December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Midnight Memories

by chameco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A puzzle game, somewhat similar to breakout, with tons (4!) cool weapons, spaaaaace, and a zippy little spaceship. One caveat: You Only Get One Direction.

To run, just download the appropriate file for your platform, extract it, and run the midnight_memories executable that's inside the folder. Not exactly complicated.

CONTROLS
--------
A/D - Rotate weapons bay clockwise/counterclockwise.
Space - Move upward (the only direction you get :P).
Arrow Keys - Shoot
X - Teleport back to start position (use it wisely).

The goal is to survive for as many waves as possible, before your British boy-band crew faints from lack of oxygen. To do this, you need to defeat the alien menace blocking your path. There are five types of aliens:

1) White - Normal, run-of-the-mill baddie. Shoot them.
2) Green - Can only be damaged by green shots. (Consequently, they are the only thing green shots do ANY damage to).
3) Red - Through their fiery hatred of humanity, they can burn off excess oxygen. Hitting them with a green shot reduces your remaining time by 100.
4) Blue - These tanky bastards are extremely difficult to kill. Dodongo dislikes smoke.
5) Yellow - Refract lasers into green shots.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#384Innovation3.06
#628Audio2.21
#633Theme2.62
#668Humor1.87
#760Graphics2.38
#815Overall2.59
#848Mood2.19
#936Fun2.06

Comments

dooglz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Crashes on startup. Win 8.1 x64, intel iris 3100.

Verrazano says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:13am

It was a bit confusing at first, because I didn't understand how some of the blocks worked I just thought you had to match the colors at first. But once I figured it out it was pretty interesting. Love the music!

chameco says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:14am

Wow, thanks for the music praise. I figured that that was my worst asset, given that it's a 7 second loop that I made in 15 minutes using SunVox. I'll probably add a tutorial mode for a post-compo release, since I quite like the concept.

chameco says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

It works on Windows 100% of the time now! That took long enough...

jprogman says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:32am

Very unique game. I couldn't get passed the first round after a while because the difficulty is pretty high.

henrykun says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 4:46pm

Unique concept, a bit difficult I think but interesting.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 7:29pm

I like nice fonts and Breakout is one of my all time favorites.
So this ranks high for me!

Harsay says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Difficult

Phyyl says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:10am

Really hard to understand the controls and I couldn't move in certain directions... I was running it on Windows 8.1 x64. Nice audio!

chameco says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:24am

That's sort of the point. You can only move forward.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 12:37am

Playing on Windows 7 - The game flickered in fullscreen, and I'm not sure if there's a way to make it windowed. I've had this problem with other games, but I figured I'd see if there's a way to make it windowed.

Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:11am

It's a neat idea. I found it too complicated to play but I can see the appeal. Sound was crazy annoying. Good adherence to the theme.

Espyo says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:55pm

The game leaves you with this feeling of trance... It's complicated but linear at the same time, but once you kinda figure out a way to do stuff, you don't stop until you complete one wave, at least.
It IS a bit hard to get into, though, and I saw myself using the yellow and green lasers more often than I stopped to think about what would be more effective against what.
Final thoughts: I feel like it could've matched the theme more than it did... Also, pressing Escape to quit would be nice.

s73ph4n says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Nice concept and mood created.

01rafael says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Nice concept.
But, controls are terrible)

stvr says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Super confusing, shots seem completely ineffective, and I'm not sure what the point was.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]