December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

SCUMBAG

by Royal Railway - Jam Entry

SCUMBAG is a game that throws you into the first-person view of a character whose actions you'll figure out by playing through this short visual novel a few times.

The depressing game is sort of a mix between visual novel and text adventure, in the way it conveys the story in a world of anonymous-looking, agender-looking people whose feelings are conveyed not only by postures, but also by colours.

You get only one chance to redeem your actions and make peace with those you've hurt. Who knows if that one chance is worth anything, though?

Just point and click. No instructions necessary. I usually work in C++, but I wanted to try Unity this time. This is what I ended up with. I've never made a visual novel before either.

Made by me posting this, Ava Skoog of the Swedish game development studio Royal Railway, and my friend Mehdi Forozandeh. The music was, incredibly, generated by Wolfram Alpha, and then I just messed with it a little in Garage Band. It gave a perfect, gloomy mood!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#138Mood(Jam)3.31
#253Audio(Jam)2.94
#299Innovation(Jam)2.76
#305Theme(Jam)2.65
#328Graphics(Jam)3.00
#332Overall(Jam)2.94
#439Fun(Jam)2.38
#1479Coolness28%

Comments

netguy204 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:16am

Appropriately dark. Well done.

The music was neat from a technical perspective but got irritating in time. My ear is always searching for a pattern so its absence is disturbing... though I guess that fits the theme of the game.

Had 4 bad endings and 1 extra bad ending. Guess I'm a scumbag!

daviwil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:46am

Wow, the music is trippy, can't believe that was generated. Gives the game a really cool tone and feel. Nice concept and execution as well, very deep!

zkenshin says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:45am

Great game, good job.

Several says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:02am

Interesting.

It's enjoyable to piece things together, but no so much to repeat the same scenes after you've exhausted their options or just want to explore a later thread. Being able to click to speed up the text would help. Being able to jump to a scene you reached earlier would also make a big difference. As it is, I got tired of the repetition (of the earlier scenes, of the music, of the word 'scumbag', of the seemingly meaningless dead ends, and of the unrelenting mood), and stopped after buying the train ticket.

kalth.streil says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:42pm

Now that was a depressing experience :_(

I tried too hard to find the good ending, but in the end I never got it. I just got to the train, but then bought a ticket (was I not to? why did they place me at the station then? XD) and died again. I like the question-over-text thing, too bad I missclicked on next so many times :(

I'll give you five for mood, as in it makes you feel sad XD

Korwegian says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:55pm

I uh... I'm gonna go cry nao...

Ariake81 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:59pm

good idea, and very polished

bsowers says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I kept getting crushed under a bridge. Over and over. So that was kinda sad...

sahoskins1 says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 11:11am

Very moody and gloomy. A dark but well made game.

edibletoaster says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 2:37am

Love the mood this game had. Music fit the game I feel.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 5:34pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

Cake&Code says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Really dark game. I was a bit down after I played it, but I think that's a testament to the mood and emotions you got out of the player with your game. I sort of agree with others that the audio was a bit grating.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]