December 13th-16th 2013 :: Theme: You Only Get One

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend ]

Back to Browse Entries

OneThrust

by Graham Weldon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

OneThrust is a space based navigation / gravity simulation, in which you are granted one chance, one thrust capability to escape the planet.

You have to plan your trip, and use the gravitational pull of moons and planets to exit to the safe zone.

Can you make it?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#37Theme3.91
#108Innovation3.61
#459Fun2.91
#473Mood2.80
#491Overall3.00
#523Graphics2.88
#585Humor2.05

Comments

Dec 15, 2013 @ 11:51am

It could have used a bit more polishing, specifically with the GUI, but it's simple and fun. I like it (:

jedt1201 says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I like this game. It's like Kerbal space but more relaxing kind. You get only one thrust means careful planning and fun at the same time. I wish I get rewards for getting further and further as I play.

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 15, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@jedt1201 You're right on, some sort of score would be brilliant. I actually have 5 levels, but only 1 published, as it takes a while to ensure that levels are actually "beatable". If I publish more levels, some sort of score would be ideal.

I was thinking it would be cool to track multiple metrics:

- Fastest time completed
- Longest flight time
- Top Speed
- ... anything else.

Sestren says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice entry, although a bit easy to win. I'd love to see a post-compo version if you decide to add more levels or challenges.

kunzbe says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 5:53am

The raw-pixelish style of the planets reminds me of yoshis island. Cool orbital physics

Graham Weldon says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Thanks for the great comment! :)

Msquirrel says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Nice, Simple but effective :D

ChrisMingay says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

I think this could be expanded quite nicely into a larger game. I did feel I was just waiting around for a while though each time I played. If it had some sort of fast forward system, that's be great :)

Arowx says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Great little game. You could add maybe more levels with more obstacles and build on it.

Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Definately want to see a post-compo version, a very nice innovative game :)

ian_snyder says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Really fun, Graham! I love the simplicity, and it's definitely doable, just needs some patience. I understand about not releasing too many levels in case they aren't beatable for the jam. You should definitely expand this and put it on some game portals :)

Jeasonfire says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:54pm

That was fun, I won after a few tries :)

plancien says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

Funny idea. I agree with others comments : some metrics and scoring would add the need to replay again and again to do better.

You could do an easy level too.

chicknstu says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:55pm

I was about to write this one off after crashing for the millionth time. then it suddenly 'Clicked' and now I want more!

Good work! :)

nicotuason says ...
Dec 16, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Charming artwork! Would be improved if the minimap were a bit larger so you could plan better, but still a fun game.

phi6 says ...
Dec 17, 2013 @ 12:25pm

Interesting idea, but found the minimap too small to see what was going on! Definitely potential for a great game here though!

Lyje says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Hard, but love the idea.

tobbez says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50pm

A bit short, it seems extreamly difficult to predict the path the rocket will take and it seems much easier to escape with luck.

mortl8324 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Awesome game. Took a few goes to understand, but pretty fun to watch.

van noctar says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Good game, gravity is correctly exploited! :)

ittlebit says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Great start, and fun little concept, Seems like there could be lots of potential.

Move127 says ...
Dec 18, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Tons of fun. It would be nice if it kept track of how far from Earth you get, like a high score feature or something.

olafsworld98 says ...
Dec 20, 2013 @ 4:21am

funny game, i almost made it and then this hue planet just went strait over the screen. i had fun. not at first.

BluShine says ...
Dec 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

Awesome idea. The concept is actually quite similar to AlanZucconi's entry, 0rbitalis http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-28/?action=preview&uid=21108 but the execution is very different, and that's cool to see. No music and the graphics aren't exactly polished (but they're effective enough). I wish there was a time slow/speed-up function to make it easier to line-up planets, but otherwise it was quite fun and interesting.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]