December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Space to Proceed

by Canyon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are a robot prisoner. You only have only one chance to escape a facility designed to keep you captive, in order to research teleportation.

Controls:

Left/Right: Aim
Up: Launch Teleportation pod.
Up Again: Teleport.
R: Restart Level

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#189Innovation3.42
#290Theme3.25
#453Mood2.83
#524Fun2.83
#603Overall2.88
#673Audio2.05
#809Graphics2.25
#1141Coolness45%

Comments

Lyje says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Excellent concept, and a very well-told story. Overall a good experience but hampered by frustrating reliance on pixel-perfect timing and aiming - would be nice to focus more on the puzzle aspect and the story.

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:50am

The audio sounds were really sharp and grating, but the timed puzzle teleporting mechanics were actually quite fun.

hroon says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 6:04pm

Cool puzzle mechanics! This would make a great mobile game too I think.

SamH says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Nice puzzles, but the aiming and the timing are really too difficult. Not too hard to improve, I suppose?

psc1997 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 7:20am

Nice, little game :)
Aiming is hard, but it's challenging. Good ;)

arcticleaf says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 9:43am

good game :)

plancien says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 10:22am

I agree with @Lyje : frustrating on perfect timing, otherwise good !

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Did I get the same level again and again?

dqmhose says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Aiming i pretty hard to do and it takes so long to move the aiming thingy.. other than that enjoyable fun and a nice concept!

van noctar says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Great gameplay!

folmerkelly says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Dig the concept and the overall mechanic, have to agree on the frustration levels of the pixel perfect timing but to me stuff like that is basically what LD is all about.

OneDee says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Good idea! Giving some room for error in landing would make it a little less frustrating.

eli says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 9:22am

Love the stark atmosphere. Love the simple sounds and how well they go with the graphics.

I couldn't solve the puzzle pictured in the screenshot above, but the story was intriguing, so I cheated!! A little cliched, but well suited for the visuals and audio.

As others have mentioned: a little more polish on the controls would have helped greatly.

Good work!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 27, 2013 @ 5:33pm

Like the scene setting and characterisation very much, this compensated for the lack of graphics nicely. The sounds were appropriate. I would have preferred it if the rotation was faster - perhaps with acceleration so you can still have fine aiming along with faster panning?

Canyon says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 8:29am

Thanks for the awesome feedback everyone. @jimmypaulin, I've now using acceleration to make for finer aiming. Check out the post compo version.

jfroco says ...
Jan 7, 2014 @ 12:32am

Excellent concept and mechanics... you should port it to iOS to have a best seller. Aiming could be easier using a line... Congrats.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]