even a tutorial level would have been nice.

Dramentiaras says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:44am

I love it, but I think it was too easy. I think you should've made it so you can only charge one phase at a time, or not being able to move when charging a phase.

Sertkaya says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Its realy cool dungeon brawler for this theme

fizzhog says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:26pm

Very nice. Fun once you start to get the hang of it. Definitely one I'll come back to. Bit much when the first room has too many enemies.

Warzone says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:51pm

I really liked the idea of the game. The dungeon was really cool. Good job.

Xavier says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:59pm

Pretty nice graphics. After playing three times I feel a bit frustrated because the "e" key to turn around the player's point of view. Perhaps, instead of a turn-based, it would be better a free movement approach... for me :)

Zenkerdus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Good work! Cool gameplay and graphics! Doesn't feel perfect, but cannot put my finger on it. One of my favorites this LD so far.

Jiggawatt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I like games like this that question the basic tropes of game design. This one essentially swaps hit points for a more unique and engaging way to measure damage. It seems to even produce some interesting gameplay despite being simple, and the flashback to dungeon crawlers is appreciated.

Gets my seal of "please develop this further".

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Wow, you actually managed to make me nostalgic for games like lands of lore, or eye of the beholder. Maybe the idea of having a 3D first person tile-based game is not as outdated as I may have thought. It'd be interesting to see someone explore this farther.

rincewind_cz says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:56pm

Nice dungeon but too repetitive after while in my opinion.. Scored 2600 :-)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]