December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Catchphrase Cowboy

by benedict - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A cowboy, a Phrase, and the power it holds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#26Theme4.00
#258Mood3.14
#312Innovation3.18
#354Overall3.18
#423Humor2.40
#706Fun2.55
#1604Coolness20%

Comments

Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:28am

Really interesting take on the concept. And I love a Twine game!

funselektor says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:39am

I haven't played one of these for a long time, it was refreshing and a little voyeuristic- in a good way. The "You Only Get One" phrase sounds like it's straight out of a movie, I'd love to see a scene like that.

BlackPoison says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:36am

I love it! I love the way you use the theme in the coices, i'm looking forward to use twine in the future and you's will be a very good reference! Good job!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 4:07am

Nice game, at least it managed to make me finished it :)

SonnyBone says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:19am

Genius use of the theme. Lots of great writing in here, too. I was captivated.

DeathBySnail says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice story.

Strangelander says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Interesting concept, not taken far enough. Your choices don't affect anything important.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Clever use of the phrase. Good work. Think I will play it again later... takeing more time to really read attentive :)

jdpalmer says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 9:10pm

That's the first Twine game I have see on Ludum Dare. :-)

Will Edwards says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I'm going to rate this 5/5 on graphics because *this* is how a story should be presented :)

Captivating. At first I was underwelmed, but it quickly snuck up on me and grabbed me like a good spagetti western.

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Interesting take on the theme. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]