December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Worker

by Myyyvothrr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The King sends you to rebuild the old castle in the valley.
You also need to deliver ressources to help strengthen the kings regime.
Times are hard, so you only get one worker.
Stay in the kings favour or you will get replaced.

Controls:
Left mouse button: Buttons and place buildings
Right mouse button: Move worker to building or ressource

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness93%
#175Overall3.46
#180Theme3.48
#206Fun3.33
#323Graphics3.26
#399Innovation3.04
#408Mood2.90
#462Humor2.31
#568Audio2.37

Comments

Tanner says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Nice graphics. Simple goal. I like it! :)

Sylence says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Really nice game. I liked the nice and simple game mechanics and the graphics are excellent :)

strong99 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:16am

Simple and nice!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Pretty fun, played until the end.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Maybe I'm doing something wrong but I'd have to sit there for several minutes just to get enough resources for the first building?

Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:27am

Simple game, i like the concept its easy to understand and play. Good work

Yaguar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 10:53am

I pleased the hell out of that king!
Loved it.

Cake&Code says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:01am

Hahaha, that's pretty clever. The only other time I've had only one worker would be Terraria/Starbound and there the progression is a lot faster.

Couldn't find any bugs but it was tragic that it felt almost impossible to meet the king's first request, had to make up for it by never missing another one again :)

Very clever take on the theme!

postmodestie says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:47am

Like the Stronghold feel, but unfortunately i always ran out of water, no matter how much wells i built..

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:07pm

Can get a bit repetitive, but a nice mechanic and attractive presentation.

rezil says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:09pm

I liked it, maybe add more resources or make the map bigger because I ran out of stone quite quickly!

Jhelle says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Interesting game. A bit too slow paced for my taste but it was simple to understand :).

Masadow says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very cool concept, great take on the theme. Would be better to have a notification sound where the king has a request so you can idling without loosing :)

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:28pm

I love stuff like this :) Really like the whole feel to it as well, the art style, sound and animations really work well together.

Maybe I need to give it a lot more time, but it feels a bit slow (and the mouse seems laggy to me, but that might be my PC)

MadcoreTom says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:46pm

I just had to play it until completion. I thought I was going to run out of resources, but I made it!

nikev says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:42pm

Fun game and a good idea. It was a little too grindy for my taste though.

Ryusui says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Was in a bit of a resource crunch at the end - managed to get 1000 wood with only one tree left, between fulfilling the king's requests and building other stuff. A bit slow-paced, but overall a nifty idea with solid execution.

scoopsy says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:59pm

A slow, relaxed game. I loved the style of the game, reminded me of classics like Castle and Stronghold.

Alex Rose says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:19am

Was a pretty fun idea, wish there was a way to speed up gameplay though.

I couldn't build the castle though. I eventually got to about 400 stones, counted up the number of stones left and counted up in my head, I don't think it was possible to win anymore at the point I was without running out of resources at so I gave up. :(

It was fun trying to work out how much I needed of what and the best strategy though (just too bad I wasn't too good at it).

I guess the correct strategy is get a well asap, the stonemaker's hut, then woodcutter's hut, over and over until they're level 7 or something and then get a castle?

Static 64 says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 1:38am

It was compelling, but got very stale. Too much clicking and waiting.

Super Hamster says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:04am

Pretty cool game, I just wish there was more to do and something to do once you lost all your wood and stone resources.

PEBKAC says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:56am

Nice one!

euske says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Simple but well made game. Loved that management element.

Dec 23, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice game! :) Got a bit burdensome and slow after a while. You can expand it with other mechanics to make it more fun, like battling forest creatures, growing a farm with sheep (and protect it from wolves) etc.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Fun little game!
I just would have liked to get to play more than one worker once I was done, would have been very rewarding.

voidqk says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:44pm

well done! a game I actually played longer than 2 minutes!

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Very simple and relaxing game. The nice pixel art and occasional goals from the king help set the mood. The one thing that would make this game perfect is some chilled-out 12-minute-long classical guitar music to listen to while your one worker slowly constructs an entire castle.

joppiesaus says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 9:52am

Simple and nice game. Well balanced and fun!

Colapsydo says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 10:28am

The game is maybe a bit slow, but the mechanic of the unique worker is doing great.
I really like the fact resources are limited it add a special dimension to the game, and it tell some message: The king has now a castle but in a land without resources.

Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:15pm

Loving the game! nice concept feels like an RTS very cool! :D Great work n_n

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]