December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Holiday Chopper Frenzy

by mcgraw - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Controls: Arrow keys / Keep the chopper moving! Spacebar to release the object.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#309Graphics3.29
#324Fun3.13
#356Humor2.58
#414Mood2.89
#438Audio2.64
#465Overall3.04
#517Innovation2.89
#766Theme2.40

Comments

Samsturai22 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:50am

Brilliant idea, Had fun playing it!

zconnelly13 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:57am

Fun game. I enjoyed the background and artwork.

Deity says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:04am

Nice work! The chains hanging from the heli and the physics were done well.

zzzev says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:40am

Really nice use of physics with the chain/grabber thing, feels very fluid and fun to fly around with. I wish there was a little bit more to do with it, but I'm having a lot of fun just flying around. I spent wayyyy too much time trying to grab a turkey!

y2bd says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:42am

Really enjoyed the art! The game was difficult at first, but I think I got the hang of it.

ENDESGA says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:43am

Hahahaha, very cool :)

madlee says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:20am

Well done. It was a little weird how trees don't conserve their momentum when released (i.e. they always drop straight down) though it did make it easier to actually collect the trees

Bloated Hippo says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:33am

I liked the physics! Nice!

Loren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:46am

fun! The game played well and controls felt solid

Kep says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Fun little game.

I was expecting the trees to keep their velocity when released so I could toss them from a distance. That would be cool. I also want auto release if the tree hits the collector.

Well done.

Udell Games says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:54pm

Lovely aesthetic. Would have liked the trees to use the momentum of the swing instead of falling straight down. Music is fine, but would have liked some SFX.

Tsumei says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Audio is a little too repetitive, it sets the mood properly, but it gets too repetitious. I like the animation on the chain, but feel like the chain invites an expectation in the player; I thought the trees would fling as it does, and once you realise it doesn't I think the game becomes much easier.
Fun little functional game though.

anvoz says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Really fun to play. I got 881!

SilentBunny says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Wish I could grab those turkeys!

ossah says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 6:54pm

Love the heli/tree theme! Am sure Reddit would approve! Tree karma!
Fun game and nice theme tune too.

Atmospherium says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Nice, quick game. Just enough elements in this to keep it interesting while still feeling very simple and straightforward (which is a tough balance to find). Graphics and sound were good, controls did exactly what I wanted them to do, and the end screen was nice and motivational.

Miltage says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Not an expert by any means, but I'm fairly sure helicopter vs. christmas bird would result in blood and feathers. I loved the swinging hook, but got so upset when it went through the ground that I had to take a walk outside to calm down.

Haha, cool game. Could benefit from improved physics (trees flying from hook, hook having a physical impact on the helicopter, angle helicopter in direction to fly, etc.)

LatFoued says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very simple and neat, and so fun to play. Good job

zebi24 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Awesome art! Also great job for that rope, works great!

Crigs says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:03am

Awesome use of joints!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:20pm

Nice job! The core mechanic is very solid, making the game accessible to everyone and providing a lot of fun.

IHateATMFees says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Cool game. I eventually just started seeing how crazy I could get the rope to swing!

Colapsydo says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:50pm

Nice work on constrains for the hook chain.
Since trees grow back we don't have to go very far, but I can't figure if it's a good or a bad thing for the gameplay.
Oh and those birds are freakishly strong!

mcgraw says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:54pm

LOL! I'm loving the feedback everybody. Great thoughts. Thanks so much. <3 :)

Nick Weihs says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12am

Man, the music in this game is intense! The art style kind of reminds me of toys that you'd play with when you're a kid. Trying to manage the chain was pretty hilarious. Good job!

Jellycakes says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 12:12am

Pretty cool, liked the idea. The chain swinging physics were a bit ridiculous but thats fine. Liked the art style too! Nice one!

errorage says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 10:25pm

I got double trees, woo!

Fun game. When one of the birds started pushing me I basically said aloud: HEEEEYYYY! :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]