December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Single Block

by Static_boy123 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Find your way through the puzzle of The Single Block. You have to solve multiple puzzles by placing a single block, and making your way to the mysterious yellow portal. As you find your way through different puzzles, just remember, every puzzle can be solved...and in multiple ways!

=====Controls=====
W, Space, Up Arrow - jump
S, Down Arrow - if stuck to ceiling, hold until you fall(should be fixed)
A, Left Arrow - move left
D, Right Arrow - move right
R - Restart Level
Enter - Place Block


This Game was made in 48 hours by Peter Gottesman for the Ludum Dare Compo

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#248Theme3.33
#931Innovation2.07
#965Graphics1.73
#989Overall2.00
#996Fun1.60
#1456Coolness30%

Comments

dcolgan says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Very interesting mechanic and good use of the theme. A little glitchy but nice work for 48 hours!

zzzev says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:08am

Cool mechanic, hampered a little bit by the physics. Fun stuff though and could easily add a lot more levels!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:31am

Almost unplayably glitchy; I would figure out how to solve the level, then find myself unable to beat them because I would get stuck in ceilings or just have trouble moving my character, who would randomly reach extreme speeds.

That said, the puzzles were pretty good. This game can be saved!

HeroesGrave says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:37am

A bit too glitchy to be that playable, but the puzzles were quite well designed.

Seigeengine says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:41am

The mechanic was decent enough to be a good premise for a simple puzzle game.

However, the game has many problems that prevent it from being enjoyable.

The character jumps way too fast, it can take multiple tries to place the block where you want it because of how fast the character moves, and the poor choice of placing mechanic, and the character interacts weirdly with the environment.

Additionally, some of the puzzles rely less on good design, and more on exploiting the way the game works. For example, level 2. As far as I can tell, you need the block later, but at first it seems you need it at the start. You really don't, as long as you move over while you're falling, but that just feels kind of cheap.

The game has problems, but it also has positives. The concept is solid, the art is fairly pleasing, and playable game out in such short time itself is impressive.

With the wonky movement hammered out, a different way of placing the blocks, and some improvements on the level design, and this could be a reasonably satisfying game.

Also nice to see you used Java!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:50am

Character jumps far too quickly, it seems more like a teleport to get over the fact that there isn't any real gravity and you're just moving at a constant speed downward until you hit another block. The second level is far harder than any of the other levels, and actually utilizes the glitchiness of the game to get through it, rather than mechanics that make sense.

I'm assuming this was something like a first game though, so I encourage you to keep experimenting and get better. At least you got collisions to not bug out too too terribly, that's always one of the hardest parts in a platform game.

Static_boy123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Thank you all for giving feedback! I would like to just address the things that you told me.
First of all: Level 2...Horribly designed level, and I know it I would have made a new level, but I just didn't have time in the end.

Second: Collision...This is one of the reasons I didn't have enough time to fix other bugs, redesign levels, and add in actual gravity. I at one point totally rewrote it, realized it didn't work, so I rewrote it again, and realized it was what I previously had. After that I realized a tiny bug, and fixed it. The fixed collision still didn't fix the being in blocks though.

Additionally: Block Placing...I am going to be fixing this very very soon. Will be much better.

Finally: Jumping...Horrendous. I was going to implement gravity so I put in placeholder jumping, of course, I ended up not ever implementing it. I will be fixing this soon also.


Thank you all for giving me your opinion, and good luck with your games!

Custard Games says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:43am

It's awesome you got a game made. The movement and jumping feels awful, but the levels are cool, and it was great use of the theme.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:57am

Interesting concept! The platforming feels a bit off though.
Would be awesome if the mechanics were refined and the level design expanded upon.

tobbez says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 1:29am

Lots of glitches with collision and jumping. Jumping seemed way to fast to be able to put blocks in useful places. Seems like the only way to beat most of the levels is to rely on jumpglitches.

Harsay says ...
Jan 5, 2014 @ 10:20pm

Good use of theme. But JESUS that collisions...

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]