December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hard Point

by LTyrosine - Jam Entry

You control a tank. Your mission is to destroy the 3 super machines on each island (the battleship, the helicopter and the fortress).

Each destroyed enemy leaves a power-up that can be installed on the single tank's hard point [ one at a time - you get only one ;) ]. You must choose the right time and place to use each device in order to complete your mission.

Good luck (you will need, believe me).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#208Fun(Jam)3.03
#266Overall(Jam)3.10
#274Graphics(Jam)3.19
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#313Mood(Jam)2.78
#366Innovation(Jam)2.61
#378Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Nice idea, but without any aid (even a crosshair!) it's virtually impossible to actually hit anything.

Joror says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:56pm

Interesting concept, but too hard a learning curve - UI for aiming is required - and sound. A tank should go booom when firing. :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:37pm

not even boom if fire,.... wroooom when the tank is moving ^^ Like the idea... It a kind of ruguelike if there is no UI to calculate a range to fire at :D But I played a for a while... But you need sound a a UI if you are going to polish :D

Dec 21, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Cool idea ! A little hard to learn but overall its nice :)

samooJAM says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 5:30pm

Great challenge. Pretty good AI. I wonder how you didn't have time to add audio though. Good job!

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:33am

Woooow! This is probably the best Jam game, that I played! ;-)

bitserum says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 12:02pm

Its a hard game. Its fun if you give it time.
Good job for such a short time.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:04pm

The aiming is pretty hard and I wish there was some sound but this is a nice game.

LordHellMaX says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nicely done, interesting graphics. As others have said, UI and sound would have helped a lot.

TobiasNL says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 5:00pm

The aiming was indeed hard. Loved the graphics from the sea though! Game looked pretty good overall.

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 6:11pm

i love this game.. makes so much fun :) great job!

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Really neat game here, shame there's no audio but other than that awesome work! :D

ParaPup says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Tough start but the learning curve was sweet great game.

tompudding says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Very very impressive. Got the weight of the tank down just right, felt very meaty. Hard to hit, but satisfying when you do!

Und[0]ne Devs says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Hard to game

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:46am

I like having no UI for aiming, but everything seems too far away to hit.

Moosefly says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 3:57pm

Hitting enemies was hard but satisfying! I wish there was audio.. Still it was a fun and enjoyable game!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]