December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lock Block Tower

by eternalmajin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

First entry! Title screen refused to work with me.

---CONTROLS---
Move with arrows
Space to use the key (it will unlock all locks around the player)
R to reset the level

YOU ONLY GET THE ONE KEY! But those keyholes look pretty easy to move...


---HOW KEYS WORK---
Since I failed to include a tutorial level, I'll put it here. Imagine the level is a grid system. The key will open any locks around the player, roughly in a square.

ie:
H H H
H P H
H _ H

P is the player. Using the key, it should open all the keyHoles. Since objects aren't stuck to a grid, you have a bit of wiggle room on setting it up differently from this. But if you aim for the above setup, that should work for you.


---Programs Used---
Game was created in GameMaker Studio. Sounds are made in Bfxr, which is absolutely awesome. Sprites were created in Pickle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#469Theme2.93
#575Humor2.06
#757Audio1.45
#798Mood2.30
#799Innovation2.41
#913Overall2.43
#920Fun2.10
#947Graphics1.87

Comments

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:36am

The title screen refused to play nice in the waning moments unfortunately. Click the Play button or hit space/enter to start the game. Thanks for any time you put into trying my game!

WojWorks says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Interesting concept. Needs polish. Would be more fun to play if locked to a grid.

notajetski says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:24pm

nice little take on sokoban! however, i kept getting stuck on the walls.

desmarkie says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:33pm

Nice puzzle.

eternalmajin says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Thanks for the comments. I do plan on polishing it more and making more interesting levels, so I'll definitely take the grid locking into consideration.
Sorry about the getting stuck on walls issues. It came up after switching the player graphic and I'm still trying to find out exactly why.

rvaquero82 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Interesting!! :)

mckoss says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:08pm

Sorry, I don't understand the game play.

ob6160 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:45pm

The puzzle idea was pretty neat but I felt that a tutorial would be nice :)

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:46pm

This is a weird/interesting idea. I don't think movement needs to lock to the grid though. I think its fine.

Dec 17, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Yeah, the controls and physics make the game a little hard to play, but its a pretty good concept that could be improved with some polish and extra work.

burlapjack says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Aha! A three-sided key! I see what you did there :)

lapayo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

I found a bug. If you stand really close to a wall, you can no longer walk e.g. up or down if the wall is on the left. Otherwise, nice first!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:28am

Pretty nice, It got a little difficult and I couldn't get past the last level but I thought the concept was pretty interesting. Nice work!

dsoft20 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 5:15pm

Nice concept :D

van noctar says ...
Dec 21, 2013 @ 12:21pm

The third level is difficult but make me fell MarioSokoban :D I like it! Good job :)

murilo says ...
Dec 23, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Nice puzzler. With the right collision detection and polish this can turn into a decent game!

anvoz says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Nice puzzle game. I really love the idea about using one key to open all movable keyholes.

The movement seems buggy and it's quite hard to control. Maybe you should let everything moves from tile to tile instead of using pixels.

Dec 30, 2013 @ 12:46am

I enjoyed the puzzle idea

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]