December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One World

by supremefist - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are the king of the great kingdom of Monaco! You have ruled it honorably for many years. Unfortunately, the scientist in Monaco has determined that the world will be uninhabitable within one year due to global warming!

This is likely to affect us negatively. You know what they say... You only get one world!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#34Humor3.86
#59Fun3.68
#142Innovation3.52
#147Overall3.53
#159Mood3.36
#381Audio2.75
#446Graphics3.02
#469Theme2.93

Comments

ambi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:44am

You only get one. One what? It wasn't immediately obvious to me. Which is why I can't rate this that high overall. It was a fun game with some humor. A lot of content for 48h.

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

one of the few games i played all the wall through, i think it was the music <3

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:49am

Nice little game. I like that "Debate" style a heck of a lot more than the real thing :P

Gas says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:52am

Cool game! really liked it could done with some loud noise sound effects that sounded like debating also I wish your friendly AI would have been better :/ they always got out first. other wise awesome! looking for rates on my game: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=20784.

evilDan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:01am

Hahaha - excellent debate game!

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:02am

Nice work! Love the graphics and the animations

Conflei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:13am

Very Cool, nice way to see the things, i like throw paper balls haha

KWL_TW says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:02am

Haha, this is fun!

chardish says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:12am

A 2d top-down cover shooter disguised as a debate game disguised as a doomsday simulator? High marks for humor : )

Waynetron says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:26am

Cool concept. I chose to max out team size, played through to the end. The battle mechanics were really simple. Could have taken that much further.

henrykun says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:32pm

I would love to see presidents debating like this hahaha it would be so much fun xD. Great concept, nice graphics as well.

kyyrma says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Pretty impressive game for the 48-hour timeframe, although you could have worked more with the theme. Good promotion of green values as well... ;-)

The music did make me reach for the mute button though!

Katamori says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:39pm

The first thing I thought is the Anthrax song with the same title.

Anyway, I really enjoyed it! The story is kinda great, with some humour-factor - I love that gameplay was way different than I expected: instead of saving the world in an epic way, we are doing paperball-fight behind frontlines!

It's perfect in both the way of implementation and in the aspect of parody-esque critics of politicians and society!

However, at the last levels game freezed much times so I couldn't finish it.

Innovation: 5
Fun: 4
Theme: 5
Graphics: 4
Audio: 5 (great music!)
Humor: 5 (shaded but also strong)
Mood: 5

It deserves a 5 absolutely.

Masadow says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Great game ! It could be the best game out there if it fitted the theme better.

The usage of the word "debate" in this way is very funny ahah !

I really loved to be able to increase my time size !

Marcellus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Very nice game, I really appreciated playing it until the end,good graphics and music, fun, mood, nice entry !

quill18 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:40pm

An excellent submission. Love the humor and the "debate".

IMHO, this could easily be expanded into something that would do VERY on place like Kongregate if you split the world into more chunks and add more upgrade variety (faster fire rate, faster projectiles, multi-projectile, more damage, more effective debate team, etc...)

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Thanks for all your constructive comments, guys! I'll be sure to return the favor and review each and every one of your games!

syl says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:21pm

love it, you must develop it further now :D
classic gameflow, a bit easy, but very nice ambiance, all solid and elements go well together

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

Nice entry, fun to play. It may have been better if the crouch couldn't last more than a few seconds, maybe you tried it and it wasn't...good job though.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:00pm

It's interesting that I have seen three takes on "You only get one earth" and that none of them have been the same at all. I was reminded briefly of Street fighter? Where you pick your opponents from various nations with their stats next to them. Europe is damn strong it turns out. They killed my arse.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Haha just found out this is based on a true story.
The gameplay is very fun after assembling an army!

supremefist says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:14pm

OMG, I can't believe it! I didn't even know about the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation! Haha!

fued says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:51am

not too bad, didnt fit the theme that well, and because i suck at games it was hard haha

YellowLime says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:33pm

Nice music, felt Christmassy to me. Very funny game, played it through ridiculing all continents :p

Volute says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07pm

A game with a message ! I would have called it "We only get one Earth" to make sure people really get the point.

I think that's the best use of the theme there could be, so 5 !

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:05am

NIce game & nice mechanics :P

feizenbara says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:11pm

Very nice, congratz.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:37am

Very fun game, I never had such fun debating ! I love the invite/ridicule mechanic... It mades me end the game twice ! :D
Maybe you should make morale decrease slowly whyle crouching, so this move won't be so powerful. you would try do it very quick and play more dangerously.

Fadobo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:39am

Cool game, really fun. Played it all the way through. Basically exactly how I imagine the real life debates playing out. One little thing you could do is limit the time you can duck, since I thought it was a bit too easy. Reminded me of one of my all-time favorites "Snowcraft"

supremefist says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:41am

@Benjamin and @Fadobo: I agree the ducking is a bit overpowered! Losing morale while doing it is a great idea and makes total sense too! Thanks! :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:25am

Nice game, but I don't understand how fits the theme :/

SiM2SiM says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 11:44am

Absolutely incredible, loved this game.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Incredible game! Enjoyed it very much.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Great concept! The UN should be run this way. :D

psychomonster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Haha that is cool...I'm debating with my wife this way^^

Benjamin says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57pm

I just came back here because I wanted to play your previous entries. I can't find any so I hope we'll see you again in April and August 2014 :D

Mlle Eole says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Happy to see this global message here. :)
And nice idea, ++ for the humor !

GagaPete says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Best snowball fights ever. Very well done. :)

supremefist says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 9:45am

@Benjamin: Yes, this was my first one! I'll definitely be back, though! Thanks for the encouragement :)

lorniebear says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Wonderful idea, really fun. I conquered the world!!!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 8:56am

An innovative way of debating, but a lot of fun.

Dec 24, 2013 @ 11:53pm

Nice game, funny idea ;) The music was great !

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 8:52pm

This was awesome, very well designed! Rated highly. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]