About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 8 days, 20 hours, 40 minutes, 24 seconds
  • October Ends: in 9 days, 20 hours, 52 minutes, 24 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 44 days, 21 hours, 40 minutes, 24 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 28

    December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

    [ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

    Back to Browse Entries

    PUSH - Patacorow - Jam Entry

    Reach the idol by pushing rocks! The twist - you can only push one rock. Become the master pusher!

    Warning: Game is hard. You will most likely hate it.

    Controls:
    Arrow keys - Move
    Space/R - Restart
    Escape - Exit

    View Patacorow's journal. | View all entries by Patacorow

    Ratings

    Coolness100%
    #5Fun(Jam)4.16
    #7Overall(Jam)4.17
    #22Theme(Jam)3.91
    #26Audio(Jam)3.87
    #68Innovation(Jam)3.48
    #81Mood(Jam)3.55
    #96Humor(Jam)3.20
    #122Graphics(Jam)3.86

    Comments

    ekun says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:23pm

    Hey, fun game!

    I loved the small details you put in, and the animations felt spot on.

    I played up until level 17, couldn't figure out how to save the top guy.

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:36pm

    Thanks! We'll make a walkthrough tomorrow, we know the game is hard) :)

    Xaychru04 says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:49pm

    The gameplay mechanics are clever, and the levels are well designed, really challenging game! I clearly had fun playing that, good job! :)

    Jeremias says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:54pm

    I really enjoyed your game, it was fun to play through all the levels (19 was the hardest in my opinion, nice ending :D). The visual style and the sound effects fit very well, the music is great. The gameplay twist with controlling two figures was surprising and the amount of content is just right for a Ludum Dare game. I have nothing to criticize. Perhaps you can make a post-compo version with more statues and iterate over the graphics for more diversity.

    jimmypaulin says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:05pm

    Superb work! Absolutely love the art work, and the game feels so solid with crisp controls and wonderful sounds and music to tie it all together. Really nice puzzling - a great achievement in the time available. Liked the touch re selecting menu items in-engine. Would have preferred no anti-aliasing on the upscale to preserve crispness

    mactinite says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:07pm

    This was a very fun little game. Played up to the end. Reminded me of the block pushing puzzles in the older pokemon titles. Good fun though.

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15pm

    Ok, walkthrough is up guys! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShTcDfKU7vE
    Thanks for the lovely comments so far!

    David Colson says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:13am

    Really good level design, and a cool unique idea!

    Moist says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:17am

    Abolutely amazing. A simple concept brilliantly executed. I don't usually fall for logic games but this one is an exception. Good work!

    kyyrma says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:19am

    Far from hating it! This entry is one of the best I've played so far (and I've played a lot of great games this LD...) The pixel graphics are neat and well animated, and the music fits the game perfectly. The whole thing has got this great cheeky atmosphere going on. I think the puzzles require just the right amount of thinking, not too easy, but not too hard either. Figuring out a level feels great, like it should in a good puzzler.

    mutilator says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:31pm

    It's nice to have a challenging game, too many are too easy now.

    Ekilibr says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:50pm

    Nice entry ! The game is hard, but I enjoyed it pretty much :)
    Good job to the team !

    YellowLime says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

    Catchy music, cool mechanics, slick particle effects and cute animations (I love every time the idol falls down the hole :y)

    Very good game overall!

    PaperBlurt says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:10pm

    It's like a Sisyphus game!

    BitDemon says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:11pm

    Very fun and challenging game, the concept is great. The graphics are great too.

    severus says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14pm

    I love that game! So far the best on this LD.

    Pixlexia says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:15pm

    Wow, I really enjoyed this game! It sure is hard, but I absolutely loved it. The puzzles just have the right amount of difficulty, and that A-ha! moment is really satisfying.

    Best use of YOGO among the games I have played. Reminds me of HM08. :P Definitely my favorite entry so far. Keep it up!

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:24pm

    Really well done. The sprites were pretty, the music was good and the puzzle design was absolutely fantastic!

    headchant says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:34pm

    Amazing gane. I just had to play this until the end. The music stopped looping, but it also was really nice!

    Strangelander says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:40pm

    Absolutely perfect. Level design is outstanding, not a bad one in the bunch. Extremely polished. Bravo.

    Kayelgee says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

    Really fun game :)
    At first I got stuck on level 7 but I managed to finish the game :D
    The puzzles are really nice and you made very good use of your one push mechanic. I'm pretty impressed.

    Venks says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:51pm

    I love pushing puzzle games. Played a lot of them back in the NES/Super Master System days. We need more games like this. Thanks for this addition!

    TFJO says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

    This one would have been really good even as a free download made with no time limit. As a 3 day jam entry, it's mind-blowing! :D
    (Well, to me)
    Also, made it through without the walkthrough, ha! :D

    Nikteddy92 says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

    I love this game. It's EPIC.
    The Graphic is really nice, the music awesome and the gameplay really trick. It's a bit too difficult, but I love hard challenges! :D
    Really a good work!!!

    (Softwares?)

    Fenixin says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:23pm

    Really nice game!

    It's very good overall!

    eli says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:31pm

    Heyyyyy Lonebot ... this is fantastic!!!

    Everything clicks and feels great. Such attention to detail. It has a real Spelunky feel, down to the "in-game" menu.

    I am still stuck on level 12, I'll come back to it soon. But high high marks for such a well-rounded and clever game.

