December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Hairy Cave

by Atridas - Jam Entry

Guide "Ramonet" the bald guy through the Hairy Cave to shot the enemies and find a secret...

Controls
a-d -> move
s/space -> jump
left mouse -> shot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#174Graphics(Jam)3.58
#195Humor(Jam)2.65
#302Audio(Jam)2.75
#371Mood(Jam)2.61
#376Theme(Jam)2.44
#387Overall(Jam)2.81
#439Fun(Jam)2.38
#507Innovation(Jam)2.08

Comments

BradleySmith says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:08pm

The hand-drawn feel to this is quite nice. :)

glovecat says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:34am

Extra-Difficult!

Xaychru04 says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:40am

Lovely graphics! But the controls make it hard to control the character and avoid/shoot enemies, I think he should jump higher. The mood was pretty original, I enjoyed this game! :)

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 10:54am

Best ending

bodsey says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:09am

Nice art

fluffypillow says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:13am

Nice graphics! Liked the mood and the ending was great :)

Sanguine says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:47am

The movement felt a bit awkward, mainly due to the relatively slow walking speed and the low jump height. The graphics were really cute :)

SamH says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 11:53am

Very nice graphics. Wish you had time for some more animations. I’m not fond of the physics and overall mechanics, though: low jumps, slow walking speed, moving platforms cause you to fall, only one shooting direction, slightly too close camera angle that hides enemies that can still shoot at you. But I’m pretty sure all of this can be fixed without too much effort.

Macroz says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Controls, physics and speed could use some tuning but well done!

local minimum says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I really enjoyed the caverns hairiness. The game was a bit unnecessarily hard to play due to key-mappings (very unfriendly for left-hand mouse). The platforms did not carry the player for x-axis movement which with the mappings made them almost impossible. The one shot you're dead, I see as part of fulfilling the theme, but I think the game would have been more fun if one got to take some damage... In all a really nice game though.

GarethIW says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 5:11pm

After establishing I could destroy projectiles, I found the only real glitchy aspect to be the collision detection, but given the nature of LD such a thing can be forgiven and it didn't really impede me at all.

Overall it's a nice solid platformer, you managed to get a nice amount of gameplay in for the time given and I was compelled to finish it. I also like how you don't explain the hair, always keep them guessing ;).

ZYXer says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Really cool graphics style, love it! I also like how the camera adapts to the situation. Nicely structured level design, though it could have a bit more variety, like more types of enemies. The controls and mechanics might need a bit more polishing. For example, it would be nice if the character would move with the moving platforms.

nyrrrr says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 2:27am

nice graphics. but the sound was a little quiet

mcapraro says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 5:30am

really cool, unique graphical feel to this, well done on the styling

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]