December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Kill Only One

by Arkazon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pretty straightforward game this time around - aim for a high score by killing one enemy per level, kill any more than that and you'll lose points.

Keyboard controls:
- WASD/Arrow keys : Move
- Mouse : Aim
- Left mouse button : Shoot

Gamepad controls (tested using xbox 360 pad):
- Left stick : Move
- Right stick : Aim/Shoot

Made with ...
- Unity
- MonoDevelop
- Beer
- Vim
- Paint.NET
- Autotracker.py
- Wine

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#183Audio3.16
#192Theme3.46
#370Fun3.04
#517Innovation2.89
#570Overall2.93
#653Humor1.91
#822Graphics2.21
#828Mood2.24
#1041Coolness47%

Comments

Croze says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:15am

Feels really slow paced since you can only kill one but it's still pretty fun, and a good idea.

ParaPup says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:31am

I had so much fun in this. Great work.

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

like this a bunch :) easy to play, fun little tutorial bit, nice mechanic

Raphy says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:10am

Hey that's nice, It relaxed me on this monday morning, thanks !

JackBid says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:10pm

I nice idea and I found it quite addicting as well! Good job.

GravityScore says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:40pm

Like the music! The font is a bit off putting and unreadable.

occash says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:47pm

I Like it! thank you

grifdail says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:03pm

Funny game ! There is many thing to say:
The music is realy cool.
I love how every thing from the start screen to the game overscreen is part of the game.
The game is minimalistic yet realy fun !
I did'nt understand the scoring systeme.
Movement were a bit blocky. It feel weird.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:09pm

Nice little game. Not sure if the grid is useful though

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I like the concept of the game and it ran smooth for me on Chrome with no issues. Being able to knock ships away made it a bit easy to avoid killing more than one, as did it taking multiple shots to get a kill. A wider shot or closer formations with piercing shots could make the player have to worry more about only getting one kill.

Mnemusyne says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Unique use of the theme, fun to play.

Arkazon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Thanks for the feedback everyone.

GravityScore - Yeah I wasn't 100% convinced by the font myself but I wanted something a bit more interesting than Arial!
grifdail - Killing 1 enemy gets you 100 points and opens the spiral exit thing, killing further enemies before going through the spiral loses you 100 points per enemy so you're trying to kill 1 enemy each time before going through the spiral.
Masadow - The grid is there just so you can see a bit of movement, with a plain background movement felt a bit odd when there weren't any enemies in sight since nothing was changing on screen.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Really nice concept, didnt understand the grid. Love the hand made graphics, also liked banging the ships away. I never was able to beat the first level however... I included it in my Ludum Dare 28 video compilation series, if you'd like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/sSLhI-W0qCg

DanielSnd says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:48am

Addictive and fun, nice job!

SnoringFrog says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:31am

The game got difficult for me surprisingly quickly (not that that's a bad thing). I managed to get a max score of 900 points on my best run. I liked that there were multiple music tracks, and overall it was a pretty fun game.

moop says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Nice concept. Getting to the exit after killing just one enemy on the later levels lead to a nice bit of bullet hell. Great music too.

d__adee says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 12:30pm

I like it! It was really quite addicting. The varying music is pretty good to! I like "On the Brother's Shield"! Have to prolong the stage if it gets played xD

Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]