December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

One Wish

by miwuc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A lot of people are making wishes. But you can only grant one.
Will you make the world a better place?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#95Theme3.67
#106Humor3.39
#112Innovation3.60
#213Mood3.23
#261Overall3.30
#352Fun3.07
#395Graphics3.12
#813Audio1.06

Comments

lesspix says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Great game! It's a nice idea made super cute!

For my own game it took me hours to get the sprite of my single character right. Here there are like 20 characters, and they all look awesome. Impressive!

"I wish I had a whiteboard", me too! :-)

Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Neat concept, solid execution, pretty fun decision making game.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Awesome use of the theme! I did my best to make the world a better place, then went back and gave the material wishes and made things worse, too funny! :D

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Really cute. I especially like the monk.

ratboy2713 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 1:40am

Neat little concept, though without more feedback I don't know if I can really call it a game.

wdebowicz says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:25am

That game put me in good mood.

Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32am

Hahaha, I love how you "Rid the world of all sadness". Fun litte decision game, lots of replayability and cute graphics. Well done. :)

Calciumtrice says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 6:36pm

This was cool. Good use of the theme (we shall be WISH BROS/SIBLINGS) and I enjoyed the different ways the wishes could bump happiness up and down with both straight forward and ironic twist style results.

Nice happy ending of course. Also, any game where you can turn someone into a whale gets my automatic seal of approval.

Snail_Man says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Cute little game. I liked the "ending" ;)

Out of curiosity, how do you get the most possible happiness?

Nelien says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very interesting idea! I like the fact that it makes you think at times. A bit of a depressing "solution", but I guess it's true that there's no way to get rid of all sadness. One suggestion would be to make wishes affect other people in the scene, and potentially affect scenes in the future. But hey, great game given the time!

AlexVsCoding says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Lovely little game - did genuinely like how there was a variety of different wishes from the ridiculous to the meaningful. Was a little difficult to choose between the more personal ones but the game offset the guilt with amusing ones.
With it coming up to Christmas, it's a nice reminder of what really matters and what is just trivial.

Hilarious twist by the way of how to end sadness on the final day!

madflame991 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 8:46pm

It's funny how the worst possible wish turns out to be the one wish which puts an end to all sadness in the world! Good use of the theme. I really enjoyed playing your entry.

Ako says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Nice. I guess less sadness is the goal but riding the world of all sadness...not so much. ;) I love games that other people don't think are really games. They make you think and feel and interact and most times I get way more out of them than any platformer or shooter. Bravo!

JaymeeMak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:18am

Interesting game. I don't often want to go back and play games more than once.

Really neat.

Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Absolutely loved it! Seeing some of the wishes granted is just hilarious, yet it makes us think about how silly the things we care about are when there are people more in need than we are.

joekinley says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:10pm

What a lovely game. Took me a looooong time to get to 115 happiness, and still it just says "There's still more...". Is there a way to get another message?

But I loved it, the graphics were awesome, the message is beautiful, the take on the theme is great. Great job you did there.

Too sad it didn't have any audio or music.

miwuc says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:18pm

@theholychicken Thanks! You're close, the maximum you can get is 130. In that case you get a different message. There's a total of four different message (negative score, normal score, best score, no score).
I wanted to add some audio but I really didn't have time :/

@Snail_Man If you check the source of the page it's pretty obvious which ones have the most points ;)

Donutttt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Cool idea, and I like the graphics. Good effort!

henrykun says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 2:48am

You made me think a lot about the killer and the guy with one leg, that choice was difficult to make. Interesting approach and makes you think a lot, very nice.

Coblynau says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:03am

Great concept, definitely makes you think about what the right and wrong decisions may be. Sound effects would have added to the game. :)

frogcheese says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 6:18pm

A pretty clever use of the theme. I went through it a lot of times to see what the different wishes led to (and the winning move seems so obvious in retrospect...) I think it would have benefitted greatly from some background music.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:10pm

I gave this several playthroughs, but the only way that I erased sadness in the world was ... ***spoilers***

StMatn says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Great game!
I have played it several times and was happt to discover, that there is a "best" ending and a "good" ending, but was not able to tell if there also is a "worst" ending.
I really had fun on this one!

Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:29pm

nice and simple. good job.

aviktorov says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Theme nicely covered, cool ending ;)
I wish it was longer.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:37am

Like Nelien I think that if wish would interract each other it could become a great puzzle. With only one solution for a 100% success. Funny to listen at all those wishes.

Tex Killer says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 10:09pm

Interesting! But I expected all the characters to turn into wizzards until the end after I granted that wish, lol

TeamFlare says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Cool idea. It's fun to play it and to figure out the best combinations.

Bernhard says ...
Jan 2, 2014 @ 5:40am

What? Zombies aren't happpy? :-)
Cute simple game, well done.

BluMist says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 5:14pm

I like how this game forced the fun into my head instead of keeping it all in the machine. Hope that makes some sense to someone. I mean I wish it would make some sense to someone. ;)

EggDestroyer says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:39am

Quite a fun game, I played it like 3 times to see different possible outcomes. I think it could have been fun to include more possibilities, like several ending sentences (apart from the "real ending" one, which is great :p ) depending on your happinness level. And maybe negative happiness, or starting at 50 to end between 0 ans 100, so the player could try to bring the most suffering to the world (mighty fun).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]