    Halfire says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:51pm

    VERY fun! Got to level 19 and got stuck, graphics are fantastic, and the music is great :)

    kalth.streil says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:55pm

    Great game! I played until 19 (80 retries :<). Nice graphics and mechanics. Really fun! :D

    TobiasNL says ...
    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:11pm

    Wow, good stuff man! Clever game.. Good puzzles. I also liked the animations and the music. The soundtrack had a 8 bit feel to it, while being modern. Funky entry! Rating's up

    Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:23pm

    Amazing game ! Great ending :P Took me more than 30 minutes but worth it, awesome game !

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:53pm

    Thanks everyone! ♥

    Tanser says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:12pm

    Simple concept. Nice game. :)

    Daniel Debert says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:19pm

    I think it will win the compo. Or at least be in top 10.

    acerunox says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:37pm

    This game is AWESOME! Audio is great, music is great, puzzles are great. Everything is great. :)

    sadiquo says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:42pm

    I love it, just enough difficult ;)

    Jhelle says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:43pm

    Lured in by the pretty sprites on the screenshot I actually tried this downloadable game. The has a good presentation and nice puzzles I enjoyed this entry very much. Good job guys!

    AtomicVikings says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:49pm

    Great game! nice interactive menu. I like how the difficulty starts to rise when you advance in the levels :)

    Norgg says ...
    Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:23pm

    Nice! I didn't find it *that* hard though so the warning felt a bit misleading. Well thought out levels, good pacing and nice music track.

    ENDESGA says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:03am

    Game is difficult enough that it's addictive and very fun!
    I love it! Very nice!

    Jiggawatt says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:58pm

    This was tricky but rewarding. Great ideas throughout the levels, it never seemed to get boring despite having a lot of content. Definitely had fun.

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:22pm

    Okay this was ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT. Simply one of the best puzzle games out there this LD. The puzzles are insanely intricate-they look unsolvable for a long time, and then you see it. This is exactly what I look for in a puzzle game. And the take on the theme was perfect. And the ending, oh man that was hilarious. The music and sfx blended in flawlessly. Very, very nicely executed. I loved it more than I can say.

    Diptoman says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:29pm

    And oh, the menu was awesome xD

    Korwegian says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:22pm

    I danced too much

    DustyStylus says ...
    Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:54pm

    Fiendishly difficult (in the best possible sense). Great level design, funky music and great pixel graphics. I think we have a Jam winner. :D

    Brodenino says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:09am

    One of the more polished games I have played so far. Good job :). I like how you managed to do pretty much content and tricky puzzles in a such short time span. Graphics and music were cool too!

    tobbez says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:16am

    A solid puzzle game. All mechanics introduced are really explored although I wish for some more challanging levels.

    javifugitivo says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:06pm

    Very fun game, with interesting puzzles and simple and lovely graphics! Good job!

    Sanguine says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:01pm

    Clever puzzles, the difficulty curve was a bit steep though!

    euske says ...
    Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:15pm

    It was really fun 40 minutes. Thanks guys!

    zkenshin says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:01am

    This was fantastic, great job!

    TomboFry says ...
    Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:30pm

    Argh, it took soo long, but it was definitely worth it. One of the best games I've played so far this LD! Just needs more levels now ;)

    van noctar says ...
    Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:18am

    Cool and fun!! At first time, seem to mario sokoban! But the gameplay is very different!

    lekochen says ...
    Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:30am

    Great game! It's well polished, but not too hard though. Finished game with about 20 retries.

    kirbytails7 says ...
    Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:26am

    Got to 19 and then was stumped. Very well designed!

    BradleySmith says ...
    Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:16am

    Awesome pixel art & dust animations. Loving the amount of levels in this, well done!

    Techblogogy says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

    Good old push your way out puzzle game. Good game!

    Tex Killer says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

    Oh man, your game is nice! Very good job!

    H-Bomb says ...
    Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:45pm

    Best entry I've played so far.
    No amazing graphics, but those two sprites animations work incredibly well, and the dust FX add a lot to the experience.
    The music was excellent (I'll have it in mind for the next two days) and the sound design was just great.
    As for the core mechanic and the theme interpretation, at first I was like "hmmm... you only get one push? Meh, the puzzle will be awfully simplistic" and then I struggled to beat the 20 levels and had to restart a hundred times! I was wondering how you could polish such level design in only three days! Congrats!
    The select screen and the ending add a lot too, I loved it!

    GFM says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

    Amazing game! Now, this is polish!! The menu, by itself, was already interesting!

    It was way easier than I had imagined after reading your postmortem and the game's description... still, it wasn't easy. And I'm not even that into puzzles! (normally... XD)
    I think that the difficulty grow nicely and every level was well designed.

    Good job! :D

    Patacorow says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

    Wow, thanks so much everyone. These comments are lovely!

    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:32am

    Great concept! :D
    Would make a great iPad game!

    JohnnySix says ...
    Dec 30, 2013 @ 11:06pm

    Maaan, stuck so hard on level 10. Now I can't sleep. Love the puzzle design and the graphics/theme. The poor chap is down on his luck, each time he closes on the idol it drops through the floor. :D

    SnoringFrog says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 8:01am

    Loved the music, and loved that all the menus/credit screen and everything played just like the game.

    Some of those levels were surprisingly tricky! I did manage to beat all 20 though. Looked great and was fun to play.

    Jan 2, 2014 @ 3:13pm

    At first I was thinking "Sokoban with 1 push - nice!", but then I saw the shooting mechanics and the two characters which made it even better! The menu was fun too. Good job!

    oxysoft says ...
    Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:00pm

    Fun game, last level was hard as fuck

    You must sign in to comment.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]