December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

You Only Get One Shot

by oldmanbiles - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I thought I'd have a quick bash at this. Only got a tiny amount of time in between my regular work shifts this weekend so I came up with a simple idea. For better or worse, here it is! There are 13 different little endings that you can get and a main ending once you've seen them all!

You have one shot left, how do you use it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#10Theme4.21
#31Mood3.88
#59Humor3.67
#77Overall3.71
#79Audio3.52
#109Fun3.53
#135Innovation3.53
#142Graphics3.76

Comments

brmassa says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:37am

Jezz! Sick as it can get! But I loved it. Super tension moment. I did the all 10 endings.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:38am

Dark and gritty, with a pinch of humor! Loved the screen shake!

somepx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 10:23am

Dark dark and creepy humor! Really enjoyed this. Best ending... is the worst ending after all! ;)

Capitals says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:30pm

I loved it, I couldn't find the last ending :(;

nkling says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Wow, very dark and humorous. A lot of lines had me cracking up. Nice work, very dramatic and tense.

cappelnord says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:34pm

I enjoyed this very much! Good writing. The end is a little bit depressing but, well that's life :)

raisedmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:35pm

This was awesome. Loved it and played till I got all endings.

sjames_93 says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:36pm

Loved it!

Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I would feel bad giving a game perfect fives. But this is not a game. its an experience. Overall 5 (if everything else is 5 that means overall is 5) Innovation 5 (You took a simple idea and polished it to a shine) Fun 5(It was fun discovering each new ending) Theme 5(you only get one bullet is alright but you made it a 5) Graphics 5(simple) Audio 5 (ticking and door banging made it a tense and intense experience) Humor (Humor is always the voting section that I find hard I usually vote for this in the thoughtfulness of the game instead of humor. This wasn't exactly humorous but very thoughtful)Mood 5 ( all of the above). Wooh I just had to justify my 5,5,5,5,5,5,5,5 score.

Binary Gambit says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:37pm

sooo dark.. the humor. Nice entry

Aske says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Perfect balance. I managed to shoot all the things, but it weren't too easy. The moral is very deep and good I think. Keep it up :)

HuntTheWumpus says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:54pm

Got all 13 endings. Very dark game. But I really loved the texts in this game. (Those Flies!) And. What I'm happy with a broken toe.. In contrast to.. Well. The 'other' destiny I have.

chamberlainpi says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Got all of the endings! Yaye!
Neat little game, loved the shake effect while the guy was knocking. It really gives that sense of urgency if you were in that person's shoes.
It's pretty sad that although I killed the gunman, my son turned out to be a worst one *sigh*

MrTedders says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 6:16am

Holy crap that was intense! Very well done!

shatley123 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:18am

great :)

Hypnohustla says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 2:02pm

That was depressing. Didn't expect having to kill a child. :D Nice narrative and it kept me interested to get all the endings. Nice job :)

squibbons says ...
Dec 25, 2013 @ 2:31am

Super dark, but loved it, got all 13 endings.

xrm0 says ...
Dec 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

nice

eskivor says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 4:01pm

I love that dark humor !

BradleySmith says ...
Jan 4, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really neat little game and an interesting take on the theme, nice work for 48 hours. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]