December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Cocaine

by stigmawall - Jam Entry

I made my first text-based game with Twine, which focus on trust. You have one person you can trust in a group of assassins. Your greed is high in this quest, but the others are so crazy for money and power than you.



**NOTE FROM A WORKAHOLIC MAN**
Actually it's was gonna be a adventure game, with the programming guy giving up of this Ludum Dare, I decide to make a text-based game.


**NOTE FROM A NON-ENGLISH SPEAKER**
[Update] My friend @Tomodachi and my girlfriend Dani maded the revision. The last game files has been updated. :)


-----------------------------
Fire Hurricane 2013

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#388Humor(Jam)1.90
#394Mood(Jam)2.55
#448Audio(Jam)1.80
#452Theme(Jam)2.21
#464Innovation(Jam)2.27
#502Graphics(Jam)2.11
#506Overall(Jam)2.33
#529Fun(Jam)1.77

Comments

FrederickK says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 12:15am

Hum, I'm not much a very expert at writing or with novels, so I may be mistaken with somethings.
So, maybe it is my taste, but I don't like when I'm reading and there is too much things going on at same time, especially without a visual or auditive feedback, makes it hard to follow.
I really like the presentation of your game, the colors choosen are good and the begining sets the tone.
There isn't many text game/visual novels at ludum dare, I hope to see more! :)

LexGarza says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:11am

The intention to be the game interactive is good, just need more animation.

javifugitivo says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 2:50am

I need graphics!

skysthelimit says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:42am

Somewhere along the lines, the game part of the game just.... didn't happen. Nice idea though, a bit more interactivity is much needed though. It was written very well.

Switchbreak says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 4:57am

Ahhh, I got shot. I think the story needs a lot of work, beyond the grammatical and spelling errors it describes too much action without any buy-in or characterization of the people in it.

HellBlazer says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:24am

I have nothing against choose-your-own-adventure type gameplay, though it's usually a good idea to avoid life-or-death choices when you have no possibility to find out which would be the right choice. :) It just becomes trial and error otherwise, and it's a bit frustrating. It was a nice attempt though, I like the only-one-person-you-can-trust concept.

Bruno Massa says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 6:48am

difficult entry. loads of text and hard core theme.

but thumbs up for the courage of doing this!

Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:59pm

very cool and innovative use of twine, though i find the story a little confusing with all the characters and stuff that's happening.

really like the way you use that map, haven't seen that before.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 7:54pm

@kristoffer zetterberg Yes!!! Someone like the map idea!

@HellBlazer it's not implemented but i think in put audio to indicate life/death choices.

@FrederickK I write too much, but the initial idea was a Zelda-like game, the use of Twine was a plan B.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 12:02am

You've added quite a lot of nice bells and whistles to Twine here (I like how the image moved depending on which room you went to), and the intro sequence is cool. While the storyline has been done before, it is quite dramatic. I do like that the game gives you a concrete goal early on, before you get too bogged down in the various characters' in-fighting. The amount of writing seems to be pretty much right.

However, there was nothing to really pull me in. The story introduced me to a large number of characters, but there was nothing to make me care much about them. Having a bit of description rather than just dialogue would probably help a lot.

Also, while I haven't beaten it yet, there isn't a whole lot of gameplay here. It's pretty much "explore the house and try not to get killed".

The dialogue is pretty cheesy, with a lot of multiple exclamation marks. I have to admit, however, I got a laugh out of: "He's a gangster! The most powerful man in the city! He must have more than just some hookers and coke!"

In short, nice mix of Twine with visuals, and the concept isn't bad, but suffers from cheesy writing and no real ability to do much. I might come back and try to beat it later.

List of typoes and grammar mistakes:

"powerfull" should be "powerful"

"she has famouos to be addicted to drugs" should be "she is famous for being addicted to drugs".

"Enter in the basement" doesn't need "in"

"this jews is all this motherfucker have here" doesn't really make sense (and it should be "has", not "have").

"ganster" should be "gangster"

"this morons" should be "these morons"

"John try" should be "tries"

"Not as much I can find here" sounds like it should be "Not as much as I can find here"

"Russell shoot in Rodney" should be "Russell shoots Rodney"

"bodyguards deads" should be "dead bodyguards"

"se" should be "see"

"aorund" should be "around"

"Scott" isn't capitalised at one point (in the "go to the hall" scene).

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:27pm

Impressive work with Twine, and also I like the dialogue!

laaph says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 1:16am

Very impressive. I can't decide if I love this game or hate this game, which must be a good thing, I guess.

I played the submitted version, and then I played the post-compo version. The addition of the animations and fixed up text make all the difference in the world with regards to playability.

stigmawall says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 3:58pm

@Christina Nordlander i put you in the credits because your feedback was awesome. Thank you very much.

L says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 7:51am

I have a question regarding the code of your game. Specifically, this one line of Javascript:

TAudio.playRandom(params[0],params[1],params[2],params[3],params[4],params[5],params[6],params[7],params[8],params[9],params[10],params[11],params[12],params[13],params[14],params[15],params[16],params[17],params[18],params[19],params[20],params[21],params[22],params[23],params[24],params[25],params[26],params[27],params[28],params[29],params[30],params[31],params[32],params[33],params[34],params[35],params[36],params[37],params[38],params[39],params[40],params[41],params[42],params[43],params[44],params[45],params[46],params[47],params[48],params[49],params[50],params[51],params[52]);

Any reason you used this instead of the much simpler

TAudio.playRandom.apply(params)

?

Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Innovative ! Interesting entry, good work !

psc1997 says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Hard story... But... You made this all in 48 hours! Thumbs up! ;-)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Narrative was interesting and I liked your interpretation of the theme.

OnlySlightly says ...
Dec 28, 2013 @ 12:35am

Gritty theme. Nice job!

Jan 1, 2014 @ 1:02am

found it a little confusing, but your postmortem cleared up some of that. good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]