December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Singularity

by Cake_Catastrophe - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prime City, 3081AD

A mysterious attack on the the 5 major cores of the city introduces a new virus - turning innocent citizens into malicious software known as Hellions!

As the AI in charge of security, your duty is to send your avatars into the infected areas to fight back the Hellions. Each avatar is equipped with a powerful weapon that can neutralize the cores, the only problem is, it destroys the avatar in the proccess! Can you hold out long enough to use them effectively?


Instructions:
Left/Right arrows to move
'z' to shoot
'space' to neutralize

Enemies enter the area from all sides to attack you, shoot them down to earn points. As you fight your SYNC meter will increase.

When the Neutralize action is used, all enemies on screen are destroyed and you receive a bonus mutliplier based on your SYNC meter. If you get destroyed before you can Neutralize, you get no bonus.

Try and score at least 10,000 points on each level!


Made in Unity.

Sounds effects created in SXFR.

Music from the freesound project:
http://www.freesound.org/people/Flick3r/sounds/48488/
http://www.freesound.org/people/zagi2/sounds/193043/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#381Audio2.75
#817Graphics2.22
#819Fun2.37
#908Overall2.44
#947Theme1.89
#971Innovation1.89
#1329Coolness37%

Comments

Piat says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:43pm

A solid foundation for a shmup, game play got a little tedious with such long levels with minimal enemy variance and visual changes but good start.

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:44pm

The idea was really cool! Good game!

pjchardt says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Interesting premise. The controls felt pretty good, although from what I understand a good amount of bullet hell shooter fans dislike momentum. (I could be wrong, just what I have heard) I did find it frustrating that there was an invisible wall on the left and right that did not correspond to any on screen visual. Either way, nice work!

Dec 17, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Thanks for playing, guys!

Piat: Ah, the levels are actually infinite, you only need to reach a score of 10,000 to progress. Once you reach 100% on your sync gauge, you're basically into diminishing returns on score anyway.

I think the biggest weakness is the fact that the main mechanic (voluntarily ditching out of the level for the score multiplier) isn't made clear enough - and it's not easy to tell if you've reached 10,000 when keeping the multiplier in mind...

pjchardt: It's not a purist bullet hell shooter anyway, the ship's hitbox is far too big!

As for the invisible wall, that's a bug. Look fine in the unity editor, but as soon as I deployed a build the view port got stretched (this is also why the 100% bar only reaches about 70% of the way across the screen).

Not sure why that is, I've found unity's behavior to be pretty strange when it comes to resolution settings (The game is meant to be 640x640... but it's huge!)

Anshul Goyal says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:43am

nice fun game!
Few things, the game is lacking some visual feedback, for eg: enemy response when get hit; the level is so long with almost no variety. Too much grinding.

PaperBlurt says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 9:08am

Not enough shmups in the compo!
Glad to see one..

Nice retro feel..

lorniebear says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 5:23pm

It is really good, especially at the start. After a while it gets too hard, but good overall.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 1:04am

It works well as a shmup. But I'm not sure about the core mechanic, it isn't greatly intuitive without more score feedback.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:26am

not bad...

angelk says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 5:02am

I always love playing a shmup. If I could change one thing, I think I would make the hitboxes smaller. I think usually if anything, they should be smaller than the graphic, not larger.

TyrusPeace says ...
Dec 22, 2013 @ 7:15pm

Good considering the time restrictions, but the enemy variation and lack of feedback on how damaged your enemies are and how many points you'll get for using your one bomb hurt the risk/reward that'd make the mechanics truly addictive.

Good idea, though!

jimmypaulin says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:33pm

This has potential, nice colourful sprites, cool music, thoughtful enemy attack patterns too. I feel you wanted to reach to make a complete game with many levels and waves .. for me fewer levels and more polish would have been more fun - some particles on death etc would have added a lot to this, as well as some scrolling background effect (or perhaps we are defending an area?)

Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Not sure I got the core mechanic -_-
So you play as long as you want and then use bomb, the longer you played the more score you got?

van noctar says ...
Dec 24, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Amazing!! Good job :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]