December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Bullet

by GingerMess - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Bullet. Where the real assassins are separated from the amateurs through nerve-wracking missions.

The goal of Bullet is to complete all the contracts and rise to the highest rank of assassin. Before each contract you are given the profile of your target in the form of a description.

Memorise it well.

In the mission you have a scope, which is quite simply point and click. Shoot the right person and you'll progress. Shoot the wrong person and your career ends. The catch?

You have 1 bullet per contract. Make it count!

Notes:
-This game does have a situation where there is (very badly drawn) blood and gore, so please be aware of this if you have kids or sensitive folk watching.
-This is untested on Linux and Mac but as long as you have a flavour of Java 7 hanging around, it should work just fine. If you would like a distribution please just ask and I'll see what I can sort!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#313Theme3.20
#474Humor2.29
#515Fun2.84
#571Innovation2.80
#603Overall2.88
#640Audio2.17
#650Mood2.55
#755Graphics2.40

Comments

rincewind_cz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:53pm

Interesting kind of the game for this theme. Really like the aiming effect ;)

Venks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:26pm

This reminds me a lot of the picture game in Game and Wario for the Wii U. Very awesome stuff.

X-0r says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:43pm

My targets seem to like hats a lot. Maybe there's a connection... <:[

GingerMess says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:56pm

I apologise for the excessive hat slaughter X-Or. :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

I found the zoom on the scope made it really hard to get a better look at specific people. But a good execution on a good application of the theme overall.

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Really fun game for such a simple idea. My main gripe with it is the graphics which is specifically a poor limitation due to the games necessity for visual cues. Still, I enjoyed it and would love to see it developed further.

y2bd says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:57am

Neat idea! I know it's definitely too much to ask for, but I think this type of game would be really cool as a multiplayer game of sorts, kinda like a version of "I Spy", but with shooting people in the head.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:17pm

simple & fun, i like the concept. Good work D:

GingerMess says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:05pm

y2bd: you're not the only one to suggest that actually!

MrBlade says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Awesome game. Good graphics, nice sounds. Would have liked a bigger scope / less magnification on the scope. Keep up the good work!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:35pm

This is a fun game. I like that memorization is being used as a mechanic. really well polished game for the time given. Good luck!

Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:48pm

Cool game ! Really nice, practice memorization I love it ! I made it to career rank Professional :D Excellent concept ;)

rnlf says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:51pm

I find it a bit difficult, but fun to play.

Zephyr Raine says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Cool game. =)
A little succinct in the appearance of NPC but right in the theme and well animated.

doitle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Is there something I'm missing to the clues? I keep shooting the wrong people despite them meeting all the requirements.

thatwhichis says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Hitting the correct target was... disturbingly satisfying....

Uh, good job?! lol ;-)

MRvanderPants says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:41am

I really liked the screens in between the levels. The text was really smooth.

GingerMess says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Thanks for the comments everyone.

doitle: the target generation is 100% random and I select a target at random, so there are times when it's literally a gamble as to the right target. If I had more time I would've ensured the target is unique. Ta for the feedback though, I was anticipating this being mentioned.

tompudding says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:52am

They told me that my colour blindness would be an obstacle to my career as a hitman, and they were right. I am a menace! Great idea, loved the scope zoom, very innovative.

Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:40pm

It's fairly difficult to get the correct guy but it was fun, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]