December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

A realistic depiction of the modern educational society, Part I

by Citiral - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wasn't able to participate in this Ludum Dare because I am in the middle of my exams. I did however manage to spare an hour and I created this. It is an accurate and realistic depiction of the modern educational society. (seriously!)

Remember, you only get one chance of passing your exams!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#32Theme3.96
#41Humor3.80
#258Mood3.14
#421Audio2.67
#464Innovation2.96
#577Overall2.92
#795Fun2.40
#934Graphics1.91

Comments

mrjordan says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 5:43am

Brilliant! 8/20...

Citiral says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:50pm

That's good enough to pass if your average is high enough!

yugillaume says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 10:51pm

so you really had just one chance...

Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:37am

my game i called one chance how ironic :P (The choice based one)

Jakub Koziol says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:41am

Oh... 6/20, so that's why I dropped out...

ThatGuy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:15am

Well that was brutal, and only one chance at the pain.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:20am

Powerful. Great, concise execution.

ncannasse says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:52am

Fits the theme quite well :)

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Depressing, but brilliant idea !

ricklesauceur says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 12:59pm

This is brilliant !

But i fail as everyone.

Citiral says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Haha, thank you everyone, for the comments (and complementary votes)! I didn't think this game would receive as well as it is doing!

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Aww man this is fun. Good usage of the theme. Made me feel like I'm in school. Failing all tests.

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Goddammit... I wasn't ready! Just like real life :c

Perfect use of the theme *****

lorniebear says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:02pm

You only get one.... chance to play?
I understand your pain... I was looking forward to ludum dare, my first chance to enter, but I got struck with 2 essays, over 50 new language words to learn, and a dance routine to practice.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Harsh! I guess I'd better try my chances in the job market because I totally failed my exams.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:38am

Damn, 6/20. I must study harder :v

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:12am

I like how you rally have just one signel change

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Five stars for theme and innovation. As many others said, giving just one chance was a really good decision. I'm gonna follow the game's advice and go back to my videogames now :)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Loved this game, so true. I included it in part 10 of my Ludum Dare Compilation video series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/iZspNc9Kmjk

Lyonsbanner says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Yeah ! 10/20

Dec 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Very lightweight, but the music is excellent.

Also, I'm annoyed now. I want to go back and try again!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]