December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Science Ship Cleomedes

by KunoNoOni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I honestly wanted to make a shooter this time around and instead I created an avoider.

I did my best to balance the stages so they are difficult yet not impossible to complete and there is a story to boot!

I hope you all enjoy it. Up/Down Arrows to move Space for either Shield or Weapon.

If you leave feedback let me know which you preferred, Shield or Weapon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#274Theme3.28
#342Audio2.81
#480Humor2.28
#495Mood2.76
#507Fun2.85
#557Graphics2.81
#603Overall2.88
#854Innovation2.28

Comments

Aske says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Nice game. Very hard. I didn't finish it because I need to go to bed, but i shall try another day :D

mtrc says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:02am

Good fun! I think I marginally preferred the shield because in theory it can take more asteroids out? But yeah - lovely graphics, really liked it.

@TeddyNashor says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:05am

Woh, super hard, couldn't get past stage 1. lol the voice that says "weapon charging" made me laugh. maybe make it a bit easier, especially to get past lvl 1. good job! :)

Mocuto says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:58am

Nice graphics and music, but I didn't really get to see much of the game because I couldn't even get past the first level. I would expect the difficulty experienced in the first stage to be reserved for the very last stage in the whole game -if that. This game would probably be a lot of fun if it weren't so unreasonably hard to play.

whiteknife says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 1:14am

Fun game, nice combo of music and graphics. Difficult, but interesting!

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

I like the you only get one option here (for the record, I liked the shield). I would like to have a count down timer for when the item recharges, but I loved the sound effect for it.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:28am

Addictive. Difficult. A deadly combination.

I'll admit I played as much for the story as the gameplay. XD

Zerot says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:54pm

The weapon recharge could a visual representation, but otherwise a nice simple game

BitDemon says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:18am

Very hard but I found it fun.

acp_ld says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:30am

I liked the music, some sort of "hull damage" health bar would help the game immensely

pkenney says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 4:34am

Real tough, but should have been possible for me to survive, so it's challenging but fair.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Hardcore! I really like avoider games, although this was a little tough. I tended to prefer the weapon, as you could forge a path further ahead (as long as you don't miss). Nice touch on the voices

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 7:18pm

1. I thought that the assigning of letters to the different options was a nice touch, although I found myself pressing those keys instead of the spacebar. Having those as options for activation in game would be great.
2. The stars moving in the background made me feel like I was flying through a blizzard which felt awesome and gave a real sense of speed.
3. Would've liked to have seen the asteroids spin but a petty thing really.
4. Definitely think the story added to experience - seeing that distance counter slowly drop reminded me of apollo 13 with the astronauts being so far from earth.
5. Have to admit I waited a little while to see if staying in the cutscene would reduce the distance, but unfortunately not! What would've been really cool is you slow down to drifting speed for cutscenes then activate the engines.
6. What would've also been nice is allowing you to offset the speed of the ship (how long it takes between stages) to give you a quicker time between weapons.
7. Do feel it got a bit extreme on the second section with the space pirates - after just making it through the asteroid field made facing the same chaos but with the addition of lasers too much, especially since the previous section had to be replayed.

Overall an enjoyable experience which definitely filled me with a real sense of desperation, especially upon realizing how hopelessly outgunned I was against the space pirates.

Thanks for building and good luck!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:19am

Nice effort for 48 hours. You asked for detailed feedback ala Twitter so here goes:
- You should have a 20 sec timer bar on screen so the player can visually see when they are ready
- I would recommend shorter stages, especially for a jam game where people are playing lots of games. The gameplay is pretty limited here so something like 20 sec stages would be good? I would also put a stage timer on screen (you have the distance thing, but I think seeing a clock count down "20 secs till next sector" is better than a distance thing. You also want to display it in enough detail so it at least changes once a second, maybe with .10 spots. Player feedback again.
- The game told me that shields would last 5 secs, but it didnt seem to. Well, waht I think happened, I guess, is that it lasts 5 secs or until it hits one asteroid. I'd opt for a timer in which it blocks all things?

Keep going, developing and polishing. In general fix things that bother you and get friends and family to play and watch them but don't tell them how to play. Fix what comes up.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:31am

Difficulty was absolutely nails, but was fair with it. I didn't really use neither shield nor weapon. But I'm the kinda guy who finishes a Final Fantasy game with 10 megalixers in the tank because "I might need them later".

Sound was lovely and retro too.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:12am

Nice implementation of the theme ! Cool gameplay, nice job with the dynamic background.

Several says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 3:16am

Hmm. I'm inclined to wonder what made me replay so many times. I think it's because it seemed like the deaths were kinda my fault, so I could just do better next time. Also because hard games with insta-death gives that kick of adrenaline that can turn into a desire for payback. So: 1) Game kicks my ass. Not too hard, but hard enough that I feel compelled to kick back. 2) Kicking back doesn't sound so hard. 3) Kicking is on the menu.

This is my theory.

Otherwise:
- Yes, as everyone says, some sort of visual timer would be nice.
- The hitboxes feel too large.
- I wasn't really sure how much the choice made a difference. The weapon could shoot further, but I didn't see much of a reason to do so, given the reload time; better to fire at the last minute if I'm about to crash. Things aren't a danger anyway unless I can't avoid them. So, both boiled down to pressing the spacebar at the last minute for me. I suppose if I somehow managed to dodge a danger after pressing the button, maybe the shield could help me if something else would collide within the next few seconds, but I only pressed the button when desperate.
- Would've liked more to see, even if that just meant seeing something in the background. It feels kind of barren.
- Levels felt too long. This is probably related to the above point, but the difficulty may also be a factor.

Good job making it challenging!

Masadow says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:01am

Nice game, love the audio and graphic. Everything fit very well together. However, it may be hard, but levels are very looooooong. At least the very first level should be easy so we can quickly learn the whole process of a stage. Here, it's very hard and we don't really know what happen by the end of the stage.

Despite the very hard difficulty, this game is quite addictive and I really loved it, good work !

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Good game! Gameplay is simple but the difficulty is here :)

GFM says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:26am

Nice sfx. The voice was a great addition! :)

The difficulty was nice. But I prefer more fast paced games (like bullet hell shumups...), avoiding only in one direction was kinda boring... If I could maneuver through the waves, now that would be pretty cool! And if the hit box was smaller and everything moved faster.... *¬*
(ok, sorry... that's just my preferences XD)

At first, I tried playing with the weapon but as soon as I died I switched to the shield. It's way more useful. Since both of them just destroy one threat and take the same time to recharge, the gun should only be used one you know a good shoot will clear your path, while a shield can help you like that and protecting you while avoiding stuff.

All in all, a nice little game.

jomomomo says ...
Jan 3, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Nice job! It's pretty hard, but in this case it fits the theme well.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]