December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

Springer - You can only jump

by edibletoaster - Jam Entry

You're a person in a spring and you're trying to get around. You can only move by jumping. The one movement mechanic.

Arrow keys to move.

Best in Chrome/Firefox/Safari

By Arthur Ward Jr (@EdibleToaster) and Dennis Liaw (@TheLiaw)

Desktop versions are currently being built and uploaded, but you probably should just play the web one

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#92Fun(Jam)3.40
#155Overall(Jam)3.35
#192Mood(Jam)3.12
#234Innovation(Jam)2.95
#254Graphics(Jam)3.25
#270Theme(Jam)2.75
#315Audio(Jam)2.70
#1399Coolness33%

Comments

Dec 17, 2013 @ 3:21am

I liked the idea of the game, and I was impressed with the physics-blocks thht get pushed by a rocket... Then I got stuck in a couple with no way to restart the level. :\

Mr.Cassels says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 7:05am

cool game! slideing off the edges got old fast, but I love the music, looks, and chalnge!

Verdict: great game, not overdone, and well polished. more levels would be nice, but you got quite a few in for the time you had.

psychomonster says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Very challenging game. cool minimalistiv artworks. Cool level design. Nice one ^^

Dir3kt says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice game with solid physic! Liked the background design and the funny avatar. Theme is weak.

Kayelgee says ...
Dec 19, 2013 @ 3:08am

The last level was very challenging but overall it's a good game.
I played it in Opera and it seems to work without problems.
The only thing that bugged me was that the hitbox of the springer is a little too wide.

Dec 20, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Very simple yet, fun to play! Sounds made the difference!

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 26, 2013 @ 3:31am

Pretty fun. Collision with corners is a bit off, but it isn't a problem.

kcpunk666 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 3:17am

controls were a bit "sticky". Besides that pretty fun.

rosa89n20 says ...
Dec 31, 2013 @ 5:13am

Wooow... this game is harder than I think

Jiggawatt says ...
Jan 1, 2014 @ 2:33am

Haha, what the heck was the deal with those rockets? They seemed to have no relevance to anything. First a typical platformer where you just jump a lot, and suddenly rockets knocking over boxes for no reason.

KWL_TW says ...
Jan 6, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Awesome!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]